Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training was bad
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC22 July 2017
They didn't train me on floor, only for cashier. I was unsure what I was supposed to do whenever on floor and looked stupid whenever someone asked about certain objects.
Pros
15% discount
Cons
Bad training
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to be
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON19 July 2017
Toys"R"us is a great place to work, they have a great team spirit and management is amazing they're very flexible with their work schedule and are committed to making sure that us workers are comfortable and safe at all times that what i loved about working at Toys"R"us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great place to learn skills
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2017
Hard to deal with frustrated customers, but learned to deal with them better especially when store is busy. Coworkers are extremely accepting and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 July 2017
Very easy job with friendly employees and fairly relaxed management. Flexible scheduling.

Best for seasonal work around christmas as there really aren't any hours to give out for 8 months of the year.
Pros
decent benefits
Cons
Very little hours and bare minimum pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales staff is kind
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 July 2017
After working for this company for many years it is clear there is no room for advancement. Management is unkind to staff and has no loyalties to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing first Job
Customer Service, Sales Floor (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON13 July 2017
friendly, cooperative, easy-going
chance for advancement every month or at annual review
part-time availability to profit sharing and stock
still in touch with previous employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 July 2017
Great company to work for. Loves the staff and customer aspect of the environment.
They couldn't pay me more sadly.
Glad that although I left they couldn't match the salary I was now
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys toys toys
Sales Representative/ HRDS (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SC12 July 2017
It really depened on the day. Off season was slow, but you were able to do all your paperwork, emails, and stocking done in the early part, of your shift. X-mas was just go go go sale, sale, sale, but if like working fast that was your time.
Pros
Playing with toys and learning about them
Cons
not enough hours in the off season
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment but typically long hours. No flexibility with schedule from October to January
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON6 July 2017
Dealing with kids daily is awesome. Keeps you young at heart. Be prepared for a six day a week schedule during Christmas season. Lieu time given after the new year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Antiquated systems and processes
Manager Distribution (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON4 July 2017
Good people but poor executive leadership. not easy to get all consensus among VP level as they all have their own agendas and direction but they don't line up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Toys 'R' Us?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the Baby section and helped the customers set up their baby showers. It was a very rewarding experience.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 July 2017
The Management was excellent at Toys R Us. They provided incentives to help us feel more productive. Overall, it was a very rewarding experience working for the Company.
Pros
Rewards for selling protection plans.
Cons
Long hours during the Christmas season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good friendly environment for kids and families
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB4 July 2017
By far my favourite job, everyone was so nice and friendly. Super understanding and flexible. I have great hours and the management treated the employees like family. We were all like a family and I can't complain at all.
Pros
Lots of hours, great environment, good management, etc.
Cons
Cleaning the bathrooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a cashier.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC3 July 2017
I was taught techniques that I was able to apply to my next job as a cashier. The skills I learned from interacting with customers (not only friendly customers) is one of the main skills that became an asset for my working future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great Starter Job
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON2 July 2017
Overall Toys R Us is a great place for development of skills when given the extremely uncommon opportunity. Great co-workers. Managers need to be less biased, and more open minded
Pros
Fun Atmosphere
Cons
Horrible Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 July 2017
The hours were great, the workers were awesome. the customers not so much during holiday season, very rude customers. its a fast pace and busy environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe environment, amazing staff.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 June 2017
During the time I worked for toys r us, the staff, management and the job in general treated me well, the pay was good for the time,and the hours were much desired. i worked 45+ hours, my own choice, starting at 4:30pm during the week and ending around 10pm and starting around 9:00am during weekends and ending around 9-10pm sometimes. the management was amazing, understanding and much liked by all the staff.
Pros
great hours
Cons
sometimes late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, dynamic and challenging working environment
Seasonal Cashier (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC27 June 2017
There are a lot of things to learn. Sometimes you're operating new and old technology, operating equipment for heavy loads, or doing regular sales associate tasks. The managers all have different personalities which makes the job interesting. Co-workers are generally friendly and kind. Best part of the job is when behind the cash register and children greet you and talk to you.
Pros
Occassional free food
Cons
Not the most flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to serve in our costumer.
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Philippines27 June 2017
My previous company is very good. I learned how to communicate in onother people.and how to follow the rules and regulation in one company i belong. And have good moral characters
Pros
Free benifits
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked helping to find the right gift for kids.
Customer Service Clerk (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON27 June 2017
I loved working for Toys R Us so much I liked helping to cash out customers at chrismas time and i really liked helping people find the right baby gifts too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Customer Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 June 2017
I really enjoyed my time working there. i had a lot of fun. I would definitely recommend this job to any young person just starting out and not sure of what they want to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toys 'R' Us. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 9,950 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6