Find companies:
Tommy Bahama
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
65 reviews

Tommy Bahama Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and entertaining
Shop Visual Merchandiser/Customer Service (Former Employee), Dubai, DUNovember 28, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: muti task
customer service, learned leadership supportive multinational colleagues , long hours, dealing with different people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the company
Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), marylandNovember 18, 2014
Pros: free clothes, pay, people
Cons: none i can think of
I love working for Tommy Bahama, the brand is unlike any I have seen before. The atmosphere is great the people I work with is great. The work load is never too much, Over all great company to work for. A typical day at work is pretty slow especially on a week day depending on your location. The company motto says it all " make life one long weekend" – more... it`s a pretty relax job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, uplifting environment
Seasonal Sales Associate (Current Employee), Woodburn, ORNovember 3, 2014
Pros: as an employee i got 50% off all clothes and 40% off all accessories, amazing people to work with
Cons: no benefits since it's part time/seasonal, not very much space in the backroom, very expensive clothes even on discount
Tommy Bahama is full of team members who really want to be there. Their goal is to sell a vacation to you through their products. A typical day at work consists of constantly greeting customers which are guests here, performing duties that the supervisor needs us to do, and ringing up sales at the cash register. There is always someone organizing clothes – more... or helping someone with an answer to questions or concerns. I learned that it's possible to have fun while you work and that providing excellent customer service is the most important aspect of the job. Since I am a new employee, the hardest part is standing for a long period of time since I was used to sitting down while teaching piano lessons. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and relaxing environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZOctober 27, 2014
Pros: free clothes, healthcare
Cons: late shifts
Tommy Bahama is not your usual retail store we have great music, very friendly personalities, and loyal guests. I've really come out of my shell and learned how to really connect with the guests. I get a lot of support from my management. The toughest part of my job is inventory and early morning shifts. the most enjoyable part is interacting with my – more... most loyal clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well rounded workplace
Sales Associate/Stock Coordinator (Former Employee), Woodbridge, VAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: good hourly pay, great training
Cons: hours were sometimes small and traffic is sometimes slow
I definitely was able to move up in this job, and the training and growth was excellent. A typical day being part-time ranged from 3 to 8 hours, and was spent mostly with sales and communicating with guests in the store. I learned several retail tactics, as well as information on inventory and overall sales goals and store goals. My co-workers were – more... excellent. Friendly and willing to help when necessary. The hardest part of the job was trying to make sales when our traffic was slow. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to successfully close a sale and make our customers feel welcomed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Lead Floor Sales (Former Employee), Foley, ALOctober 14, 2014
Enjoyable clientele with very meager pay. Not to aspire to under certain management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet easy going.
Sales (Former Employee), Chandler, AZSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: discount on clothing
Cons: short breaks
Laidback. Gained communication skills. Friendly management and co-workers setting great environment. Hardest part was being restricted to certain areas when having to meet goal of sales. Customer interaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biweekly processing of payroll.
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 15, 2014
Multi state payroll processing. Learned about the restaurant and retail industry. Fun company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Team Leader (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: good experience
Cons: too much work
good learning experience. you learn how to overall be professional answer phone calls and handle paper work. which are key skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Associate (Current Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 3, 2014
Cons: full time employees are not guaranteed 40 hours
Helping customer and working the registers. answering phones and taking care of customer requests. putting away merchandise. those are just some of the things i have to do in a typical day. the hardest part of my job i would say is probably the hours i have to work, they are never the same and the store closes late.
Co-workers are great here, and that – more... makes work really enjoyable. I really enjoy meeting new people and building friendships with the clients i have in the store. In working this job i have learned merchandising and visual floor standards. i am also safety captain here so in turn i am working with one of the floor managers and distribute the safety meetings every month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my first job, my favorite family
Seasonal Stock coordinator (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 24, 2014
this wasn't just my fist job. this was an amazing opportunity. fun, fast pace and inviting environment where everyone's willing to help and set you up with the skills that you need to grow and flourish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not as RELAXED as you think ..
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sunrise,FLJuly 10, 2014
Pros: customers first, sales, employees
Cons: management, hours, pay
This company is not a company that i would recommend any one to work for that wants to be treated with respect and fairly. Management is extremely poor all they do is stand around and gossip while the employees are busting their butt's for sales. You don't work off commission but you are required to make sales everyday with a high sales every month. – more... The hours are not good and never guaranteed because when the store does not have sales the season is slow because the clothing is ridiculously expensive.

However, the employees you work with are friendly and welcoming. It's an easy job if you mainly make assisting your customers and checking on them your task, which will help also increase your sales. Overall my favorite part of working is when our store use to have mini party's and bring bands to play Caribbean music outside the store and food for customers and employees.

Good luck with trying to find parking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environment
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJuly 9, 2014
Really enjoy the culture of the company. Products are easy to sell because of their high quality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Temp/Tier 1 Guest Services Representative (Former Employee), Federal Way, WAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: fun atmosphere, learning/kowledge classes, good skills.
Cons: management team, lacking in compassion & caring.
Lots of great training given to ensure that you are a great worker staying on task and evolving in the business. However, the management team is not much of a team, and they don't work well together, which puts the entire business at risk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stock Coordinator (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 29, 2014
Pros: great compensation
Cons: growth
Good monthly bonuses and incentive per month if goals are met. Decent volume and traffic sometimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tommy Bahamas' Training and Development department.
Service Center Trainer (Former Employee), Federal Way WashingtonMay 23, 2014
Pros: hours, company outings, dynamic environment.
Cons: compensation, internal chaos
My employment with Tommy Bahama was ever changing and one day might consist of me delivering, designing or creating training material. I also designing and maintained an internal data base, which housed company policies and procedures. I enjoyed the work culture, however being that the department was in it's infant stages, we often faced an internal – more... struggle while determining the best corse of action.

I enjoyed providing my thoughts and feedback as we worked diligently to establish and maintain a dynamic work culture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YIKES get me out of here
sales (Current Employee), floridaMay 14, 2014
Pros: easy dress code
Cons: everything else
What a special place this used to be to work and shop. With new guy from Abercrombie, it's like working for A&F. Surprised they don't ask for a photo when you apply for a job like they do at AF. You can be hired at AF with NO EXPERIENCE as a manager and getting promoted at TB is pretty much like that now. Due to the lack of leadership experience required – more... and apathy at store level, there are now lots of checklists to keep everyone on track. But if you just sign off, no one really cares if you did anything or not. The teams in field are all looking for new jobs. Shame on CEO for letting this guy run amok on the culture and tarnish TB history. What was his experience that led you to believe he was a valid replacement for our former president? You have exceptional taste and experience from a product standpoint, but good hiring decisions are just as critical and so far, YIKES! Hours are getting cut, not enough people to do all the work, guests are upset, more YIKES! The founders long sold out, but if they knew how company was being run, they would be heartbroken. Take a look at how many "likes" the reviews addressing the "elephant in the room" has vs all the other reviews in past 2 years. These represent agreement from team members who have to work within this fake AF-like environment every day. I heard the store managers were asked to submit positive reviews on Glassdoor in February and everyone did it because they feared IT would trace who did it and who didn't. Integrity? Authentic to our heritage? Maybe not so much. If you are young and photogenic you have a bright future with TB so go for it! You will probably be promoted to a position that never even got posted! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and good benefits
Sales Associate/Stock (Current Employee), Orlando, FLMay 8, 2014
Customers are a top priority and we try to accommodate every guest as much as possible. We have wonderful promotions and discounts daily. All of our guests love the company and the brand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Quality Clothing
Sale Associate (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLApril 29, 2014
Pros: love meeting people
Cons: lack of hours
enjoyable part meeting new people

discount on clothing

coworkers are friendly

hardest part about work balancing fitting room with ringing up costumers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 2, 2014
Pros: advancement, free lunches
Cons: low pay
Working with cellpoint was good when it came to being flexible but compensation they were really cheap. They decided to let me run my own kiosk but hourly wage was a raise of .25, that is not manager type pay

1 2 3 4

About Tommy Bahama

About Tommy Bahama Tommy Bahama is part of Tommy Bahama Group, Inc, a wholly owned subsidiary of Oxford Industries, Inc. (NYSE:OXM). – Read more