Tony Roma's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible but fun
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB12 January 2018
Terrible management but hey you cant always get that... Was feeling under paid with tip out all the time being a server, seniority would pick when they'd want to work over anyone else and they get holidays before anyone. not saying that's wrong but "seniority" shouldn't be working a shift a week when some are working 30-45 hr. Not very busy ever so days went by slow... thank god for hourly.
Pros
free food
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid entry level work
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 January 2018
A good job for those looking for a first job with good hours and good work life balance for students. Very few cons but the work shifts are long at about 7-8 hours on a Saturday
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Host/Server/Bartender/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 January 2018
Typical work day come into work open and serve customers that come into the restaurant. I've learned a lot with communicating with people. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with fun, hard working coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB29 October 2017
Needed more hours to help pay for bills very fun place to work miss it but not enough hours great people to work with miss it they treated u like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment.
Server (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 October 2017
Great people and great food.
Learned the whole menu.
Most enjoyable part of the job is the people I work with.
Hardest part of the job is that customers can sometimes be rude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, hard work
Prep/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 September 2017
Just about everyone there is enjoyable to work with. The kitchen manager is bit hard headed, but she gets things done.
I learned a lot and advanced quickly here
Definitely one of my hardest jobs, but it's also where I excelled the most.
Pros
Free meal
Cons
Intense work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2017
I had the best time working here. Friendly staff, free meals, flexible with availabilities. Loved working here. One of the only kitchen jobs that lets you have a break.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, high stress while being a fun environment
Assistant Food and Beverage Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC25 July 2017
This location is no longer open but at the time it was a great place to work, even with having the many responsibilities and long work hours as management. At times it can be a very fast paced and highly stressful environment as can any food service job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers areamazing, atmosphere is generally fun
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK9 July 2017
The people who work at Tony Roma's are incredible, the management is lacking. Typically slower paced, you will experience a variety of situations here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Breakfast Cook (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON15 June 2017
got to learn a lot. good people to work for. a very flexible schedule with another job. good management and employees. free parking was offered on a weekly basis.
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time with flexible hours
Hostess/ Expo/Bartender/ Server (Current Employee) –  London, ON15 June 2017
The mangers were very helpful with getting more hours or allowing some time off for personal reasons. Room for advancement and growth. Many jobs available throughout the restaraunt. Excellent experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with, good atmosphere.
Front of house manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 June 2017
On a typical work day I would be working 10-13 hours a day 5-6 days a week. I've learned how to work though other to get the job done. hardest part of the job was working though other to get the job done, but at the same time, to be honest I liked it.
Pros
pros, free meals and drinks(pop)
Cons
cons, works very long hours, and 5-6 days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Staff and Flexible Hours
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2017
So far my experience at Tony Roma's has been amazing. The staff is friendly, and I can get pretty much any day that I want off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interesting
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 February 2017
A typical work day as a hostess was seating people in section rotation and taking take out orders. There was a bit of light cleaning to be done daily. Management wasn't the greatest, the managers didn't seem to be on the same page all the time and things that mattered to one manager, didn't matter to another. My favorite part of the job was interacting with the guests and with fellow co-workers. The hardest part about the job was learning the computer and putting together take out orders because there was so much to remember.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tony Romas
Server (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON31 January 2017
Great staff, comfortable environment, let us expand our skills and practice more, they teach about teamwork and what it means to be apart of a team, typical day we clean and tend to our guests.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
No flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB21 December 2016
was a challenging and different job that I started, was exciting and pewrfect for someone who doesn't have kids, I really learned a lot of customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace tourism restuarant
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON16 November 2016
continuous day in and day out fast pace environment with little to no organization wanted experienced staff but did not take there experience into not when better tactics were provided.
Pros
free lunch and fast paced
Cons
long hours no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job taught me alot about organization
manager/Line cook (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 October 2016
in this job I did the food orders, and occasional pick ups, I helped with delivery, food prep, and was anywhere I needed to be. the kitchen staff worked long hours and helped produce good food. the hardest part of the job was lack of communication between the cooks and the front of house
Pros
the salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB15 September 2016
Good place to work, very accommodating to my personal needs.
Did prep and worked on the line. Management was exceptional. Very busy at lunch and supper meals. Going to work everyday was enjoyable.
Pros
Free meal per shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work for
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB10 August 2016
love learning every items on the menu
love the people I work with
Manager was awesome to talk to and very understanding with days needed off
hard worker
Pros
$11 lunch specials
Cons
Fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tony Roma's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 155 reviews
562
451
328
28
16

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture