Find companies:
Timken
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
97 reviews

Timken Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Timken Company
Global Organic Growth Project Manager (Current Employee), Canton, OHFebruary 2, 2014
Since 1899, leading global manufacturer of highly engineered bearings, alloy steels, and related components and assemblies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive machine operator/assembler/tow motor operator
Senior Process Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Altavista, VAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: took breaks at your convenience as long as you had coverage
Cons: not enough training time for different levels of machinery
I worked in a team environment with little supervision. you were expected to be a multitask employee and you were the maintenance employee. Good insurance policies and 401k benefits. The company had incorporated the 5S program also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Pace
Team Leader (Current Employee), Rutherfordton, NCJanuary 17, 2014
I enjoy the pace and the challenge my position offers. The hardest part of my job is there aren't enough hours to do all that needs to be done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, wonderful employers and co-workers
Medical Assembler (Former Employee), Greenfield, MAJanuary 12, 2014
Managed art supplies and copy center.
Billing
Bookkeeping
Claims Collection
Inventory control
Learned how to maintain proper level of inventory and how to handle hard to please customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service agent
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Sanford, FLDecember 17, 2013
Pros: excellent health benefits and paid time off
Cons: low paying
professional environment
excellent on the job training
Great team work atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old-style manufacturing company
Engineer (Current Employee), North Canton, OHDecember 13, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: like all large companies, the experience can vary a lot
A great old-style manufacturing company with good opportunities and reasonably relaxed atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Runner (Former Employee), Forest City, NCDecember 3, 2013
Typical day at work would have been keeping track of job order movements and delivery of tooling and jobs to each machine in order of the work order. I learned some CNC and how to read work orders for a machine shop. My co-workers were the best part of working there, they were like one giant family! The hardest part of my job was keeping up with tag – more... placements on the work order board. The most enjoyable part of my job was my interaction with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Packer/Inspector (Former Employee), Duncan, SCNovember 19, 2013
Pros: excellent staff
Cons: breaks seemed to be too short.
The best part of the job was that we all worked in a close knit area and we all got along great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to grasp workplace
receiving (Former Employee), duncan, s.c.November 7, 2013
management was good, the work varied sometimes. it was good to know multible departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Timken has been a challenging company to work for with better than average benefits.
Manufacturing Analyst - Engineering Group (Current Employee), Randleman, NCOctober 28, 2013
Pros: steady work, healthcare benefits, matching 401k
Cons: overloaded employees
A down economy has everyone focused on controlling cost and generating revenue. A typical day at the plant would begin by reviewing specific process issues that may have popped up overnight which may have slowed or hindering production flow through the plant. After putting together a plan to address the fires, I would precede working on my assigned – more... engineering projects. There are only four of us in the engineering group and we try to support all areas of the plant. Seems there is always a problem with a process or a person needing help and never enough time in the day. The hardest part of my job is finding enough time to help everyone. My personality is to never leave someone in need of help when they have truly exhausted all avenues. Management has generally been supportive, we all are seeing the effects of over burdening. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing a project complete working as planned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company in Canton, Ohio to work.
Senior Secretary (Former Employee), Canton, OHOctober 23, 2013
Pros: great salary and benefits
Cons: at the time i worked there, there were no part-time positions.
I believe The Timken Company is the best place to work in Canton, Ohio. Worked there for 10 years before my children were born. Great atmosphere, great salary and benefits. The hardest part of the job was being able to be the BEST employee that I could be, while being the BEST Mother I could be. I decided I didn't want to try to juggle both. I decided – more... I had to choose. Left to be a full-time Mother and own my own business along with my husband. My children are grown now and I can devote all my attention to my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and stimulating
Truck Scale Operator and Receiving Processor (Current Employee), Canton, OHOctober 17, 2013
Pros: never boring
Cons: no job security, fluctuates with market
This job has been fantastic.Everyday is a bit different and there are new challenges. Training is a bit sparse learn as you go. Folks are friendly and helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant is downsizing
Plant Controller & Supply Chain Manager (Current Employee), Altavista, VAOctober 17, 2013
Plant where I am currently employed is downsizing and I got caught up in the right sizing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad
Former worker (Former Employee), Eaton, OHOctober 8, 2013
Not a bad place to work, not the greatest either. Co workers were friendly for the most part. Management had their favorites. Company offered decent benefits and activities for the family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machine Operation
Senior Process Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Altavista, VAOctober 6, 2013
Not able to use my education that they paid for. Did not like that they paid for me to get a MBA and did not attempt to promote me. Promoted others instead
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Associate, Operations Development Program (Current Employee), Lincolnton, NCSeptember 17, 2013
good place to work, good co workers, hardest part of the job is not being able to work, not
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laborer
Laborer (Former Employee), Bucyrus, OHSeptember 10, 2013
Timken provided me with a job that offered competivive wages with a good benefit package. I was employed there for almost 10 years before the company had a mass layoff due to moving their distribution center to South Carolina.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Timken
Sr. Technical Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Canton, OHSeptember 9, 2013
I have learned many new and exciting concepts while working at Timken. Everything from general business practices to engineering comcepts, I feel they have done a good job with developing young employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bureaucratic
customer service (Former Employee), OhioSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: decent health insurance
Cons: treatment of employees
Quite a bureaucratic place when I was there. . Hard to get answers from management, talent not valued.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achive New targets
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Gurgaon, HRSeptember 2, 2013
o DG Set (40 KVA to 1250KVA).
o Cooling towers water pipe line, exhaust piping, sound proof (acoustic), Bulk storage tank (HSD) having capacity of 20 KL.
o Main LT/HT Panels.
o Transformers up to 1500 KVA.
o Designing of the pipe line layout & panel layout.

About Timken

The Timken Company keeps its bearings straight. The company makes bearings that find their way into products from consumer appliances to – Read more