Find companies:
Tim Hortons
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,853 reviews

Tim Hortons Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee), Vancouver, BCNovember 6, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: long hours
Loved working here, Lots of fun, very friendly staff most of the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Food Counter Attendant (Former Employee), Port Coquitlam, BCNovember 5, 2014
During my time as a Counter Staff Member at Tim Horton’s, I was able to enhance my skills in time management, problem solving, multi-tasking, customer service, and cash handling. I often worked in a team environment where I was able to use my ability to communicate effectively with co-workers and management. There were also days where I had the opportunity – more... to work independently, such as tasks, which included handling drive-thru and inventory checks. I received recognition, through a "Tim-points" incentive program, for my ability to handle tasks efficiently and productively. Although I enjoyed my time working at Tim Horton’s, there were stressful situations where I was faced with challenges that tested my abilities. For example, when a customer was not satisfied with their order during a time of rush, I took it upon myself to ensure that the customer left with happy and other customers were still served within a timely manner. My work experience at Tim Horton’s enabled me to experience day-to-day business activities with co-workers and management. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my time working and I gained valuable knowledge, which has been and will continue being useful in my future. I am willing to take responsibility; I manage my time well, I get things done on time, and I am also very organized. I am a second year undergraduate student at the University of Victoria. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Morning Shift/ Store Front Cashier (Former Employee), Guelph, ONNovember 4, 2014
Pros: fun place
Cons: busy
Very Good Team, Flexible Hours, Discounts, fun work enviorment especially when we have promotions like smile cookies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, creativie, and a fun work environment.
Server (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONNovember 4, 2014
Pros: making people smile and making friends meanwhile.
Cons: time off was not given when asked
A typical day at work would depend if I was working at a large Tim Horton's or closing the Tim Horton's at the gas station. I learned how to manage a team in a fast paced work environment, how to do daily reports that were needed. Management was great except for minor problems. The co-workers were great, everyone got along with one another and would – more... do a lot of group activities outside of work. It was hard to get the orders out as quickly as I wanted with the equipment always being broken or having a problem with it. I enjoyed every part of the job, I met some great customers working there. I enjoy making people smile and getting things done right so it was a combination of both. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
storefront (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONNovember 4, 2014
worked here for 6 years seasonally. loved the job. worked with many great other employees. did all different duties on this job cleaning cooking cashier stocking inventory ect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different meet alot of people
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONNovember 4, 2014
Everyday was different thats for sure some of your customers are not very nice to you sometimes but in this field of work the customer is always right
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was good for a school job
Front Counter (Former Employee), Surrey, BCNovember 4, 2014
my review for this job would be that as a student when I was in College I found that it was suitable for the hours I needed when attending CDI College.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,fast paced work with a great customer base
Supervisor Duties (Former Employee), Georgetown, ONNovember 3, 2014
Pros: customers, co-workers, free coffee, great benefits package
Cons: management, gossip, lack of trust within the work place
I enjoyed my job at Tim Hortons. My team of staff members were fantastic and everyone was always smiling. Having regular customers is such a joy you get to know so many people and build relationships with them, I find it very rewarding. However; management in this facility is less then mediocre. I have never worked for so many people who only have their – more... own needs in mind. From assistant managers to HR they are not the kind of management that has their teams back and provides a supportive work place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive job experience
Store Front (Former Employee), Aurora, ONNovember 3, 2014
A typical day at Tim Horton's consisted of working with my co-workers to prepare for the lunch rush. Before, during, and after the lunch rush I would make sure everything was clean and presentable. Working for Tim Horton's and my co-workers was a good experience, I learned a lot about customer service and working in a fast pace environment. what I enjoyed – more... most about working at Tim Horton's was the face to face customer interaction and making sure everyone is satisfied. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Good people to work with. Fast pace and it keeps you on your toes.
Customer Service Reparative (Former Employee), Newmarket, ontNovember 2, 2014
Tim Horton's is a good place to work.there is a need for time management and being able to do this quickly and correctly. It keeps you on your toes fro the start of your shift to the end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee), Downtown vancouverNovember 2, 2014
Pros: free meals
this place is fantastic. it is multiculture. I really enjoy to work with otherds co-work who they are from diferrent country. I got a new unexpect experience everyday that how i challenge myself
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Baker/Production (Current Employee), Kitchener, ON.October 29, 2014
Pros: flexible hours.
Cons: working alone as a baker is overwheming.
The store is open 24/7 and I have worked all different kinds of shift. General shifts are from 7am - 3pm, 3pm - 11pm, and 11pm - 7am if you are Store Front, and 7am - 3 pm, 3:30pm - 8:30pm, and 11pm to 7am, if you are a Baker.

As a baker, you work alone and are expected to accomplish many tasks from baking production to cleaning. If storefront needs – more... anything, you have to stop what you are doing and help them/ make food for them instead. If you run out of food in the front/showcase, don't expect anyone to say anything to you, the communication is terrible between storefront positions and bakers. Baking food can become overwhelming as the only baker. Sometimes, I have to skip breaks to be able to keep up with the amount of production that is required on busy days otherwise I risk having to stay later than my scheduled shift to continue baking.

Management is not any help at all when they are constantly telling you all the things you are doing wrong. Even when you fix the problems that they confront you about, they always find something else.

Every shift starts out after the previous baker that usually never gets the job done and I end up having to clean up after their mess on top of my own work.

Most of the other staff members are generally kind and friendly but can be very ignorant at times.

Tim Hortons is very reasonable with booking shifts off for appointments and other things that are required outside of work, however, if they don't like your working habits or you call in sick too often, they start to reduce your shifts to make you quit (luckily this has never happened to me).

The most enjoyable part of the job was actually working alone. It allowed me to accomplish tasks a lot quicker than when I worked with staff in Storefront. I learned how to make good use of my time in my shifts to cram as much production into my shift as possible (I hate leaving an empty display case of food). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Valuable Learning Experience
Team Member (Current Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 29, 2014
Pros: paid breaks, long lasting friendships, flexible hours
Working at Tim Horton's has taught me a lot in terms of efficiency and time management. When I start my shift, I expect it to be busy and fast paced right at the get go. I begin by usually cleaning the area I have been assigned to or asked to manage for a certain amount of time. Being patient and understanding towards my coworkers is a priority because – more... not everyone works at the same pace. Working together and coming up with an efficient system helps maintain drive thru times, which we must keep at a set number, and also makes our work a bit easier. That is the easiest and also the hardest part of the job. Maintaining the times becomes unpredictable and often hard to achieve because of various factors but it's manageable. Also, learning to be patient and understanding towards customers is a huge asset. Dealing with people can be often exhausting and highly frustrating but putting yourself in their position can help ease the situation. The company's goal is to leave every customer with their experience and I, as an employee, try and achieve this goal every time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible time table and to offer proper training for new employees.
Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 28, 2014
Pros: break with pay
Cons: low rate
it is a good company. I started work as a part time. After one year i become a full time employee. My hours was from 7:am to 3:am Monday to Friday, I was enjoined very well working with store managers and co-workers. Tim Hortons management is excellent. The most enjoyable part of the job is, we see the same customers almost every day which connect us – more... to build a friendship with some of them. The hardest part of the job that dealing with the picky customers., – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked full time
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Woodbridge, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: free foods
Cons: busy hours were hard they needed more people
had a great team enviornment, enjoyed working within a fast paced sector, also great discounts for employees for food.
,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright
Team Member (Former Employee), Kentville, NSOctober 27, 2014
long hours and little pay but loved the people I worked with, they were all very friendly all become a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tim Hortons
part-time (Former Employee), 4400 Dufferin St, Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: half and hour break
Cons: long hour
On Saturday, I work from 10am to 7pm. On Sunday, I work from 8am to 3pm. In my own experience,it's all about taking responsibility when it come handling with customers complain. The co-worker that I've worked so far are genuine. The hardest part is doing inventory every Saturdays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned the true value of Customer Service
Customer Service (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: we are rewarded for our hard work whether it be gift cards, clothing
Cons: i would say that our hourly wage could be higher especially at the management level.
Working at Tim Horton's has been a memorable experience for me. I thoroughly enjoy working with my co-workers and as a Supervisor I like to learn a little bit about everyone I work with. My current manager is one of the best managers I have worked together with. Very approachable, sense of humor and knows how to make a shift run smoothly. Sometimes – more... it is extremely busy and Tim Horton's has very high standards both in Customer Service and the coffee and food which is served, so there can be a lot of pressure. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people, both the Customers and my co-workers. Working together as a team can also be a very rewarding part of the day.
Our store was a runner up in the Always Fresh Award for 2014 as well as the Platinum Award. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Positive
Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2014
Excellent, enjoyed interacting with customers and created good working relationships with team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an okay place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
the management and co-workers were great. but the salary is really low, and the hours were too long. it cut into a lot of my own time. id have to get up around 4:30 in the morning and leave at 5 to be there by 6 and im not too much of a morning person. customers weren't too bad. a lot of them were really nice, but sometimes you would get some customers – more... that are really rude and make you feel like you're worthless for working there. – less

About Tim Hortons

Tim Hortons Inc. is a Canadian fast casual restaurant known for its coffee and doughnuts. It is also Canada's largest fast food – Read more