Timken Employee Reviews

Showing all 167 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average factory job
Summer Help (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHAugust 19, 2015
I was only summer help for two seasons, but the pay and benefits were great. The work load was the same as any other factory
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Heat Treat Operator (Former Employee) –  Rutherfordton, NCAugust 14, 2015
This is an decent place to work, however expect to be a temp for a super long time and business did not look good when I left, 8 hour shifts are a plus though
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for. Advancement opportunities within company.
Shift Supervisor/ People Project Leader (Current Employee) –  Union, SCAugust 8, 2015
Timken is an overall great company to work for. They have competitive wages and good benefits such as medical, dental, 401k and tuition reimbursement. There are frequent opportunities for advancement.

Management tends to have knee jerk reactions to the slightest downturn in business, resulting in frequent lay offs.
Pros
great benefits, advancement opportunities, competitive salary
Cons
too dependant on outside buisness conditions, knee jerk reactions to downturns in outside buisness atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
CNC Machinist (Current Employee) –  Union, SCAugust 8, 2015
This was a good company to work for. They pay really well but lay off a good bit that is the down side. The people are very friendly. Management is ok.
Pros
pay
Cons
lay offs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job that pays very well
Mechanical Maintainer - Journeyman Card (Former Employee) –  Faircrest Steel PlantAugust 8, 2015
Retired after 30 years , hourly. union protects bad workers. I think if they could get rid of the free loaders it would be a great place to work.
Pros
pay
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, awareness, supportive, problem-solving, and trouble shooting
Senior Process Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VAAugust 7, 2015
Day shift begins at 6 a.m.
Meeting from 6 a.m. - 6:25 a.m.
6:30 a.m. pull quality checks to make machines are running properly.
House keeping, PMs ( preventative maintenance)
These steps are repeated all day until 2:30 p.m.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wages.
Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Randleman, NCJuly 17, 2015
Nice place to work as far as being challenging. Swing shift takes some getting used to. Plant manager is a gem; an awesome personable man.
Pros
6 days off
Cons
Boys club
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to bad of a job.
Assembly/Inspection/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Iron Station, NCJuly 16, 2015
First job I ever had out of high school. It was a hard job. A lot of lifting, pulling, and standing. Not for me. I learned how to assemble and inspect roller bearings and then went to machine operator. Here I learned to operate grinding machines.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everybody was treated like family
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Clinton, SCJuly 7, 2015
The job was very good nothing stressful, everybody did there job and got along with each other. Nothing was hard about the job I ran multi-machines and sometimes a manual. I really do miss that place.
Pros
Friendly and productive company until they closed
Cons
Great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff
Machine setter (Former Employee) –  Honea Path, SCJuly 5, 2015
Great place to work some of the best employees that I have worked with,I think they need to judge people by there performance.
Pros
employees
Cons
attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2

Want to know more about Timken?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
usr to be great place to work till cut backs put the wrong people in chsrge
repairmen (Current Employee) –  scJuly 1, 2015
megan is driving the Timken name in the ground and does not seem to really care. when asking her questions its the same old same old.shell get back to you.
Pros
discounts
Cons
high health care prices
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always an excitement to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Jamshedpur, JHJuly 1, 2015
world class manufacturing and culture is so nice that always empowers you to innovate & challenge the best to set the new benchmark
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Financial Analyst (Contingent) (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHJune 26, 2015
Worked an odd shift, work environment was great. Management was help full towards giving point of direction and answering questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Sylvania, GAJune 2, 2015
Great place to work for if you enjoy making money. Also great people to for and with. If i could i would work full time only there again
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ran very high tech machinery in a seven day operations
Senior Process Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Altavista, VAMay 28, 2015
very long process of training to learn jobs.. no supervision no maintenance with employees running production with high attention to detail of running equipment with safety first and quality at high alertness. noone over your back but alot of decision making on production floor being team based environment sharing jobs with co-workers.
Pros
small company with team based environment
Cons
excesssive overtime a must
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family oriented nor a stable work environment
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Iron Station, NCMay 21, 2015
Timken is not a stable workplace, not being able to know if you are going to be working 24 or 48 hours until Wednesday of the same week. Management does not follow up with issues that employees bring to their attention.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical steel mill environment.
Shipping Processor (Former Employee) –  Canton, OhioMay 16, 2015
I have worked here for 4 and a half years and have been laid off 4 times, two were extended periods of time. I enjoy working outside and most of my fellow employees.
Pros
Pay, benefits, departmental shift schedule (not typical)
Cons
poor management and volatile steel industry stability
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Trainer, Lean Leader (Current Employee) –  Randleman, NCApril 30, 2015
Good people, nice place to work. Quality is main. As long you give average production then nobody bothers you. 12 hours shift is long though
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Store Keeper/Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  NorthamptonApril 16, 2015
During this time, I was responsible for delivery of a variety of different oil grades to departments within the factory, by forklift truck. Having worked in this area for 22 years, I was required to have specialist knowledge of oil grades within the Engineering Industry. I was also responsible for the planning, checking and calculating of oil quantities, to ensure that stock levels remain at a constant level. This involved ensuring that accurate records were kept up to date and machine parts were issued in line with production. I was fully accredited with Achievement of ISO 9001- Oils.
Pros
Free parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
supervisor (Former Employee) –  Clinton, SCMarch 15, 2015
Enjoyed working there. Very organized and fair company. Good benefits. Relaxed but demanding environment. Loved the structure and standard work set up.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 167 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture