Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews

Found 503 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agreable
Vendeur (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC5 June 2017
Bon environnement de travail,les gens attendent tres bien
Pros
Pause
Cons
Organisation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 June 2017
simply and easy job the managers and employees are nice and easy going. usually the work day is pretty easy busiest time would definitely be Christmas but the job never becomes stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad employee enviroment
customer service, and cashier (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK31 May 2017
I started working there when I was 14 I quit about a month later because I was getting harassed about my age and how I should not have this job. in the end I was happy with quitting
Pros
non
Cons
enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys r us
Stock (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB29 May 2017
Needs better management, they are flexible with hours, easy work/environment, the rest of the regular employees rarely did anything because us seasonals were in. A lot of people quit before their end dates
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys R Us
Storeroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK26 May 2017
A good job for students to work part time. Working in the storeroom was highly stressful and very crowded in the outdated building. The management was too big and lacked communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really amazing staff, really nice
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON25 May 2017
An amazing place to work, I loved it there, an amazing environment, very welcoming. Everyone was super nice. Being able to see the happy faces of the customers is what made it amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and stressful
Caissière saisonnière (Former Employee) –  Lasalle, QC24 May 2017
I was a cashier during Christmas season and it definitely was stressful. I worked long hours and a lot of shifts. During that time of year, the hardest part was to have pleasant experiences with clients and dealing with their issues and outrages at times, but nonetheless, some clients were very pleasant. My experience with my coworkers wasn't very pleasant, they tended to add more stress on me and everybody competed with each other instead of helping each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but busy
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON20 May 2017
The job was a great intro to the workforce, but mainly for children and young adults. They had us stalking the toys, talking to customers and other random tasks.
Pros
Lots of breaks
Cons
Irregular hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful during Christmas
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 May 2017
Great managers, hours were hard to get covered at times. Working there in the summer is MUCH better than the winter because parents and children alike go crazy during Christmas and treat the store like garbage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very accommodating for students but not enough hours
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 May 2017
The workplace was fairly easy-going as traffic of customers fluctuated based on months. They were very accommodating for my schedule as a student however hours were slim when hours were wanted. Pay was typical part-time pay
Pros
good environment
Cons
No enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
sales (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON15 May 2017
I worked in the back handling and cleaning up the boxes, worked with great people who i am now still friends with today. kept me very busy as i worked around christmas time.
Pros
very good with hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Night Crew (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 May 2017
i enjoyed working with the management teams and team members i learned that you can move up in the company and i have worked for the company at store 3555 for several years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace environment
Cashier and Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 May 2017
A typical day at Toys R Us was starting out with checking all the aisles to make sure they are neat and then letting customers in and restock shelves till it got busy. I learned how to do price checks at different stores and how to up sell on certain items. Management was kinda all over the place, you'd have one person come up to you and tell you to do something then a different manager would come up and say "no don;t do that you have to do this", so at times it was confusing. The hardest part about that job was when it got busy and people were buying a lot of toys so we had to make sure we we're doing everything we're suppose to but at a quicker pace because how many people were lined up. The most enjoyable part about the job was that they didn't care if you had colour hair, cloloured pants, tattoos or even pierces, they wanted you to express yourself and have fun!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work place
Sales Associate & Merchandising (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 May 2017
Fun staff members, amazing products to sell. Also good benefits. Always appreciated by everyone and flexible hours. Most enjoyable part is serving kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place
Driving sales (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON9 May 2017
worked in express store and the manager at the time was the greatest manager i ever worked for. The company fired him over something dumb, i liked working for him but the company as a whole is whatever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 May 2017
A good experience for starting in the workforce. Strong sales abilities are required. Overall atmosphere is encouraging and positive.
Hours are not the greatest and there is no seniority loyalty for more hours either.
Pros
Encouraging and positive, cross-training, good managers
Cons
Minimal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no balance in the schedual, managers/supervisors didnt care about employees
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON4 May 2017
I don't think there was enough balance in the schedule. One week I would have 27 hour and the next week I would have 11 hours. Also when I worked there the supervisors/ managers made me feel replaceable they didn't make me feel like I was wanted there, it wasn't enjoyable to go into work every day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as Fun as You'd Think
World Sales Leader (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK3 May 2017
Pretty simple job with no real learning curve.

Lots of different positions and things to do.

Retail customers can be annoying and everyone seeks special treatment.

There is no guarantee of hours, despite position. Your hours will be cut if you don't meet company goals of charity donations, battery sales, and extended warranty sales.
Pros
Free stuff
Cons
Supports junk charities, punishment of reduced hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but don't expect to get anywhere
Merchandiser/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC3 May 2017
was hired for christmas season, existing staff ignored or treated me like a child, regardless of previous retail experience... no real training was ever given... management expects you to clone yourself to get everything done... if you're lucky, the local management might care about their staff, but the company does not. upper management only cares about the stats that get them *their* bonuses, regardless how uncomfortable you are "shaking down" customers for money that goes to corrupt charities. don't expect pay increases, unless you get excited for an extra $10 per month...

honestly, unless you're 15 and living with your parents or a drug dealer looking for legit income, the stress and frustration isn't worth your time.
Pros
co-workers tend to be quirky and fun
Cons
everything else. seriously, read the review
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 May 2017
- Friendly staff
- warehouse can include heavy labour at times
- Management is easy going
- Learned essential customer service skills
- Nice place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toys 'R' Us. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 8,693 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6