Transcontinental

Transcontinental Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Casual-General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSFebruary 27, 2016
The employee's are great. You can carry on with them. But be careful, some will also stab you in the back and talk you down behind your back. Management is lousy, just out for the bucks. No job security, if they want you gone your gone. years of working there don't matter.
Pros
good employees
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Casual-General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSJanuary 17, 2016
you can joke and carry on with co workers. but some they will also stab you in the back. there is no job security. you get to work different departments, so you get experience in a number of things.
Pros
can carry on and joke with co workers
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being shift work, harder on family life and marriages. Unless you get promoted salary is in lower end for factory work. Entry level is physical.
Finishing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ONOctober 5, 2014
Hard place to get promoted unless you are friends with Managers or related to them. 12 hrs. shift work, rotating every week. Can be hostile if you get hurt, as this company tend to be not co-operative with work related injuries or reporting them to WSIB, especially the invisible injuries like back or shoulder rotator cuff type injuries, where you need images to prove them. Raises are smaller in the entry level jobs too. Non-union place so seniority doesn't matter, so long term employees easily get bumped by junior employee's as well.
Pros
lots of over-time if you like working
Cons
long hours, and worse if you get hurt, as managers tend to treat their employee's as clock numbers, nothing more, here.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not work at any Transcontinental location
Art Director (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMarch 25, 2016
Although I was employed by Transcontinental for over 16 years, I was located at their customers (M&M Meat Shops) National head office in their in-house marketing department .
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed my years at transcontinetal
Labourer (Former Employee) –  markham , ontAugust 7, 2015
I worked for T.C Transcontinental for 10 years. They where a good company to work for. They where very friendly people. The head of my department and supervisor where great. If I ever had a problem it was handled efficiently and very professionally. They are very safe conscious. The other employees and temps where a pleasure to work with. I have since retired but have kept in contact with many of my friends there.
Pros
the company would provide a company bbq each year. which was always fun to attend
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Borden, PEJuly 21, 2015
do different types of jobs on different days co workers are awesome hard work but you enjoy the work nothing bad to really say good management and easy to work for
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice employees
Accounts Payable Representative (Former Employee) –  Montreal, QuebecApril 27, 2015
Overall good company, however, not much possibility of advancement. Staff is very friendly, always willing to help out.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst employer I have ever had
Inside Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Amherst NSOctober 30, 2012
I worked as Inside Sales in the Amherst location -- and there were many problems which management recognized and said they would address, such as the Inside Sales role not being equal among other offices. This job required minimum 2-3 people and they weren't concerned about the customers.

I had been told to walk away from customers standing in front of me and go out back to make sales calls. They are so focused on sales they are not realizing the negative affect on their customers.

They are also very famous for backdooring people and offering packages to get people out of the door. Very unworthy and untrustworthy in the Amherst Daily News location
Pros
monday - friday
Cons
unrealistic work expectations, very unprofessional management, very negative office.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, wide array of experience, terrible pay
Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSSeptember 21, 2014
I would have a various array of experiences each day (quoting jobs, getting subcontractor support, managing maintenance duties/several trades). The work environment was very healthy and a profit share plan was in effect. The pay was drastically lower than anything I've ever had and management will say anything to get you in the door.
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
very low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location for work. No leisure
Spécialiste d'Application - Analyste fonctionnel (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QCOctober 1, 2014
I work in a collaborative team where we share ideas and help each others on a daily basis. The team culture is great and our manager is so open and available for the team members and supports us.
Cons
high hierarchical structure
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONDecember 3, 2014
It was hectic during the training but than got easier after learning the equipment and operations. Co-workers were supportive and friendly, workflow depends upon the week of the day. Was on 1 week rotational shifts so allowed me to have a balance between job and life.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive. Friendly staff
Safety Student (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NLMarch 14, 2013
 Revised and updated Health and Safety best practices manual.
 Took part in workplace inspections.
 Attended committee meetings.
 Booked over 100 employees for Ergonomic Training Sessions.
 Reviewed Ergonomic workstation assessments with employees.
 Interacted and communicated with employees and staff.
 Assisted committee members when needed.
 Kept bulletin boards clean and up-to-date.
Pros
plenty of independent work.
Cons
unpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a place i would suggest to work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSApril 30, 2014
when i worked there every quarter meeting they talk about ho they are not making a profit when i left 1 month they let a lot of people go
Cons
bad hours, horrible boss and very little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes13No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never have regular hours
head pressman (Current Employee) –  Gatineau, QCApril 4, 2013
Old machinery. 12hrs shifts. I learn everyday something new. Wehave a good team. Seeing rheresult of your work makes it worth while.
Pros
good wages
Cons
no regular. hours and old machinery
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good internships
Marketing & communication advisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCDecember 11, 2013
I learned a lot, especially while doing my internship in fiscality.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle entreprise familiale
Adjointe aux RH et Tech. Rémun. (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCMay 17, 2016
Environnement agréable et ouvert

De la place à l'avancement
Ouverture d'esprit aux améliorations proposées
Personnes de l'équipe magnifiques pour travailler avec
Beaucoup de brainstorming, peu importe les niveaux impliqués
J'ai beaucoup appris en RH et en Rémunération grâce à des patrons directs très ouverts à l'apprentissage et n'hésitant pas à confier de nouveaux défis et à faire confiance.

Dans l'ensemble de l'entreprise, dommage qu'il y ait des "cliques" qu'il est très difficile de percer.
Pros
Culture d'entreprise adéquate (familiale)
Cons
Parfsois trop de "ragots" qui ne sont pas fondés
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture de l'organisation axée sur l'innovation et l'amélioration continue
Directeur, Contrôle interne et conformité (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCSeptember 8, 2015
beaucoup de défis à relever.

très grande collaboration entre les différents individus de l'organisation peut importe leur statut.

ressources limitées pour atteindre les objectifs fixés.
Pros
beaucoup de latitude pour améliorer les processus en place
Cons
difficile à maintenir un juste équilibre entre la vie professionnelle et personnelle
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail agreable
camelot (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCOctober 3, 2015
c'etais la premiere fois mais c'est une experience que je referais tres agreable et j'ai bien aimer
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très organisé.
Infographiste (Current Employee) –  Drummondville, QCOctober 26, 2012
Chaque employé doit savoir gérer son temps avec le nombre de dossier à effectuer. Période de stress intense vers la fin des dead line. Pas de problème avec ça. La compagnie se tient à la fine pointe de la technologie.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Imprimerie
Adjointe Administrative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCMay 6, 2013
Très bonne compagnie dans le domaine. Bonne gestion de ses ressources humaines. Possibilités d'avancement.
Pros
bonne ambiance, salaires et avantages
Cons
localisation
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture