Find companies:
Tim Hortons
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,481 reviews

Tim Hortons Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Store Front (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 7, 2014
Fast-paced workplace and experience. Learned about customer service and safety food preparation. Co-workers are friendly and outgoing. The hardest part of the job is independent multi-tasking following a designated time of service. The enjoyable part of the job is working with the friendly and fun staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love tim hortons
Team Member (Former Employee), Renfrew, ONJuly 7, 2014
I loved working at Tim hortons. The fast pace and the people were just awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Suoervisior (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONJuly 7, 2014
Pros: work hour always 40 hours.
Cons: benefits
I would arrive at work at 5 am first checked washrooms, dinning room,garbages checked outside drive thru lane, garbages, and lights. changed tills, did time and temps, helped staff when needed to serve customers, maintained level of coffee so we would not run out, along with decaf and steep tea. went to drive thru until Manager came unto the floor then – more... went to my own till till all staff arrived for their shifts and would go where managers requised I would go. During my shift I would check dining room , washrooms to maintain cleanliness. Garbage changed often. work with my team mate either on bagel bar or front counter... and on occasion help the baker when they became overwhelmed. and before I left for the day I Changed tills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a healthy work atmosphere
Worker (Former Employee), kingston, onJuly 6, 2014
Pros: nope
Cons: agnews were to cheap to really do anything.
the only highlight was the Customers. They were polite and delightful to see.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy ride and long hours but now that I'm gone I'm missing my tims family!
Supervisor/Baker (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONJuly 6, 2014
Pros: high number of hours available every week
Cons: long shifts, low pay, next to no benefit/advancement
My experience of Tim Hortons, as chaotic as it was, is one I miss. It's been a couple months that I have been gone but whenever they release a new product I still catch myself saying "we" instead of "they", it feels like I lost a family. At a job like that, team work and communication is a key asset and while working here it was like we were all apart – more... of a machine, you had to be using both hands as fast as you can while knowing where everyone else is in order to dodge them, plus accommodate their needs. It is definitely an environment where you need to be able to easily be able to pick things up quickly, it was able to challenge and push me to be able to do better. I looked forward to going into work, not only because it was the professional environment I needed to flourish but because everyone is close friends there. With only a limited staff list everyone had spent many hours together, so after your first week of adjusting you will be non stop laughing on shift, definitely the most enjoyable part of the job. The hardest part would have been the transition from team member to supervisor, in the beginning it was a struggle to get there, I love her to death but my manager would undermine me so all the employees thought there wasn't any weight behind my words and I even had to force her to train me certain things because she would constantly forget. And it's situations like that that'll clearly demonstrate a persons social skills, I wasn't the kind of person who would let anything stop me from succeeding at my job and I had to break from being their buddy when we were at work and become an extension of management as I liked to call it. This break was the hardest part of my job, but through it I was able to gain the leadership knowledge I now possess. By the time I had to quit I had gone through a journey in that store, many people can't handle food service jobs but to me it wasn't the job that mattered. I just wanted something I could give my all and commit myself too and Tim Hortons gave me all that, which is why any review I could ever write about it would only be glowing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, very productive
Food Counter Attendant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 5, 2014
Pros: free meal during break, medical & dental benefits
the location of Tim Horton i worked for is very busy specially during morning..when i worked i don't even notice the time because i really had fun at work..my employer was a really good to us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtive workplace with peacefull work environment
Store-front Associate (Former Employee), Regina, SKJuly 5, 2014
Pros: team work and rewards
Cons: sick calls
usually mornings are very busy. The typical day was one day we were short of staffs.At that me and supervisors and 4 of our team members managed to save our drive throw timings plus front customers of our Tim Horton We managed the coffee,sandwich unit, order taking both of front and drive throw. We did that as a team which was not possible without everyone – more... co-operation.The enjoyable part was doing work with fun as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it!
Store Front (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 4, 2014
Simply too much work for very little pay.
I have to work 5 times as hard and still got paid $10.25/ hour
Breaks are not paid and are mandatory
Too man rude people (workers and customer)
and VERY long hours (8-12 hour shifts)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun environment.
Team Member (Former Employee), Aurora, ONJuly 4, 2014
The management is very understanding and the co-workers are vey helpful as well as fun and entertaining. The hardest part of the job is getting complaints from the customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is working at the drive-thru.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting different types of people everyday is a enjoyable healthy environment to work with.
Food Counter Attendant (Current Employee), Campbell River, BCJuly 4, 2014
In a daily basis you will learn how to interact to different types of people to build a team work within your co workers and managers in able to make the task more easier and faster service for the customer in a manner of sincere and friendly service to all of the patrons and also to meet the drive thru time with accurate and fresh food that we served. – more... And the most enjoyable part in working in this company is you will see that the customer is keep coming back not just for the good food but also for a high quality of customer service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start on food career gives you opportunities to advance
Customer Service (Former Employee), Aldergrove, BCJuly 4, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: low pay
Tim Horton's is a fun entry level job to start out with. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smile on the regular customer's faces when you get their order correct, this ensures that the customer will come back and will continue to request you to serve them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coffee shop
Baker (Former Employee), Winkler, MBJuly 4, 2014
Pros: good co-workers
Cons: bad customers, minimum wage
Typical day was serving customers. Some are very rude and can just ruin your day. Other than serving customers you are assigned other duties such as cleaning the floors and washroom, restocking supplies and taking out the garbage. The work environment was very pleasant, and always felt welcoming. Some hours were super busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provide service to customers based on their requests
Cashier (Former Employee), Edmonton ABJuly 4, 2014
Pros: foods are 30% off
it was fun at work, I learned a lot of things during the work. I was taught how to use cash register and how to communicate with customers so that they will happy about my service, and also I learned to keep myself motivated and have a positive attitude about everything. I also known about how to cooperate with my team workers, we help each other a – more... lot. The hardest thing I have experienced from Tim Horton's is that I have to lift 50 lbs syrup and add it to the machine, it was hard because it was too heavy for me. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I am taking order for the customers, based on what they've ordered, I can figure out how their day was or what kind of mood they had. It was very interesting, and I am happy when I see my customer is satisfied with my service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped me gain more confidence at communicating with people
Team Member (Current Employee), 25 Woodbines Down Blvd, Toronto, ONJuly 3, 2014
Though it is quite busy all the day but its still fun working at Tim Hortons. All my co workers are really nice people.
It was my third week and I was at the drive-through. It was very busy and it was getting difficult for me to manage all the works at the same time but then my co worker figured it out that I was having a trouble and she helped me manage – more... everything in a very proper manner. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Team Member (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJuly 3, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: pay's not that great
It's a friendly environment workplace. I've learned to work at a fast pace while keeping the service friendly. We called it fast and friendly. Also learned how to stock deliveries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you need flexibility and job security
Counter Staff (Former Employee), Oakville, ONJuly 3, 2014
Pros: some free items, usually flexible, great co-workers, uniforms are supplied
Tim Horton's gave me the opportunity to learn how to provide great customer service and allowed me to strengthen some skills and make many good friends. I also loved the regular guest and learned some by name and order

However, in the last year they have become so customer focused and are forgetting about making employees happy and team moral. My thing – more... is, if your team is happy this will reflect onto the service they provide to your customers. Management seems to like using a "do this or else" attitude to try and get things done.

It wasn't always this way and I used to love the job very much. And I'm sure this is not at all Tim Horton's locations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outdoors job, worked alone
Supervisor (Former Employee), kitchener, ONJuly 3, 2014
Pros: good pay good hours
Cons: no help from management when asked
I would work from 7am-3pm every day, I worked at a large shopping plaza I attended the beds on the grounds pulling weeds and pruning shrubs. Fall clean up and spring clean up and garbage pick up. Management would frequent the area but provided little help. co workers only came by once a week to cut the lawns. The hardest part was weeding everyday with – more... little help. The most enjoyable was being out side to enjoy the nice days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usually a great atmosphere and a great learning environment
Supervisor, Baker, Truck Crew, Overnight Floor (Former Employee), Belleville, ONJuly 2, 2014
Mostly easy to get along with coworkers, relatable management, definitely learned quite a bit here about time management and customer service related skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cashier (Former Employee), Port Dover, ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: assigned breaks, great staff
Really enjoyed it. Constant sanitizing whenever needed. Customers and staff were very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with fun people
Counter Attendant (Former Employee), Port Perry, ONJuly 2, 2014
Pros: discounted food
Cons: difficulty to advance
Tim Horton's is a fun entry level job. I have learned to bake the donuts, do various deli prep, and I also learned to diffuse an upset customer situation. The coworkers are fun to work with. The hardest part of the job was the lunch rush. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smile on the regular customer's faces when you get their order – more... ready for them – less

About Tim Hortons

Tim Hortons Inc. is a Canadian fast casual restaurant known for its coffee and doughnuts. It is also Canada's largest fast food – Read more