Find companies:
Toys 'R' Us
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,412 reviews

Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to develop yourself in a professional environment
Customer Service (Current Employee), London, ONMarch 10, 2014
Pros: not micromanaged, the coworkers
Cons: long hours, lack of training, the amount of mandatory irrelevant things (bpps and e-learning)
I have Learned so much from working at Toys R Us, one of the main ideals that has been growing to be more evident, is that I am born to be a leader. The Only thing is that there has not been a promotion for me in 4+ years. The people that become advanced, are advanced because of age, not longevity or work ethic. The hours worked around Christmas or – more... "season" is brutal and the training is very minimal. The first season of working there, it is fun and exciting and competitive. After the thrill wears of it becomes exhausting and frustrating. The people hired are one of the main reason people stay around to work there so long, because we become family. There are the student aged associates, and the middle aged elders that all feel the same way and a real sense of camaraderie is developed in order to get through the daily struggles and hiccups that I'm sure plague any retail environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a casheir
cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2014
Pros: working with a great team
Cons: not enough hours.
While working at this job I was on cashier at all times, I sometimes was able to go on the floor with helping customers with questions and showing them where things were around the store. I resigned this job due to loosing hours over a certain period and decided that I was ready to move onto new employment to get more hours and more money to pay off – more... my college funds. My co-workers were easy to get along with, friendly, and very helpful. When asked to do a job i did it as well as I could. There wasnt a hard part of the job, prehaps trying to get hours and asking other co-workers to take thier shifts to get more hours. I enojyed working with friends and having the benfit of being surrounded with people I know and that are a very good team to work with everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 4, 2014
Its a nice place and fun place to work, helping customers find what they need to make there shopping easier is something i enjoyed doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere working with toys.
Cashier & Customer Service Counter (Former Employee), KitchenerMarch 3, 2014
Pros: getting to be in contact with your inner child.
Cons: late shift ending at 12am and 1am for midnight madness.
Working at Toys R Us consisted of working cashier, and walking the floor to help customers with questions and finding product. One thing I learned from working there was returns and exchanges. I did not interact with management often. Employees were self sufficient and reported to them at the end of the day. I was a seasonal employee so I wasn't there – more... very long to develop a relationship. Being a seasonal employee it was difficult to remember where specific toys were in the store. Getting to see what toys were popular for the holidays had to be the best part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never work here again
Sales Associate and Stock (Former Employee), mississaugaFebruary 28, 2014
horrible.
management was very unprofessional.
treated employees poorly and unfair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONFebruary 27, 2014
- Team meeting in the morning to tell us what we are doing today
- Packing items to be sent off
- Remembering barcodes
- Picking Items for each order given
- breaking boxes
- Management was good I enjoyed talking to them and felt comfortable asking questions
-Co- workers were the best made me feel very comfortable, felt like it was a family at work
- – more... The hardest part about the job was Lifting really heavy things but most of the time there was always someone to help you.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was just being comfortable around my Co- workers because I was around them all day, also always being busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier (Former Employee), Windsor, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: working with the public
Cons: location, bus hours
I learned how to work cash register, work debit/credit machine, call truck loaders for product, fill out indian status form, delay form, re-stocking product, work paging system, helping customers finding an item, etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with a fun workplace and co-workers and customers
Cashier / Re-Stocker (Former Employee), Kitchener, ONFebruary 16, 2014
It was a great experience, to be able to experience the rush of the Winter season at a well known toys company. I was able to improve my cashier skills even further, the management was great to work with. The best part about the job was communicating with customers and helping them out with whatever they needed. The worst part was when the customer – more... was looking for something that we were sold out of, it just gives you a really bad feeling to not be able to make someone happy even if you cant do anything about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work place
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 15, 2014
I'd done typical stock handling, with very enjoyable people. Everyone welcomed me with open arms, and let me know that if I had any questions or problems, that I should let them know. It was reassuring (when I was doing independent work) to know that I had accessible help elsewhere, at any time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay job
Temporary Seasonal - Overnight Stocker (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 10, 2014
I learned a few valuable skill sets from Toys R Us. It was only a seasonal job and was overnight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales associate (Former Employee), Saskatoon, SKFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: free lunches on a saterday during a busy time ie, christmas, black friday. dibs on leftover give away products. great discount on products.
Cons: management has very bad communication, tends to play favorites with people close to them personally, there is an expected quota for personelle to be reached in every shift.
Toys r us was a wonderful place to work! Everyone is welcoming and makes you feel at home! I truly miss the extended family I made thru TRU. The only downsides are the higher ups and the impossible quotas you are expected to reach everyday!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working At toys r Us
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Kitchener OnFebruary 8, 2014
Loved they environment being with children and also customers
Was seasonal
Loved Co workers and Management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great business.
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), St CatharinesJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: great bosses.
Cons: i was laid off.
I loved working at Toys R Us. The management was very understanding and kind. The employees were nice and easy to talk to and get along with.

The guest were not as bad as you see in movies. I worked at Toys R Us for the Christmas season. There were a couple of costumers who were angry but they were very understanding.

I was polite and respectful to – more... every guest and employee and it was a real pleasure working here was sad they had to lay me off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at, gained a lot of retail experience
TEAM LEADER (Current Employee), Toronto, OntarioJanuary 24, 2014
Typical day at work: Greet customers,always take customer to where the product is,answer any questions or concerns they may have,
create baby registry's or wishlists, demonstrate products and help customer find the perfect item for them,build displays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive experience
Sales associate And Cashier (Former Employee), EdmontonJanuary 23, 2014
It was a very friendly environment, I got a lot of experience as a cashier and sales associate regarding customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Envoirnment
Sales Associate/ Customer Service (Former Employee), Oakville, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: working with children, working with toys all day
Cons: sometimes long hours, not many raises, or acknowledgement for good work
Working at ToysRUs was definitely a great experience as it made you learn about managing different tasks at the same time as well as having great customer experience. Weather dealing with an upset customer or seeing a child so excited about a toy, it was for sure a learning experience. Management could of been better as different managers were on different – more... pages. For example, one manager would say this is how you do something, and the other would then come back and yell at you for doing it wrong. Regardless, all management were kind and caring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Condusive place to learn merchandising
Seasonal Store Associate - Night Crew (Former Employee), Brampton, ONJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: working with challenging tasks and supportive co-workers
Cons: spending extented hours
The day always starts with the manager's orientation or what is expected to happen all throughout the whole working hours. I learned the concept of merchandising from basic to complex. I eventually developed the sense of accuracy when it comes to stacking, overstocking, pricing , flagging, re-shopping and piecing. With the consistent supervision of – more... the manager, jobs are done with satisfaction. The co-workers are supportive and easily to get along with. The hardest part of the job is to set the store for the first day of the on sale day according to the flyer setting. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you accomplished the tasks with satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJanuary 1, 2014
Great co-workers and fair management. I enjoy talking to customers about what they are looking to purchase.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place where the staff do not matter to management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABDecember 26, 2013
Pros: friendly co-workers.
Cons: everything about them is a con.
They hire so many staff that most of them get lost in translation. They let go staff that do fantastic jobs and keep the ones that don't. I don't recommend this employer to anyone. Certain management do not no anything and should not work there. The only good thing about the place is that the co-workers are great. The worst part is they constantly lie – more... to customers about things and tell you that its how it is. They hire every associate as a 3 month temporary part timer and decide to keep you for another 3 months or so afterword. The pay is gross at 10.30. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys 'R' Us
Electronics Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 12, 2013
Pros: good hours, breaks are spaced out nicely
Cons: systems did not always work and the mean people
It is a great starting job for people wanting work experience and good hours. The people are nice and friendly and the managers are nice. the hardest part is talking to costumers in a bad mood that take it out on you and the most enjoyable part was when people are understanding.

About Toys 'R' Us

Toys“R”Us, Inc. is the world’s leading dedicated toy and juvenile products retailer, offering a differentiated – Read more