Find companies:
Toys 'R' Us
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,216 reviews

Toys 'R' Us Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, cooperative team members including management staff.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJune 9, 2014
Pros: 15% employee discount, flexible hours. awesome management staff.
Tasks include costumer service, placing orders, inventory management. Receiving shipments, preparing for sales and organizing store accordingly. Great team members, always willing to lend a hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding when the hours are available
Sales Associate/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Dartmouth, NSJune 7, 2014
I really enjoyed everyone that I worked with. I had the opportunity to really help a lot of people celebrate bigs stepping stones in their personal lives, and just get excited with children about their new toys. While I did this, I was also able to give parents accurate advice when purchasing their products. The biggest negative that I found with this – more... job was the complete lack available hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thoroughly enjoyed working for this company
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), St. CatharinesJune 1, 2014
Pros: fast paced work, employee relationships were great, management was fantastic to work for and with.
Cons: seasonal work, upset customers on a more frequent basis, disorganized stock at times.
I very much enjoyed my time at Toys R Us. The management provided a great amount of quality training, team work was easy to execute and participate in. My employee relationships were good and I enjoyed building customer relationships as well. This companies outlook and vision is amazing and I would not hesitate to work for them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experince
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONMay 23, 2014
Pros: free season passes, co-workers, enviroment
Cons: seasonal
- Great staff
- Learning experience
- Exceptional management and leadership, wonderful team to be a part of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really great company to work with
sales and customer service assosiate (Former Employee), winnipegMay 23, 2014
Pros: toys
Cons: sometimes there isnt alot to do
fantastic people and a great environment to work in.
you would normally just handle the cash register and so there isnt a lot going on when its not busy. you work with great people and the management is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My favourite work place
Cashier, Customer Service (Former Employee), Markham, ONMay 16, 2014
I loved working for Toys R Us as this was the job I got in high school.
I worked long hours, did double shifts, got along with all my co-workers, and made lots of friends. It was my second family and the managers/directors were very friendly and it was a pleasure working with them. I learned that patience really is a virtue! I started off as a cashier – more... and made my way as a customer service representative. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cashier (Former Employee), Richmond HillMay 12, 2014
Cons: bad hours
shifts got cut extremely when new director came in like we all went from having decent shifts that we can live off to 3-4hour shifts 1-2 days a week or 5-6 3 hour shifts versus 1-3 LONG hour shifts which was much better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys R Us, There's toys in the store... what else can I say?
Cashier (Current Employee), Markham, OnApril 29, 2014
Working at Toys R Us has been very eventful. I have only been there for 7 months now and a lot has already happened. Everyday is usually about the same, pretty quiet until the kids get out from school then gets a little busier. Now that summer is coming up its getting a little busier as well. Management has been pretty helpful, but unfortunately I have – more... broken my finger and they haven't been so cooperative with me. I understand that my duties are the same and I still have to do what I am able to, but when I have a doctors appointment final notice and am going to bring a note for you, please do not tell me you are going to write me up for having to leave an hour early. I have learned how to react to certain situations and how to deal with them better. I have worked in the customer service section of this store and have came by some very angry customers and have learned how to calm them down and have them leave the store satisfied and happy with the service provided. Everyone who works there are very friendly and great to work there, having coworkers who are friendly and easy going make the work place a much better place to work. Overall, Toys R Us is a pretty good company, and I can not say they are perfect because what company would be? I enjoy working there and everything is good, just wish it was a full time position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees are respectful towards each other with friendly staff.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONApril 23, 2014
There is a good job culture at Toys R Us with managers and employees respectful towards each other. However, I believe there is poor management as most of the times there are only 2-3 employees scheduled to work a shift requiring at least 5 people.There also needs to be better communication between managers since most of the times their instructions – more... are conflicting with each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace that requires a lot of energy and attention.
Cashier (Current Employee), Rocky View, ABApril 21, 2014
Pros: if you give notice for time off, you will get mostly any dates you need off.
Cons: certain times of the year, mostly after christmas, everyone's hours get cut. you don't really have a say in how late you work if you close, they change it without asking.
When you go to work whatever area you were trained in is the area you will work in. They teach you what you need to know about the area and you learn more as you go. Most of the managers are very nice and helpful. The hardest part of the job is learning about BPP's and selling them to customers; there is a lot of information that goes with them and – more... every different item they can be sold with. The most enjoyable part would be making friends with your co-workers and having satisfied customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace!
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSApril 19, 2014
Pros: fun co-workers and managers, felixable hours, nice customers
Cons: cleaning up
Toys R Us was my very first job and I've been loving it ever since! I don't want to leave but I know finding a career will be best for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable staff
Merchandiser / Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 4, 2014
I am a hard working individual who can work as a team or on my own with little or no supervision. I am punctual and reliable. I am always willing to gain more knowledge to increase my skills and experiences. I work quickly and efficiently to meet customers' needs. I look forward to a long term employment with any company who is willing to hire me as – more... a dedicated employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, long hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2014
direct customers to toys/ things they are looking for & answer any questions they might have
operate cash/debit/credit machines
load and unload storage
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with creat staff and customer service.
CUSTOMER SERVICE/SALES (Seasonal Help) (Former Employee), Newmarket OnMarch 25, 2014
Pros: food court beside work. great enviroment.
Cons: seasonal
A typical day at Toys "R" Us always started by clocking in, saying hello to my fellow staff then starting my shift in the electronics department.
Most of the time I was by myself in the electronics department, there for I had no experienced staff helping me. I learned to over came this challenge and make sure I could provide the best customer service – more... possible to all my customers and make sure they left not only satisfied, but happy.

My management and co-workers were extremely friendly, and we helped each other get by the day. Helping each other with customer service, and stocking items and piecing them.

Id say the hardest part of my job was that I was younger and not eager to work as hard as I am now.

The most enjoyable part of my job was assisting kids looking for video games, and seeing there faces when their parents would buy it for them.
Also as I was younger working for Toys "R" Us, I also played video games in my spare time, being in an environment where I got to talk about what I enjoy doing was also a great part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work environment
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), Scarborough, OnMarch 18, 2014
Pros: toys and lots more
Cons: long hours
Great staff, fun atmosphere, lots of challenges and meeting great people. The hardest part of the job was dealing with recalled items. The most enjoyable was were working with the staff and vendors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A motivated hardworking individual who utilizes many skills and is passionate about his work, achievments, and goals.
World Sales Leader/ Team Leader (Current Employee), 4559 Hurontario, Mississauga OntarioMarch 11, 2014
*A Typical day at work sees me striving to achieve goals and providing direction to both employees and management on what would be advantageous to accomplish.

*I learned about a variety of roles working for Toys R Us and was able to incorporate a lot of lessons into my working and management style to be ready for advancement and opportunities.

* Management – more... staff can be very supportive I have had the pleasure of working with some very commendable managers who have made exemplary decisions. I have also seen where management could be improved.

* I have had the honor of working with some remarkable co-workers and staff members whom understood, provided support, and provided excellent working ethic to the team.

* The hardest part of the job was the little variability and flexibility of working hours which I saw opportunities for improvement.

* The most enjoyable part of the Job was motivating my team members, celebrating their successes, and recognition of efforts from both our in-store and head office management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to develop yourself in a professional environment
Customer Service (Current Employee), London, ONMarch 10, 2014
Pros: not micromanaged, the coworkers
Cons: long hours, lack of training, the amount of mandatory irrelevant things (bpps and e-learning)
I have Learned so much from working at Toys R Us, one of the main ideals that has been growing to be more evident, is that I am born to be a leader. The Only thing is that there has not been a promotion for me in 4+ years. The people that become advanced, are advanced because of age, not longevity or work ethic. The hours worked around Christmas or – more... "season" is brutal and the training is very minimal. The first season of working there, it is fun and exciting and competitive. After the thrill wears of it becomes exhausting and frustrating. The people hired are one of the main reason people stay around to work there so long, because we become family. There are the student aged associates, and the middle aged elders that all feel the same way and a real sense of camaraderie is developed in order to get through the daily struggles and hiccups that I'm sure plague any retail environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a casheir
cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2014
Pros: working with a great team
Cons: not enough hours.
While working at this job I was on cashier at all times, I sometimes was able to go on the floor with helping customers with questions and showing them where things were around the store. I resigned this job due to loosing hours over a certain period and decided that I was ready to move onto new employment to get more hours and more money to pay off – more... my college funds. My co-workers were easy to get along with, friendly, and very helpful. When asked to do a job i did it as well as I could. There wasnt a hard part of the job, prehaps trying to get hours and asking other co-workers to take thier shifts to get more hours. I enojyed working with friends and having the benfit of being surrounded with people I know and that are a very good team to work with everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 4, 2014
Its a nice place and fun place to work, helping customers find what they need to make there shopping easier is something i enjoyed doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere working with toys.
Cashier & Customer Service Counter (Former Employee), KitchenerMarch 3, 2014
Pros: getting to be in contact with your inner child.
Cons: late shift ending at 12am and 1am for midnight madness.
Working at Toys R Us consisted of working cashier, and walking the floor to help customers with questions and finding product. One thing I learned from working there was returns and exchanges. I did not interact with management often. Employees were self sufficient and reported to them at the end of the day. I was a seasonal employee so I wasn't there – more... very long to develop a relationship. Being a seasonal employee it was difficult to remember where specific toys were in the store. Getting to see what toys were popular for the holidays had to be the best part of the job. – less

About Toys 'R' Us

Toys“R”Us, Inc. is the world’s leading dedicated toy and juvenile products retailer, offering a differentiated – Read more