Toyota Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor culture
Manager of Canadian IT Operations (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 September 2016
The culture was horrible. There was a lot of blaming on other people. The average employee was treated poorly but sr management was rewarded well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still the best job for a student.
Production Assembly Line Team Member (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ON7 September 2016
A typical day at work is the employees online doing their own work and chatting about things while trying to keep up with the fast paced environment. I have learned what my physical capabilities are. Management was excellent as far up as I saw, they were extremely concerned with safety. the Hardest part of the job was waking up at 5am and staying awake until 5am. The most enjoyable part of the job was the bond that was made between the team members.
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON7 September 2016
Working at Toyota as a summer student the last few summers was very beneficial everyone that i interacted with was friendly and willing to help the students learn what to do. Management was very accommodating with important student obligations and needing to miss a day throughout the summer. I worked on the assembly line all day building cars the atmosphere was very laid back and enjoyable but was under pressure to build cars under a certain time limit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Associate
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON29 August 2016
I am working in a call centre setting taking between 70-100 calls per day. My role is to manage current customer's loan and lease accounts. I enjoy helping people and interacting with colleagues. The hardest part of the job is that the nature of the role is very repetitive and doesn't allow for creativity and learning.
Pros
I am working in a finance capacity
Cons
I do not want to be in customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 August 2016
Owned by the wheaton group, friendly environment, with nice people to work with. First point of contact with customers. Good area to work in. Steady customer flow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a Paycheque
Contract Team Member (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON24 August 2016
Based on what department you are placed in, everyday is exactly the same at Toyota. If you are in assembly you basically learn 4 different jobs and complete them every single day sometimes in the same order. The work atmosphere at Toyota is highly depressing, most employees hate it there and make it known constantly. Many people are openly negative about the company and their unhappiness with being there. A lot of people promoted into management are promoted for the wrong reason and have communication issues and should not be in leadership roles. This being said however, there are many good people in management as well. The hardest part of the job is the negative atmosphere and the physical toll doing repetitive work does on your body (repetitive strain injury). The most enjoyable part of the job is the paycheque you receive at the end of the 2 week pay period. This being said there is a huge wage gap at Toyota. Contract Team members begin at 20$ an hour and do not get ANY paid holidays for at least 3.6 yrs. You remain a contract until you get "full-time" which takes about 3.6 yrs. You receive benefits after 3 months of working there but they do not include dental. The full rate of pay at toyota is about 34$ an hour and it takes a whopping 10 YEARS to get to this full rate nowadays. So contract team members who do the exact same jobs as full-time get payed about 15$ less and get no holidays or dental. This helps breed a lot of the negativity in the workplace.

Working at Toyota is a lot like working anywhere else, it is what you make of it, opportunities are there for full-time
  more... team members to advance if they choose to take them. They do a lot more for their Team Members than most employers do.  less
Pros
free lunches, overtime, guaranteed hours
Cons
long hours, negative atmoshpere
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to begin a career
Kinesiologist (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON8 August 2016
This position is great to start off with because it exposes you to a ton of different aspects of Kinesiology but it is an extremely heavy workload. Very challenging but rewarding position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Car Wash Attendant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 August 2016
people there are really friendly and they make you feel at ease problem was that i wasn't being paid an equal pay for the work i did which was really not fair.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
i didn't get paid much for the work i did
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with excellent benefits
Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON22 July 2016
Toyota is a great company that provides excellent benefits, including lots of vacation time and other perks. It is probably one of the cleanest places you will ever work, and the focus on safety and Team Member engagement is high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly place to work!
Warranty Administrator (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL13 July 2016
Great co-workers! Knowledgeable staff. Fast paced team oriented service department. Learned a vast amount in most departments including sales, accounting, and especially service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and demanding position
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ON28 June 2016
Very productive and demanding 10hr/day position
Assembly and team work
Management helpful in achieving demands
Excellent team member experiences
Repetition w / 1 car every 57 seconds & distance to work
learning new skill sets
Pros
People you work with
Cons
very demanding work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Marketing Professional (Former Employee) –  Philippines24 June 2016
I used to sell 7 cars every month. We always have exams and training for our sales department so we can gain more knowledge about the industry. I enjoyed selling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont believe the hype
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON23 June 2016
good pay and vacation time, but don't get hurt as toyota's management don't want you back. Finding you a new position due to restrictions placed upon you by your Doctors and specialists just doesn't happen here. They either want you back on your old line or they would rather buy you out and leave you out to dry. The opportunity to move up is hard as it is a boys club there. Its all about who you know and who ya blow for sureManagement can get away with lots of broken rules that would have a regular TM fired and walked out.
Pros
Good pay and vacation time
Cons
long work hours, lots of drama, terrible working conditions(heat), front office personal aren't responsible for anything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay but very demanding
Painter/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON15 June 2016
Overall Toyota is a great place to work as far as pay and benefits go. But factory life is not meant for everybody. And the repetition of the job is very taxing on the body.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
no family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work, but large pay checks.
Contract Employee (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON9 June 2016
Work in a friendly environment. Upper management could have been better. Demanding work with little to no holidays, and a ridiculous amount of time on contract. (3.5-4 years)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close relationships
Junior Accounting/ Media Management (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC3 May 2016
Thoroughly enjoy working here, but there is no room for personal advancement in the business field I would like to expand for in my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job opportunity, contract period too long.
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON27 April 2016
I enjoyed my time at TMMC. Management and co-workers were all very pleasant to work with/for. I learned a lot about proper training and the importance of being knowledgable when it comes so safety practices. I also acquired a wealth of knowledge in the assembly industry as far as how the entire process works and how every individual process contributes to the final product as well as the efficiency of the product's assembly. The hardest part of the job was most likely switching shifts every 2 weeks, however this element became much easier with some time. The most enjoyable part of the job was most definitely the people I got to work with as well as the sense of accomplishment I got from contributing to the assembly process.
Pros
Co-workers, wage, environment, long hours
Cons
length of contract period
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
IT (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 April 2016
Excellent place to work for IT professionals. Exposes you to multiple technologies, which allows you to grow your technical expertise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Life
PRODUCTION TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON13 April 2016
All they care about is making money. The pay is fairly good but the trade-off is your free time. Rotating schedules every two weeks wreaks havoc on the body. The jobs themselves are very hard on the body (depending on the job) and injuries are very common.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic workplace
Parts Distributor (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON31 March 2016
Toyota is a great company to be apart of and their culture is nothing like I have experienced before. They have a great foundation and it was fun to grow in such a large company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toyota. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,582 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8