Find companies:
Timken
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
145 reviews

Timken Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Heat Treat Operator (Former Employee), Rutherfordton, NCAugust 14, 2015
This is an decent place to work, however expect to be a temp for a super long time and business did not look good when I left, 8 hour shifts are a plus though
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for. Advancement opportunities within company.
Shift Supervisor/ People Project Leader (Current Employee), Union, SCAugust 8, 2015
Pros: great benefits, advancement opportunities, competitive salary
Cons: too dependant on outside buisness conditions, knee jerk reactions to downturns in outside buisness atmosphere.
Timken is an overall great company to work for. They have competitive wages and good benefits such as medical, dental, 401k and tuition reimbursement. There are frequent opportunities for advancement.

Management tends to have knee jerk reactions to the slightest downturn in business, resulting in frequent lay offs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
CNC Machinist (Current Employee), Union, SCAugust 8, 2015
Pros: pay
Cons: lay offs
This was a good company to work for. They pay really well but lay off a good bit that is the down side. The people are very friendly. Management is ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job that pays very well
Mechanical Maintainer - Journeyman Card (Former Employee), Faircrest Steel PlantAugust 8, 2015
Pros: pay
Cons: shift work
Retired after 30 years , hourly. union protects bad workers. I think if they could get rid of the free loaders it would be a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, awareness, supportive, problem-solving, and trouble shooting
Senior Process Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Altavista, VAAugust 7, 2015
Day shift begins at 6 a.m.
Meeting from 6 a.m. - 6:25 a.m.
6:30 a.m. pull quality checks to make machines are running properly.
House keeping, PMs ( preventative maintenance)
These steps are repeated all day until 2:30 p.m.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wages.
Process Technician (Current Employee), Randleman, NCJuly 17, 2015
Pros: 6 days off
Cons: Boys club
Nice place to work as far as being challenging. Swing shift takes some getting used to. Plant manager is a gem; an awesome personable man.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to bad of a job.
Assembly/Inspection/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Iron Station, NCJuly 16, 2015
First job I ever had out of high school. It was a hard job. A lot of lifting, pulling, and standing. Not for me. I learned how to assemble and inspect roller bearings and then went to machine operator. Here I learned to operate grinding machines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everybody was treated like family
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Clinton, SCJuly 7, 2015
Pros: Friendly and productive company until they closed
Cons: Great place to work
The job was very good nothing stressful, everybody did there job and got along with each other. Nothing was hard about the job I ran multi-machines and sometimes a manual. I really do miss that place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff
Machine setter (Former Employee), Honea Path, SCJuly 5, 2015
Pros: employees
Cons: attitude
Great place to work some of the best employees that I have worked with,I think they need to judge people by there performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
usr to be great place to work till cut backs put the wrong people in chsrge
repairmen (Current Employee), scJuly 1, 2015
Pros: discounts
Cons: high health care prices
megan is driving the Timken name in the ground and does not seem to really care. when asking her questions its the same old same old.shell get back to you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always an excitement to work
Manager (Current Employee), Jamshedpur, JHJuly 1, 2015
world class manufacturing and culture is so nice that always empowers you to innovate & challenge the best to set the new benchmark
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Financial Analyst (Contingent) (Former Employee), Canton, OHJune 26, 2015
Worked an odd shift, work environment was great. Management was help full towards giving point of direction and answering questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Sylvania, GAJune 2, 2015
Great place to work for if you enjoy making money. Also great people to for and with. If i could i would work full time only there again
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ran very high tech machinery in a seven day operations
Senior Process Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Altavista, VAMay 28, 2015
Pros: small company with team based environment
Cons: excesssive overtime a must
very long process of training to learn jobs.. no supervision no maintenance with employees running production with high attention to detail of running equipment with safety first and quality at high alertness. noone over your back but alot of decision making on production floor being team based environment sharing jobs with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family oriented nor a stable work environment
Production Operator (Current Employee), Iron Station, NCMay 21, 2015
Timken is not a stable workplace, not being able to know if you are going to be working 24 or 48 hours until Wednesday of the same week. Management does not follow up with issues that employees bring to their attention.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical steel mill environment.
Shipping Processor (Former Employee), Canton, OhioMay 16, 2015
Pros: Pay, benefits, departmental shift schedule (not typical)
Cons: poor management and volatile steel industry stability
I have worked here for 4 and a half years and have been laid off 4 times, two were extended periods of time. I enjoy working outside and most of my fellow employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Trainer, Lean Leader (Current Employee), Randleman, NCApril 30, 2015
Good people, nice place to work. Quality is main. As long you give average production then nobody bothers you. 12 hours shift is long though
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Store Keeper/Forklift Driver (Former Employee), NorthamptonApril 16, 2015
Pros: Free parking
During this time, I was responsible for delivery of a variety of different oil grades to departments within the factory, by forklift truck. Having worked in this area for 22 years, I was required to have specialist knowledge of oil grades within the Engineering Industry. I was also responsible for the planning, checking and calculating of oil quantities, to ensure that stock levels remain at a constant level. This involved ensuring that accurate records were kept up to date and machine parts were issued in line with production. I was fully accredited with Achievement of ISO 9001- Oils.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
supervisor (Former Employee), Clinton, SCMarch 15, 2015
Enjoyed working there. Very organized and fair company. Good benefits. Relaxed but demanding environment. Loved the structure and standard work set up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally very good people to work with and a professional environment
Manager (Current Employee), North Canton, OHMarch 2, 2015
A good company to work for as evidence by a lengthy tenure with the organization. Colleagues generally very good to work with.

1 2 3 4 5

About Timken

The Timken Company keeps its bearings straight. The company makes bearings that find their way into products from consumer appliances to – Read more