Toronto Transit Commission Employee Reviews

Found 152 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto19 June 2017
This job was through an agency so it is not a review of the TTC. However it was a physically and mentally difficult job. You are expected to do this job through the winter (standing outside in -20 degree conditions). Briefing of rerouting of the transport systems are not done properly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and long hours
Coach Operator (Current Employee) –  City of Toronto, ON14 June 2017
All said good company . Good renumeration. Good retirement package.Management can be strict in transportation.Great advancement potential.Good benefits.
Pros
stable employment
Cons
long hours work weekemds
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work overall
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Danforth Station, ON1 June 2017
Good wages and benefits, good pension plan. Not too much room for advancement. Long hours with split shifts. Traffic is a headache in Toronto. Good job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Senior QA Analist (Consultant) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 May 2017
Had the opportunity to work with many different internal and external organizations. Learned a lot about public transit operations and Accessibility considerations. Unpredictable schedule at times due to the nature of the project.
Pros
Interesting Projects
Cons
Work schedule - due to nature of the project
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never boring
Subway Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 May 2017
you get to know and predict human behavior in its many forms, you learn that keeping calm is essential to making good and safe divisive decisions, you learn to respect your job!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great organization to work for
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2017
Excellent CEO. Excellent Training. Excellent co-workers. Great benefits. Stressful but you get paid what you're worth. Gained exceptional skill sets that are transferable to any other job. Management is fair and productive.
Pros
People, pay and benefits
Cons
If you wish to earn great pay you need to put in the work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Team Lead Customer Service Representative (C.S.R.) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 April 2017
Being a front line employee, it is all about customer service. You are responsible for the safety of others by following proper procedure, lost customer will look up to you for guidance.
Pros
Free lunches.
Cons
Long Hours, Various Shifts, Working anywhere in the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Statistics Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 April 2017
Clock in. Do your job. Go home.

Secure job. Great people. High pay compared to private sector. A lot of vacation time as you progress. Some coworkers are petty and try to run the show but if you can deal with them you'll find there are very few better places to work.

Amazing pension. Probably one of the best in the country.

Only cons is that the work isn't very meaningful. You're just a cog in the system.
Pros
Hours. Work Life Balance. Pension. Free TTC.
Cons
No bonus unless you're really high up. Coworkers can be annoying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structured
Consultant (Contract) (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2017
Company is very structured, lots of processes as would be expected from a government company.
All in all good environment to work in, very nice people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved driving the bus...I miss it terribly.
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Queensway division TTC31 March 2017
My experience with the ttc was amazing even though it made my personal life difficult....it was worth it. I loved having the flexibility to work when I could. I loved the responsibility and the aknowledgement I recieved from people when I proudly told them I was a TTC operator. I loved servicing the public and meeting all kinds of people no matter what their situation was. I enjoy people and picking their brains to find out more about other experiences and ideas in life.
Pros
pay...benefits
Cons
working holidays, weekends, nights. I missed raising my babies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ttc
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2017
Difficult hours
ESA often
Lack of understanding of personal issues
Every situation must be escalated in order to get results
Good pay Good benefits
Terrible staff and management( very old systems)
Good with events for employees to keep them interactive such as bbqs, awards, etc.
Pros
free transportation
Cons
lack of sleep, 12 hour shifts with 4 hour splits unpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work culture and chances of growth
Subway Vehicle Technician Trainee (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 March 2017
One of the best Canadian Employers. Excellent benefits and growth opportunities. Paid education. Unionized environment and high level of job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Co-op Program (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 March 2017
the workplace culture is very welcoming. there is always people to talk with and the company makes you feel safe. everyday was enjoyable because you almost never do the same thing twice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming workplace
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2017
The TTC and staff are friendly accommodating and helpful. Work environment is welcoming and fosters good work quality and lasting relationships.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Management
Administrative Assistant(Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 February 2017
It was a great experience . I have learned about office administration . All the workers are friendly and helpful. There is no hardest part of the job. I enjoyed well while I was working in TTC.
Pros
Happy work environment
Cons
Noisy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job
Station Collector (Current Employee) –  Subway20 February 2017
I learned a lot at this job. How to have patience, how to deal appropriately to people who are confrontational. I was taught quite a bit about the human rights code and how it applies to customers, staff and management alike.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going. get your job done.
Millwright Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2017
You had daily tasks that would be assigned to you and you just complete your tasks. Good helpful management. The co workers were awesome most of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, team players, great people to work for
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Track and structure22 January 2017
Very well managed company, always safety first, everyone is a team player, we all worked well together, great supervisors, everyone looks out for everyone
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Lots of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Big Company, Great benefits
ITS\ (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 January 2017
Everything about the company is great, except the fact that it is a big company.
And as same as all big companies, it has a lot of hierarchy issues, including redundancy of work, or changes of work plans/projects, etc.

Although there are too many opinions to finish a task at times, it is great to see everyone's voice being heard, and something being done about it.
Pros
Great salary, work life balance
Cons
Hierarchy
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical work environment
workcar operator (Former Employee) –  wilson garage19 January 2017
its open 24 hours a day so there are many shifts, recently more nights and splits shifts are been offered. i went to work and got my work done on time daily and got home safe after words
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toronto Transit Commission. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 180 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

Toronto Transit Commission Reviews by Location