TORONTO STAR Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked freelance
Feature Film Writer (Current Employee) –  Star, AB9 January 2018
great editors, always willing to listen to pitches and work with writer. Pay is not great and as the need for freelancers diminishes, so does the rate.
Pros
Great editors who are easy to work with.
Cons
Low rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
door to door sales was the worst
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 January 2018
treated very disrespectfully and in very bad weather conditions too. the managers were very rude and nosy and commission based pay was the worst. wasnt very secure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Newspaper Delivery Person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 September 2017
Very easy fun job got to roll up newspapers and deliver them to old age homes which was fpbery fun for me and my family I had an aming time working here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice fancy office
Door-to-door Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 August 2017
there isn't really much to say. it was mostly an outdoor job since it was a door-to-door sales but the managers were really younge so that was good because every coworker were mostly teenagers.
Pros
1h lunch
Cons
long hours under hot sun and humid rain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large lunchroom with affordable meals.
Newspaper inserter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 July 2017
A typical day, was inserting brochures into newspapers. Learned how to insert papers. Management was friendly. The hardest part was inserting papers quickly into stacks and placing them on the bin.
The most enjoyable part was plastic wrapping the bin.
Pros
Affordable meals
Cons
Long distance to drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Newspaper Delivery (Former Employee) –  Yonge, ON26 June 2017
Meet New People I Learned How to talk to people better My typical day at work would be me being picked up by my boss going door to door dropping off my newspaper
Pros
free rides
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoyable
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 June 2017
EVEN tho I was very good at my job I did not like the way we were treated because of the company we worked for and left very early. this was mot a pleasant experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
insert operator (Former Employee) –  Peel, ON3 June 2017
routine work, tight schedule and long hour working. Machine downtime is high and require more overtime working. Preparation work is not carried out smoothly so paper running out very often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it
Sales representative (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 May 2017
did not enjoy this job at all. everything was commission based. too much walking outside. were not getting paid as much as we should've. warm days are okay cold days were the worst.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Time
Door to Door Sales (Former Employee) –  Star, AB9 May 2017
The friends i made during this job i am still friends with, so much fun and I'm very outgoing and have no problem talking to people so doing door to door sales was a very successful job for me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place but really hard to reach goals
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 May 2017
because the job was a commission based, and the fact that we were going door to door selling news papers, it was really hard to make sales and some days we would work all day without making a dime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, Rewarding working environment with a lot to learn
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 April 2017
A great job to improve the way you communicate and persuade people. It gave me a platform to improve a lot of my communication skills at a very early age. The hardest part of the job was to convince others that Toronto Star is the best product out there and persuade them to subscribe it.
Pros
Free Snacks
Cons
A lot of talking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so great place on personal experience
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON17 April 2017
Work at this job for 8 years. Monday-Saturday. Everything was fine till the current management quit. and new hands took over. 3 different times. Money ws either not getting payed on time. or workers were not getting paid at all.
Pros
Holiday cards, And Monetary Tips
Cons
Wasnt getting paid full amount on pay cheacks, sometimes wouldnt get paid at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work when it was open
Pressroom Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON28 March 2017
Plant closed - work was contracted out.
Company paid well and treated employees good. A lot of time off - very generous with vacation time. Good management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Delivery Person. (Former Employee) –  Star, AB6 March 2017
I loved this job because you are always on the move, i would work with my mom and she loved it because we got to interact with the people we were delivering to so its a great environment of work to be in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great exercise and great way to make money
Door to Door Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 February 2017
the job allowed breaks at any time, however, it was based on commission which meant it was very important to generate sales in a short period of time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commision based pay
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, ON28 January 2017
Door-to-door sales can be difficult, especially in winter when it is cold and at evening hours. It was commission based so every sale you had to try in order to get a good pay check.
Pros
Incentives
Cons
Door-to-door sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Door to door sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 January 2017
-Ribo is required
-Call center environment
- Sales driven environment
- C.E.I is what they look for.
- Driven people will be a successes
- Great benifits
-Wont be disspointed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and tedious
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON13 December 2016
Large stacks of newspapers are delivered twice a week for you to organize, pack and deliver.
Extremely labour intensive for young teens
Wages decline the longer you work
Job consisted of delivering 60+ newspapers twice a week, hours put into the job reached up to 4 hours per week with a net pay of $30 for the month. The hourly wage is worked out to approximately $2 an hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Call Centre Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 November 2016
it can be a hard place to work if you don't like sales because you will spend your whole day making calls and getting people to sign up. so think carefully
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TORONTO STAR. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 106 reviews
524
429
333
210
110

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.4Culture