Transcontinental Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement normal
Réserviste (Former Employee) –  Boucherville, QC17 August 2017
Travail en peoduction donc narrete jamais ou presque
Pros
Temps passe vite
Cons
12 heure par journ
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay work for extended periods in the middle of nowhere
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS10 June 2017
A pain to get to the place. 12 hour shifts. Constant work. lots of lifting. Follow safety procedures. Lots of mechanical failures. Lots of wasted material an time.
Pros
frequent breaks are scheduled
Cons
often don't get to take the breaks that were scheduled.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the work, i like to keep myself busy and always get the work done on time.
Helper at the printing company (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON15 May 2017
Learn how to pack
Taking off the machine
Jogging the papers and put them in the box
The hardest would be some of the machine goes really fast and so u have to catch up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horaires flexibles
camelot (Former Employee) –  Saint-Lazare, QC19 March 2017
vacances, congés de maladie et absences relativement tolérés
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Sale and customer services (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC15 February 2017
This company is very productive, i mean a lot of business to do and its very hard work, a lot of pressure. I worked 14 years for this company, and i enjoyed each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goood starting salary in dieing industry
Journalier de production, Empileur (Current Employee) –  Saint-Hyacinthe, QC12 January 2017
Great benefits, tons of overtime. Takes a long time to get a promotion. Can't miss any days, even if your family is sick. Always scared to lose your job to a robot.
Pros
paid breaks
Cons
job is never secure because of robots
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account rep
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Truro, NS28 November 2016
Sell sell sell.... Nothing what mattered...reps were back stabbers.... Management favored who ever was doing the best, no one helped eachother, other reps would steal your accounts when you were on vacation
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Commission, fellow backstabbers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a 12 year old
Flyer Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS14 November 2016
It was a good job for me as a 12 year old but it is not a good job for anyone looking to make any serious money. It involves a lot of work for not a lot of money. Each week I was required to put the flyers together which took about 2 hours and then deliver them which took another 2 hours and I was only paid $20 a week.
Pros
Small time commitment
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehose Manager
Purchasing Manger/Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Elmvale, ON11 October 2016
My typical work day would begin approx. 6:A.M. till 5-6P.M.
Monday- Friday sometimes weedends depending on press
schedules. My job consisted of making sure all the right rolls of paper were in stock for this particular job or jobs. I travelled from
our main plant and our warehouse when we had shippments going there to make sure our shippment was inspected and received in good order.I learned to manage my time very well so as not to get
overwhelmed by the situation. My co-workers were very good to work with as we were together for 12 hour shifts most of the
time.The hardest part of my job was resourcing the right paper
for the job and making our customers satisfied with our decisions
based our experience of the printing industry.The most enjoyable
part of my job was the satifaction knowing our company took the
upmost care in our customer's needs and wants for their job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work/Life Balance
Technician (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS9 August 2016
I found everyone I worked with, from the Technicians to the Department Directors very friendly and helpful. I have not had one negative experience working here and would come back in a heartbeat once my contract ends.

The pay is not the greatest compared to other industries, but it is a fair trade as the culture and work/life balance are one of the best I've ever encountered.
Pros
Work/Life Balance, Culture, Employees
Cons
Lower Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle entreprise familiale
Adjointe aux RH et Tech. Rémun. (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 May 2016
Environnement agréable et ouvert

De la place à l'avancement
Ouverture d'esprit aux améliorations proposées
Personnes de l'équipe magnifiques pour travailler avec
Beaucoup de brainstorming, peu importe les niveaux impliqués
J'ai beaucoup appris en RH et en Rémunération grâce à des patrons directs très ouverts à l'apprentissage et n'hésitant pas à confier de nouveaux défis et à faire confiance.

Dans l'ensemble de l'entreprise, dommage qu'il y ait des "cliques" qu'il est très difficile de percer.
Pros
Culture d'entreprise adéquate (familiale)
Cons
Parfsois trop de "ragots" qui ne sont pas fondés
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not work at any Transcontinental location
Art Director (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON25 March 2016
Although I was employed by Transcontinental for over 16 years, I was located at their customers (M&M Meat Shops) National head office in their in-house marketing department .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Casual-General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS27 February 2016
The employee's are great. You can carry on with them. But be careful, some will also stab you in the back and talk you down behind your back. Management is lousy, just out for the bucks. No job security, if they want you gone your gone. years of working there don't matter.
Pros
good employees
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Casual-General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS17 January 2016
you can joke and carry on with co workers. but some they will also stab you in the back. there is no job security. you get to work different departments, so you get experience in a number of things.
Pros
can carry on and joke with co workers
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail agreable
camelot (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 October 2015
c'etais la premiere fois mais c'est une experience que je referais tres agreable et j'ai bien aimer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture de l'organisation axée sur l'innovation et l'amélioration continue
Directeur, Contrôle interne et conformité (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 September 2015
beaucoup de défis à relever.

très grande collaboration entre les différents individus de l'organisation peut importe leur statut.

ressources limitées pour atteindre les objectifs fixés.
Pros
beaucoup de latitude pour améliorer les processus en place
Cons
difficile à maintenir un juste équilibre entre la vie professionnelle et personnelle
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed my years at transcontinetal
Labourer (Former Employee) –  markham , ont7 August 2015
I worked for T.C Transcontinental for 10 years. They where a good company to work for. They where very friendly people. The head of my department and supervisor where great. If I ever had a problem it was handled efficiently and very professionally. They are very safe conscious. The other employees and temps where a pleasure to work with. I have since retired but have kept in contact with many of my friends there.
Pros
the company would provide a company bbq each year. which was always fun to attend
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Borden, PE21 July 2015
do different types of jobs on different days co workers are awesome hard work but you enjoy the work nothing bad to really say good management and easy to work for
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice employees
Accounts Payable Representative (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Quebec27 April 2015
Overall good company, however, not much possibility of advancement. Staff is very friendly, always willing to help out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 December 2014
It was hectic during the training but than got easier after learning the equipment and operations. Co-workers were supportive and friendly, workflow depends upon the week of the day. Was on 1 week rotational shifts so allowed me to have a balance between job and life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Transcontinental. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6