Toys 'R' Us Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Emloyer
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON21 February 2018
Great place more positives than negatives. A lot or room for growth and movement. Staff fantastic and a lot of team building.-fun place with workplace balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and productive
Janitorial Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 February 2018
I only work there every two weekends, early morning just to clean the store, it’s not really anything consistant but it’s helps for the moment, hoping to get a better job .
Pros
Helpfull
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was long ago
Department Head (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC16 February 2018
It was so long ago that I do not believe I have an accurate account of how the company is run at this point. they definitely had excellent health benefits available, so if that is still the same it his a big plus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all an ideal place to work
Electronic Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 February 2018
The management system is highly flawed. The managers and GM put pressure on staff for sales but they are not commissioned. They keep old products that was never going to be sold and store it in places that could keep new and well selling products. The buying of products is horrible and the idea that you can sell something that no one is willing to buy is reinforced here. The arrangement that if you put products in a new spot and make it look "good" it will boost sales and customers will buy more. This is entirely wrong, it does count that your store is aesthetically pleasing but often times customers will get upset that a product is no longer in its usual spot especially if you're constantly moving things around. Toys R Us I can't imagine continuing on.
Pros
None
Cons
- Rude managers and general managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON15 February 2018
Management was great very nice people, learned how to work as a team, great people to work around, hardest part was Christmas Eve but people got me through.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good place to work
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON15 February 2018
its a good place to work i just want something different and new and alot of hours and to try something new for once in my life i would llove to try cash but work up to it thank you
Pros
doesnt matter
Cons
enought hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 February 2018
Great way to get into the workforce.
Good training programs and development courses.
Good PT work for students.
Management needs to revisit HR policies and procedures.
Pros
fun people
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 February 2018
The company has strong standards, overall procedures and training are good. Well managed, but managers can be difficult to contact during bust periods. Overall nice staff, good employee recognition, and staff events.
Pros
Snacks, friendly staff, promotes within, good management, employee recognition, training
Cons
Difficult to contact managers at times, poor point of sale, upset customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Cashier or on floor (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC12 February 2018
I learned what it takes to have a job and how to organize your life around the job. The management was very well organized and super nice.
Whenever I needed help or I made a mistake they would teach me not to make the same mistake again.
Pros
Free lunches, employee discount
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 February 2018
Toys R Us was definitely one of the few job that had a very comfortable work environment. Could very be the perfect mixture of proper staff and striaght forword clear assissments for each work staff.
Pros
Great personel
Cons
Two breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Associate (seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON5 February 2018
Good atmosphere. Less so in the back where it's poorly lit and lonely when it's in the slow seasons. Feels like I'm a ghost and the real word is out on the floor and I'm just haunting the place, but that's just me. I'm sure others would be fine.
Pros
Game consoles are expensive but the employee discount is good for that.
Cons
Get's very slow out of Christmas season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a fun place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC5 February 2018
The staff was always so positive and great to work with. Everyone was always willing to help each other out with situations. I never had any complaint with the environment. You actually wanted to go to work because it was an entertaining place to be at. Hours working there went by so fast because there was always something to do to keep you occupied.
Pros
great staff, positive environment, hard working, fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC5 February 2018
A typical day consisted of helping out families in order to find their needs. I learned the importance of carrying leadership qualities, and management definitely encouraged personal growth!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth Crossing, NS4 February 2018
This was a fun place to work due to the people your surrounded by however management could use a little more organization and inform everyone of the events/sales going on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for students
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 February 2018
Great place to start a work life.
Not a great place if you are looking for hours or fair pay.
Management are required to work long hours for little pay.
Pros
Good starting point
Cons
Insufficient pay and advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and friendly supervisors and coworkers
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 February 2018
A great place to work in supervisors, managers, co-workers were helpful and friendly Experience was great! Felt like I fit in and managers were always there to help an assistant as well as my coworkers.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Floor Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON1 February 2018
general day includes customer assistance and store maintenance. learned a lot about customer service and basic work training. management is good, co-workers are all very nice. hardest part of the job is standing for so many hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace experience
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON31 January 2018
- Most enjoyable part of working there, getting know people around you and getting along with all the other employees
- Seeing the faces of kids that love to be around toys
- Good place to work during the seasonal months
Pros
Flexible with your schedule
Cons
having to run around if you can't find and item
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Vendeuse (Current Employee) –  Lasalle, QC31 January 2018
Un des aspects que j’aime bien de mon poste c’est d’être en contact avec les clients répondre à leur question et même parfois les faires sourires.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Service à la clientèle et caissière (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC27 January 2018
Good job if you're looking for something simple, flexible hours and very considerate management team. Friendly crew and easy to deal with customers. The job requires minimum knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toys 'R' Us. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,777 reviews
53.4K
43.3K
32.7K
2830
1549

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture