Toronto General Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toronto General Hospital.
Hemodialysis Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 September 2016
Toronto General was an inspiration through and through. My co-workers showed me the ins and outs of how to work professionally in a medical field setting.

The environment could be challenging at time, it requires a certain type of individual to work in such a place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and productive work environment
Research Intern (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 September 2016
Busy day throughout the week, everyday is a new experience. Everyday you get to learn something new. Great learning experience and enjoyable work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am very flexible and want to grow as person and professionally.
Personal Care Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 September 2016
One day at Sunnybrook as a Personal Support Worker, and there was this nurse who came to check the patient I was looking for. She checked his blood pressure and it was very low about 85/50 and she did not continue to investigate further, instead, she left. Before she left I asked her to put him back to his bed bad she told me that she will come back later. However, I know there is something abnormal with a patient, so when she left I did my own assessment such as capillary filling check and checking the color around his lips. His lips turned blue and he started to sweat. I called the call bell and yelled for help. They came and the patient started to desaturate but they did quick help like giving oxygen and IV bolus. If I was not there the patient might have died. So I learned that nurses' negligence can cost lives. Speaking about enjoyable part of a job is when the employee works with great harmony and love. No tension among each other, support each other as family. The hard part of a job is when there is a coworker who does not come on time, not complete his or her job, and uncooperative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Clinical Fellow Program
Clinical Fellow Cardiac Surgeon (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 July 2016
One of the top Cardiac and Thoracic Surgery in the world. Nothing to add.
Plenty of opportunities to work and learn. The hardest is the amount of in house calls. Average 7/month.
Pros
Overwhelming learning environment and great place to work
Cons
Not permanent positions available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2016
My day can change on the fly depending on what is required and timelines. My job allows me to utilize my skills while making a valuable contribution to the department. I am able to work supportively within a team or independently and communicate with all levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer experience
Volunteer Medical Office Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 December 2015
I was here for my praticum. Amazing easy going, professional work place. Everyone seemed very happy to work there. I only stayed there for a few weeks but had an all around positive impression
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteered here
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 November 2015
Was a good learning experience! Loved volunteering here. The staff are amazing and I would definitely do it again this summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Constantly helping others
Linen Porter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 September 2015
The most enjoyable part of my job would definitely be seeing how much help is offered to those who are ill. Management was great always communicating well with employers. The hardest part of this job would definitely have to be seeing many ill people within the hospital.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
UHN Staff CD (Current Employee) –  Medical Unit25 August 2015
In a typical day, I have learned to manage my time wisely while working with co-workers and Clients. The hardest part of the job is undertaking multiple tasks on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part of the job is to have scheduled Team Meetings and Pot Luck once a month.
Pros
Free yearly BBQ
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect place to gain experiences
Advanced Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 August 2014
Practicum in TGH is the best learning experiences in my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a fun place to work.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 May 2014
it's a fun place to work.
I enjoyed working with children and children enjoy having fun with me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UHN
Research Assistant - Literature research (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2014
Great working environment at UHN. Lots of work, lots of learning, lots of fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Resources Graduate Looking for an entry level position.
HR Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto,ON10 November 2013
• Administrative duties (answering telephone and responding to voicemail)
• Organized incoming mail for various departments according to mailboxes
• Sent emails to all candidates about the applying procedures
• Assisted employees in various departments
• Oversaw internal job postings and distribution in accordance with various departments
• Prepared and organized orientation paperwork for the new employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great opportunity to have a work exposure on big hospital facilities under the UHN
Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 September 2013
I either work as a PCA floor duty or as a sitter, so everyday is different, depending on the area and client assigned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in a way of helping the staff with thier workload
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2013
I'm assigned at Pathology/Cytology Department front office. My day usually start with sorting and filing patients forms; helping the staff for whatever is needed; unpacking the mail which contain surgical and cytology slides from different healthcare facilities; and then packing surgical and cytology slides to send to other healthcare facilities.
I like working with the people around here, they are helpful which give me more opportunity to learn and be more productive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a team worker with professional researchers.
Clinical research coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 September 2013
Iam working in a team group and I am enjoying to work with them.
Being a Team worker is one of my interest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My co-workers are nice and friendly...
Administrative Support - Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 June 2013
I particularly enjoy this job, and the challenges that go along with it, is the opportunity to connect with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly employees who show dedication to patient care.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 June 2013
Great hospital to work at, friendly and welcoming environment.
Learned about different patients, how the clinics are operated.
Phoned patients and kept up with their charts. organized doctors schedule. Transcribe doctors notes.
Pros
Rewarding job
Cons
Very busy days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MIXED UP REVIEWS,,, PREVIOS ONE WAS MEANT FOR TGH NOT HSC
Registered NICU / SCBU Nurse (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 October 2012
It was ok.. not much to learn at TGH at the time, IT HAS BEEN A WHILE AND and there is really not much to say
Pros
small unit
Cons
no challenge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Support
Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 September 2012
Responsible for assisting the administrative department of the hospital by performing clerical jobs.

Learned that besides the patient and doctor aspect of the hospital the administrative department is just as crucial to the successful operation of each different areas of the hospital.

The hardest part of the job is the constant flow of paperwork and making sure it is done accuraetly and by the deadline. I enjoyed the constant workload and interactions with different department heads.
Pros
managing the flow of visitors coming to the hospital and directing them to the appropriate room.
Cons
long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.2
Culture
4.2

Toronto General Hospital Reviews by Location