Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews

Found 503 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 August 2017
Toys R us is a great company that I have worked with for almost two years. The management is great and the other staff are very friendly. i am grateful for all the experience and knowledge that this company has given me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super productive great place to work
Night Crew (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON4 August 2017
Love the atmosphere love being around toys my coworkers are amazing people positive energy all around I feel comfortable there full time hours have regular breaks
Pros
Breaks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
belle expérience de travaille
Commis (Former Employee) –  Anjou, QC3 August 2017
belle première expérience de travail j'ai apprise beaucoup sur moi même et développé de belle caractéristiques
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience with fun co-workers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON28 July 2017
The best experience I had was with my co-workers. They made the job even better than it already was. The job itself was also a great experience as it taught me how to multitask as I had to accomplish many tasks at once (helping customers while cleaning up assigned aisle). This job was a very memorable one that I genuinely enjoyed.
Pros
Friendly environment, organized, good management
Cons
long hours on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff working with here is great.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON28 July 2017
I am still at Toys R Us, and I am having a great time working here. Everyone is friendly, and easy going. The benefits of working here is for sure the knowledge I have learned from the interactions I have made with the clientele, as well as my co-workers.
Pros
Random Free Pizza Days
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caissière
Commis/caissière (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC27 July 2017
Développement des habilités en communication et service à la clientèle
Pros
Gestion de stresse et des fortes demandes
Cons
la vente de garanties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with very fun co-workers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON24 July 2017
Was very easy to adapt to working in a very busy environment thanks to the christmas deals. management understands what you can and can't do, and will do their best to make it easier for you.
Pros
fun co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training was bad
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC22 July 2017
They didn't train me on floor, only for cashier. I was unsure what I was supposed to do whenever on floor and looked stupid whenever someone asked about certain objects.
Pros
15% discount
Cons
Bad training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to be
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON19 July 2017
Toys"R"us is a great place to work, they have a great team spirit and management is amazing they're very flexible with their work schedule and are committed to making sure that us workers are comfortable and safe at all times that what i loved about working at Toys"R"us.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great place to learn skills
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2017
Hard to deal with frustrated customers, but learned to deal with them better especially when store is busy. Coworkers are extremely accepting and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Retail Associate (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 July 2017
Very easy job with friendly employees and fairly relaxed management. Flexible scheduling.

Best for seasonal work around christmas as there really aren't any hours to give out for 8 months of the year.
Pros
decent benefits
Cons
Very little hours and bare minimum pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales staff is kind
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 July 2017
After working for this company for many years it is clear there is no room for advancement. Management is unkind to staff and has no loyalties to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing first Job
Customer Service, Sales Floor (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON13 July 2017
friendly, cooperative, easy-going
chance for advancement every month or at annual review
part-time availability to profit sharing and stock
still in touch with previous employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 July 2017
Great company to work for. Loves the staff and customer aspect of the environment.
They couldn't pay me more sadly.
Glad that although I left they couldn't match the salary I was now
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toys toys toys
Sales Representative/ HRDS (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SC12 July 2017
It really depened on the day. Off season was slow, but you were able to do all your paperwork, emails, and stocking done in the early part, of your shift. X-mas was just go go go sale, sale, sale, but if like working fast that was your time.
Pros
Playing with toys and learning about them
Cons
not enough hours in the off season
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agréable
Commis (Former Employee) –  Anjou, QC12 July 2017
J'ai aimé travaille au toy r us surtout grâce à mes collègues malgré que ce fut bref.
Pros
Des collèges extraordinaires
Cons
Rester un court instant
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment but typically long hours. No flexibility with schedule from October to January
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON6 July 2017
Dealing with kids daily is awesome. Keeps you young at heart. Be prepared for a six day a week schedule during Christmas season. Lieu time given after the new year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Antiquated systems and processes
Manager Distribution (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON4 July 2017
Good people but poor executive leadership. not easy to get all consensus among VP level as they all have their own agendas and direction but they don't line up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the Baby section and helped the customers set up their baby showers. It was a very rewarding experience.
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 July 2017
The Management was excellent at Toys R Us. They provided incentives to help us feel more productive. Overall, it was a very rewarding experience working for the Company.
Pros
Rewards for selling protection plans.
Cons
Long hours during the Christmas season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good friendly environment for kids and families
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB4 July 2017
By far my favourite job, everyone was so nice and friendly. Super understanding and flexible. I have great hours and the management treated the employees like family. We were all like a family and I can't complain at all.
Pros
Lots of hours, great environment, good management, etc.
Cons
Cleaning the bathrooms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toys 'R' Us. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 8,695 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

77%
2,367 ratings
Add your rating