Find companies:
TOTAL SAFETY
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

TOTAL SAFETY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Firewatch (Former Employee), Sulphur La.March 20, 2014
sitting around waiting for Inspectors may go out once or twice to holewatch management is a lot of work. work with really nice co workers the hardest part is sitting and waiting the most enjoyable part is lunch.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Firewatch (Former Employee), Chalmette, LAMarch 7, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: jobs did not last too long because they were turn-around jobs which lasted from 1 to several months.
I would come on and get my job assignment for whatever crew I was on that day. I learned to be observant to make sure that no fires broke out for the welding dept. Most of the co-workers that I worked with did the same thing so I never was with any of them. The hardest part of the job was to the paperwork and getting used to it. After that it was no – more... so hard.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting people from around the tri-state area. Also doing a good job for the people you worked for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work lots of hours to make good money.
Fire watch (Former Employee), Gonzales, LAFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch sometimes and got alone w/ everybody.
Cons: just making money.
I love it very much because i was making a lot money and also getting alone w/ a lot of people. When Hurricane hit LaPlace i moved away for year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Overrated
Adminstration (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 10, 2014
This particular company reels you in giving you false hopes. They make you think it is a good place to move up, and the pay is great. There is a lot of opportunity to move around in the company, however when you get to that point they refuse to give you the recommendation needed to get to where you want to be. They do not even give annual cost of living – more... raises. Some people have been there for 6 years plus and NEVER receieved a raise, and they work you to the bone. Some people are doing the job of 2 or 3 people and not even being compensated for it, and then when you get over whelmed and people start complaining you get let go due to "re-organizational changes" It was a very stressful place to work, and management does not have YOUR best interest at heart, only the benefit of themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Shop Technician (Current Employee), Karnes City, TXFebruary 9, 2014
love the people i work with. you look out for others when you start thinking about safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Truck Driver (Former Employee), TXJanuary 31, 2014
I enjoy Total Safety my co workers were very friendly we all respected each other I enjoy training others traveling as well meeting new faces I've learn a lot at this place it helped me to advance my skills the hardest part about working at this place is getting caught up in traffic my job was not hard
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laborer
Laborer (Former Employee), South Point, OHJanuary 19, 2014
The best part of my jobs is that everyone got along with one another and helped each other out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for.
Technician (Former Employee), Broussard, LADecember 20, 2013
Pros: steady work
Cons: hard to get earned raises
OK company to work for, not the best but not the worst. Good entry level job to oilfield industry that's about it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience!
Firewatch/Holewatch (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXDecember 5, 2013
I was able to meet a lot of new people. Flint Hills job site was the best! Project Manager for Sinclair job site needs to work more on work ethics and understand the true meaning as "working as a family"!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction temp.
Fire Watch (Former Employee), Deer Park, TXNovember 20, 2013
Watched for hazards and maintained and secured the area that I was assigned. Filled out paperwork on every job cite. Kept track of the workers coming in and out of the hazardous area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, horrible management
I&E Technician (Current Employee), Gonzales, LAOctober 28, 2013
Cons: not enough pay for the work they require
The co-workers here are awesome. It is a fast paced environment and they are willing to stop their work and help you when needed.
However, management is horrible. They show no appreciation for the work you do. They require you to be available 24-7 with no compensation. They do not pay enough.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Safety Attendant (Former Employee), Clute, TXOctober 19, 2013
Pros: learning
Cons: poor leadership
Job was not long enough but provided a good work environment, need better management and foremans need more experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of my job is making sure all personal including myself makes it home safe injury free!
H2S Tech, Safety (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: being able to work with great leaders.
Cons: managament being so unworthy in big buisness
My overall view of this company,

The bussiness is there total safety has numerous contracts with the oil and gasline pipeline industry, managenment is not the best for being such a big company. Total Safety has a big problem when it comes to finding out the source and hearing both sides of the story. they are very one--sided and when it comes to decision – more... making they take the veterans side over a rookie.Supervisors never own-up to their mistakes, their real quick to put all fault on a technician when on most cases the fault should fall on bost, supervisor and technician. The co-workers are awesome, we like using the saying "you are your brothers keeper" we take that to heart in the line of work we do.The hardest part of the job is dealing with company man, but with my past knowledge and experince i've learned to just bite your tongue and do all in your power to make them happy, and at the end of the day your happy and hes happy! The most enjoyable part of the job is saving peoples lifes, i've prevented the lord knows how many times that i've prevented an accident that was waiting to happen. That right there is why i loved and took pride in work with total safety . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location great pay and great benefits.
Accounts Payable/ Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2013
Full cycle accounts payable. Teamwork required. Meeting deadlines while providing good customer service to vendor inquires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing and rewarding
Safety Supervisor (Current Employee), U.S.September 9, 2013
Most days I have been left to manage the job without any interference. I look at every day as an opportunity to learn something new. Many times I worked alone but there are times when other coworkers make it a joint effort. The hardest part of the job is definitely being away from home and traveling all of the time. The most enjoyable part of each day – more... is knowing that each employee is going home safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't quite ensure the wellbeing of its own workers......
Tech (Current Employee), LASeptember 8, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: poor management, understaffed, underpaid
When I first started working for this company, I had high hopes for what was offered and what would be offered. However, as time has passed, my hope got lower and lower each year. One by one, many employees have left the company to go to work for rival companies who pay more or were terminated. Two employees recently put in their two week notices and – more... the staff is now down to a hand full of qualified personnel who are overworked and underpaid. Management does not seem to realize this at all due to a so called "hire freeze". Management is apparently more concerned with keeping its current customers happy than its own workers happy. With the way things have been going recently, I do not see this particular location lasting much longer. May as well just let the remaining staff go and just start anew. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job, even though it was temporary.
Traffic Controller (Former Employee), Marshall, MISeptember 4, 2013
Pros: great bosses, great paychecks
Cons: 12 hr days, 7 days a week.
I was paid good wages to hold a stop sign and direct traffic at ground zero of oil spill in Marshall, MI. I was treated well and paid well during the 7 week assignment. I was outdoors, talked to people and making great money. The company that I worked for was sub-contracted by Enbridge and both companies treated us well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Work
Field H2S Technician (Current Employee), Corpus Christi, TXAugust 25, 2013
Pros: per diem, great co workers.
Cons: promises of raises and reviews never carried out, do not want to pay for additional training to better employees knowledge, minimal advancment opportunities.
1. Rove from site to site checking equiptment.
2. Learned about H2S and became familiar with the different operations pertaining to the Oil and Gas Industry.
3. Co workers are great to work with, we showed more appreciation for eachother than the company showed us.
4.Management was harldly ever in the field so we as a group took the reigns and took – more... care of our area. And when management did decide to show up, He/She would try changing what plans we had already for the work day because he/she wanted it their way, all in all it brought moral down everytime management showed up, because they had no idea what they missed by not being there and then take it out on us if one little issue was not to their liking.
5. The hardest part of the job was sitting a job site in the vehicle for 12hr shifts and feeling like you were not doing enough.
6. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing your helping provide safety measures so others can get home alive. Another enjoyable part of the job was the end of the day being able to relax with co workers and reflect on that days accoplishments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are great. Hardworking, great people who are just trying to making a living, and be appreciated.
admin (Former Employee), Nederland, TXAugust 22, 2013
Pros: i love the workers, they are such good people with good intentions and hard workers, they make your day better when dealing with the day to day at this location, the ones who arent making a decent living are the kindest most trustworthy folks there, i think that shows a lot right there
Cons: management does not care about your well being, they preach safety because it is forced down from the upper managment to make the company look safe, not because they care about you getiing hurt, building is falling apart, very old
They do not give pay raises here. In fact they from time to time put a "freeze" on pay increases. They do this fairly often when it comes about time for people to start asking for increases again. The self evaluation each year is a joke. You mark your qualities as you feel you are. Management looks at your eval and makes their own which basically moves – more... everything you scored yourself as down 2-3 points in a 1-5 scoring system. This is done so that you will not feel confident in asking for a raise because your supervisor has just scored you a "par" or decent employee and told you a whole list of things you can do to get better most of which are not even in your job description! The management here is unbelievable. Certain individuals can get away with almost anything and have not much more than i finger shook at them for it. While others would have paid time off or even fired for the same offense. Some employees are so special that when they get banned from a facility so that they cannot do their job, they get a promotion and are given all the easy office chair overtime they want. It is a who knows who and who can not tell on me type of game. Stay away from this place. Employes quit at a rapid rate. and nothing ever changes for the better. NOTHING. Its an everyday thing to walk through parts of the building and see 3-4 people standing around playing on their phones or talking on them or browsing the internet while you are expected to be outside in the blazing heat doing physical work with machinery and manual labor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sub par managment. Excessive expectations of some employees. How you are treated depends on who you know personally within the local office. .
Technician (Current Employee), Nederland, TXAugust 15, 2013
Pros: benefits package is decent
Cons: poor management, employees are not apprectiated, no pay raises unless promoted and the amount is not fair compensation, years behind on current equipment which makes jobs needlessly strenuous, certain employees are required to be on call 24 hours anywhere from 50-100% of after hours
Benefits package is decent. You do have some opportunity to get some good training in various things from manufacturers that you can use to further your career with another company. That is the only pro to this employer. There are a hand full of people of have a good job here. The rest are very overworked and underpaid. Pay raises are non existent unless – more... you are promoted, and even then it is not enough to compensate for the added responsibility unless you are one of the favored individuals who knows certain members of management personally. 50% of the employees live in or are from the same city and have family ties together. Many complaints against upper management have been made and no action taken whatsoever. If you choose to work here just be prepared to deal with some very shady actions and attitudes from "leaders" and understand that there is no real desire to change in the company. – less

1 2 3