Toronto District School Board Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Camp Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 September 2017
I liked working there , I love new working experiences . It gave me a great family atmosphere. Other employees were helpful. I'd go back in a heart beat !
Pros
Manager was really nice to work with
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful experience
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 September 2017
Working with these organization was amazing, I had to move on from them because I went back to school and then I moved a way from these areas. I am hoping to get back in these work experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
LINC Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 September 2017
Well organised, supportive place to work. Management, usually, open to criticism. Co workers were all professional, and I enjoyed working here very much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience.
High School Teacher (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON5 September 2017
I have worked over 35 years for this board . I have seen a lot of new implimentations that did not really make the job better. I see the administrators that lead the school can make or break the school. More care should be given in hiring administrators for schools. They should be a good fit for the particular community that the school is in.
Pros
Interacting with many people
Cons
A lot of unpaid hours are involved
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 September 2017
Being a teachers assistant was very eye opening on becoming a teacher. Its alot harder then what people think there is a tremendous amount of hours that need to be put in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding management
Administrative Clerk-Purchasing & Facilities (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 August 2017
Some dead weight - easy going atmosphere; stagnant employees that have been there a long time pass expiry date, Good compensation for the work, not stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Camp Leader (Former Employee) –  North York, ON30 August 2017
Great company, I would recommend for anyone who's interested in working with kids and loves a company who cares about its employees. Great benefits and company culture is top notch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sr. Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 August 2017
Great place to work.
Management team is always willing to help.
Training and advancement opportunities are abundant.
Organization culture is the best!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Lunchroom Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 August 2017
I enjoy working with kids and the teachers

Its just not enough Hours and Not enough pay

Its wonderful to be working with the Toronto Dirstric school board
and all different ages of children
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance bad
Core French Junior/Intermediate Teacher (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 August 2017
Very hard, depending, on where you are located, to strike a life work balance. It is gruelling. There also seems to be a competition over how much of your health you are willing to sacrifice for your students. The more you are willing to teach through that pneumonia you have, the better teacher you are. Totally backwards thinking.
Pros
Get to do something different everyday, it is rewarding and a challenge
Cons
Long hours, lots of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Safe and Encouraging working Environment
Safety Monitor (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 August 2017
TDSB welcomes their employees with open arms to allow them the comfort they need in order to perform their roles. Every school has a safe working environment as each and every employee respects one another.
Pros
Day time work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of job security. working as a temporary employee for 3 yearsNo benefit for replacement staff. Overall the company has a good retirement fund.
Registered Early Childhood Educator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 July 2017
Fun workplace to work.Lots of learning opportunities. Learned to teach Inquiry based learning. Supportive staff.Salary okay, more hours needed. Hard to get hired as a full time staff.Hired for lower position even you have high qualifications, fairness must prevail.
Pros
Free snacks for kids
Cons
Short hours to make a living. Hard to get full time position.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hit and miss
Child and Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 July 2017
all depends on who you work with
hard to get perm
issues with job stability, can be bumped or moved around alot
the pay is pretty good, better then some other boards in the area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
School Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 July 2017
The Chief Social Worker was great to work with. Overall, the Principals were also very good to work with. The teachers cared about their students too.
Pros
Good work life balance
Cons
Not that much chance to work with colleagues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging Environment for passionate teachers
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 July 2017
Being a teachers is a great opportunity to give back to your community and help guide the new generation.
It is a rewarding job that requires !a lot of patience and creativity.
It`s extremely rewarding
Pros
Rewarding, seeing growth and accomplishments
Cons
Marking :(
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a place where you can make a difference
Social Worker, and Guidance Councillors (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2017
Can be a great place to work depending on who you work for. Has many great people who care and have a passion to help the students. There are very little opportunities to grow if you are not in the teachers union but you still have an opportunity to make a difference in young lives.
Pros
hours, break, vacation
Cons
little opportunity to expand and grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard workplace to get used to but becomes easy when work is being done
Summer Student Caretaking (Former Employee) –  North York, ON20 July 2017
Management in regards to supervisors are all over the place , extremely disorganised and chaotic. Work is extremely tough and takes a really strong person to adapt to it. Luckily the regular caretakers are easy on students but they expect a whole lot from you. The pay is over minimum wage is which an upside but for the amount of work being done it seems to me as if its a low rate of pay. Other that that, fixed hours are great you could enjoy as much time out after 3:30pm and weekends are off which you can't find at most summer jobs. All in all great experience
Pros
Fixed Hours, Free weekends
Cons
Management, Supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Basketball Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 July 2017
It was always great to work with the Middle school children. Teaching the kids the fundamentals of basketball was a great experience. It was always something to look forward too knowing I was getting to teach something that I love.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Developmentally Delayed Student Teacher (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 July 2017
i was only a student here, but the teachers i was put under were extremely helpful and friendly. summers off would be a great benefit. you feel some accomplishment knowing you are shaping the minds of the kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job. Miss it.
Student Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 July 2017
I was working as a Student caretaker for most of my high school career. It was a great job even for adults. Friendly co-workers and boss's and you had weekends off.
Pros
2 breaks and a lunch
Cons
Winter Clean up can get a little tricky.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toronto District School Board. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 146 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.9
Culture
4.0

Toronto District School Board Reviews by Location