Find companies:
Toronto Transit Commission
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
46 reviews

Toronto Transit Commission Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides great opportunity to grow
STATION COLLECTOR (Current Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 29, 2013
Pros: great compensation/benefits. strong fellowship with co-workers and management.
Cons: difficult hours can be alienating to family and friends (i typically work weekends).
TTC has taught me some great lessons, both professionally and personally. The training is extensive, giving me the confidence to function and perform well. I've learned to not respond emotionally in emotional situations, to take a step back and assess the entire situation to bring balance and fairness. I'm front-line staff, and, therefore, am under – more... public scrutiny. I must always be at my best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Power Traction and Wiring Services Co-op Student (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 26, 2013
Pros: everyday was a learning day
• Attended substation awareness training
• Prepared reports, flow charts, capital project and crew schedule
• Labeled Arc Flash rating on single line diagrams designs
• Prepared 600 VDC bus maintenance data sheet reports
• Finalized each substation Arc Flash analysis reports
• Prepared electrical room key holder training report
• Substation site visits
 – more... Gave tour of substations to subway expansion contractors
• Supervised and organized substation written and practical exam – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Trainer / Instructional Designer - Toronto (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 24, 2013
Pros: changing work enviroment
Cons: shift work
An opportunity to work in teams or with subject matter experts to enhance my knowledge and incorporate new ideas into training materials This was a contract position which required training in shifts on a 7 day per week schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 29, 2013
Pros: nice atmosphere
Cons: increasing workload
My co-workers were one of the most enjoyable things about work. They were encouraging and fun people to work with. The hardest part of my job was handling the increased workload because of staff shortages while still trying to maintain good customer service. I learned how to multitask, doing many jobs at once. I learned how to correct situations and – more... fix issues quickly to dissolve conflict. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times
Service Person (Former Employee), torontoMay 21, 2013
A typical day is fueling and waiting for them to call me to drop off a bus some where. I learned how to drive DZ bus. the management was not good at times, I got along with my co-works. The hardest part of the job is not have anything to do I don't like not having anything to do. What I liked about the job was pay and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much corporate drama
Sr Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 29, 2013
It was a working experience.. Great work experience though the management needs work and have to be trained in people skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Bus driver (Former Employee), Toronto, ONApril 9, 2013
very challenging job, meeting new people, learning new routes etc.

July 8, 2013

could you give me some tips on how to get the job

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toronto Transit Commission -1900 Yonge st
Desktop Support Specialist (Former Employee), TorontoApril 1, 2013
Good place to work. I love to work for this company. Co-Workers are so helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day at TTC
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 4, 2013
At TTC, Desktop Team is Friendly and Easier to work with them.
Staff are great. More Friendly. I enjoed working for TTC. My co-workers are more friendly and easy going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Recruitment Assistant (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: great hr dept
• Contributed to the goals and objectives of the TTC by providing support to the HR department; assisting in the recruitment and employee promotion process
• Updated the HRIS system with applicant & employee information, including entering information from applicant resumes; also tracked applicants and retrieved relevant details from the HRIS
• Participated – more... in Panel Interviews thereby contributing to the assessment of applicants and their skills, experiences and suitability of working within the culture of the TTC – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well paid, downside is management
Transit Operator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 9, 2013
A good place to work, a lot of nice people there. A lot of opportunities to work in many different departments and drive many types of vehicles.

February 20, 2013

Hi, What do you mean by the management is a downside? I received a letter to attend a session to become a TTC operator... how are you liking it so far? And is management that bad? Thanks alot for your input..

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but hours, obligatory nightshift interupted healthy lifestyle
Garage Operator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 11, 2012
Pros: great productive, respectful, natural environment. good lenthy break periods
Cons: obligatory sunset shiftwork
Typical day busy, productive, but not pressured to push to exertion. Learned basic automobile regulative maintenance skills. Strategic systematic procedures to complete tasks for multiple vehicles given by management. Great co-workers. Difficult task of shampooing bus seats in sweltering heat temperatures. Great outside work in the fresh air.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but hours, obligatory nightshift interupted healthy lifestyle
Garage Operator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 11, 2012
Pros: great productive, respectful, natural environment. good lenthy break periods
Cons: obligatory sunset shiftwork
Typical day busy, productive, but not pressured to push to exertion. Learned basic automobile regulative maintenance skills. Systematic strategic procedures to complete tasks for multiple vehicles given by management. Great co-workers. Difficult task of shampooing bus seats in sweltering heat temperatures. Great outside work in the fresh air.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company - Great people
Technical Illustrator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 10, 2012
Pros: friendly people, productive team orientated environment
Cons: hardware and work environment is outdated
The Toronto Transit Commission is an excellent company to work for, the people and work environment is friendly and productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great cowokers
streetcar op (Current Employee), torontoSeptember 24, 2012
dealing with public is very hard at times but the great ones make the day better
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, good people to work with
operator, bus and subway (Former Employee), Toronto, OntarioSeptember 23, 2012
Pros: pension, benefits
Cons: working stat. holidays at times.
I enjoyed interacting with people. My co-workers were professional and many became close personal friends. Management set a base for high morale and was always there when you needed them.
The hardest part of the job was collecting fares from people who did not want to pay or you were given a bad transfer and you were required to deal with the situation – more... in a professional manner.
I enjoyed driving and talking to people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but no time for recreational activities. It's all night job
Revenue Collector (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: no comment
Cons: job related injuries is rampant
The Commission is too politicized but management tries had enough to ensure a better working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Opportunities; Great Program; Good for Toronto
Manager - Contract Administration (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: a huge, major program with many dimensions and depth
Cons: political and staffing uncertainties
As a senior executive, there has been ample opportunity to add value to project processes and program issues, including program-wide purchasing and product strategies, cross-department networking, and multicontract coordination. The Transit Expansion Program has been a fantastic experience in multibillion dollar infrastructure and mass transit planning – more... and construction. By having two roles, gained significant experience in procurement, contract administration, project management and contracts management for a major program. Staff were fantastic to work with and my collaborative management style suited them well. The most enjoyable part of the job was getting involved in solution finding and helping teams find answers through forecasting and risk management; the hardest part of the job was working with sometimes conflicting signals from key stakeholders, with major impacts regarding organizational structures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TTC Job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 27, 2012
Pros: high pay
Cons: management
The TTC was incredibly unorganized and had very poor managers. Unfortunately all people working would be criticized when one person did a bad job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safe place to work
Summer Student (Current Employee), MalvernJuly 22, 2012
Pros: no rush on the job.
Cons: no cons.
A very great environment where everyone is treated equally.

About Toronto Transit Commission

The Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) is a public transport agency that operates transit bus, streetcar, and rapid transit services – Read more

Toronto Transit Commission Photos