Tim Hortons Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Courtenay, BC7 December 2017
Very busy all the time. I get to work with the best people. You make a lot friends.
Management is pretty good. They care about their employees and make sure your needs are met.
Pros
50% off everything and FREE coffee and donuts
Cons
busy busy busy all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job for students
Tim Hortons Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 December 2017
good job for students who are looking to make money. hours are good if you show up. I worked there for 6 months and it wasn't bad, long days but money is money right.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Tim Hortons Team Member (Former Employee) –  Ingersoll, ON7 December 2017
good place to work nice co workers, exciting to learn to do bake and other new jobs such as drive thru and customer experience. nice customers and managers
Pros
paid breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON7 December 2017
Management needs to learn how to treat people better and how to talk to them with respect. Management needs to be more understanding when it comes to home and school life as people have things going on and Tim Hortons isn't their only priority in life. The other employees are amazing to work with management just sucks.
Pros
free food while working
Cons
early mornings, late nights, horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor and Precarious Work
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Midland, ON7 December 2017
There is not an opportunity for advancement and pay increase. Job culture is unwelcoming and stressful. High turnover rates mean staff is poorly treated.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Precarious/ poor treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot of skills in the food service and customer service as well
Drive Thru Cashier (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 December 2017
I worked overnights, it was the first job I had that I worked with cash and served customers food. I learned how to communicate appropriately with customers while taking orders with a headset. i can also multi task pretty well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but rewarding
Tim Hortons Team Member (Former Employee) –  8080 120 St, Surrey, BC V3W 3N36 December 2017
Very fast paced environment with lots of training needed. Get to meet new people everday that and make good relationships with them. On your feet almost always.
Pros
Free good
Cons
Busy and always standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exactly what one would expect from this position
Team member (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB6 December 2017
Working at a coffee shop that serves coffee to Canadian customers comes with many aspects of challenge and familiarity. That's about it for me really.
Pros
Coffee
Cons
Coffee
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Steinbach, MB6 December 2017
I had an interesting experience at Tim Hortons. The management and staff were not working as a team, large conflicts and drama. But besides that, the work was simple, shifts were manageable. I enjoyed the fast paced drive-threw as well.
Pros
free donuts
Cons
little pay, regardless of how long you've been a part of the team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Trenton, ON6 December 2017
A typical day at work is very fast paced and requires you to work well as a team member. I learned how to resolve customer complaints in a calm and timely fashion.
The management is very accommodating, and I very much enjoy the people that I work with on a daily basis.
The hardest part of the job would be dealing with customers with a poor attitude and the most enjoyable part of the job would be the people that I get to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are always moving, but everyone doesn't do their job.
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kentville, NS6 December 2017
At Tim Hortons you have to always be moving it is very fast pace, although not everyone does their chores which then means you have to do them before you can leave.
Pros
co-workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
server (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON5 December 2017
it wasnt great the manager was awful hours where kinda bad had to start at like 5 am and stuff there like promotional stuff made everthing complicated and bad it wasnt good
Pros
free coffee
Cons
hours suck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL5 December 2017
The job is pretty easy. The co-workers were great to be with as well. The only downside was the minimum wage salary.

Management was understanding and helpful.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Redcliff, AB5 December 2017
Great place to work, great supervisors at the time, was always given the opportunity to learn at my own pace with pizza making. Very flexible hours and overall great place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Work There
Crew Person (Former Employee) –  Arthur, ON5 December 2017
Management is terrible. Totally unfair to their employees, not a healthy environment. Job is fast paced, great for anyone that likes that type of thing. Management doesn't care about their employees personally,
Pros
Free coffee, tea, hot chocolate, timbits, donuts and muffins while working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working at timhortans and it’s a good team building environment
Tim Hortons Team Member (Current Employee) –  Bancroft, ON5 December 2017
Tim hortans is friendly and good service and I love being a part of it , I work fast and hard to get my job done properly and on time and I’m very talkative And outgoing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enhanced my personal working skills
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 December 2017
fast moving and busy work environment helped me achieved multitasking skills as this job requires a lot of multi tasking skills and efficiency. This job also helped me gain interpersonal relationship skills which will be required in any type of potential workplace cultures.
Pros
50% discount on food
Cons
less employee benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 December 2017
Working at tim hortons, despite being tired most of the time, is not a bad place to work. Customers are fun. Cash registers to control are easy. Over all it is nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place to start learning customer service !
baker/ store front (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 December 2017
Worked here many different times throughout my career in customer service. I have worked for different locations and as a brand Tim Horton's try's its very best to stand by employees. They take time to train properly and also evaluate your skills and promote from within. I never had a lack of hours and was always able to pick up extra shifts should I wish to work the overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced environment
Baker (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB5 December 2017
Very fast paced. Training is ALL computer based, most of which is required to complete on your own time. Minimum wage. Good for kids after school job. They are good at working around your home schedule. It's hard to get full time hours.
Pros
Benefits for 35+ hours a week (after 6 mos)
Cons
Minimal training, lack of management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tim Hortons. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,450 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6