Tim Hortons Employee Reviews

Found 5,789 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's ok
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 December 2016
very busy store. you'll like t if your co-workers are nice and hard working but if not, you might give up easily. But it is a greatplace to train your customer service skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fact paced environment.
Cashier/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 December 2016
It was an OK job experience as a new comer to Canada. The job teaches you discipline and team playing skills. You become multitask and skilled in handling high volumes of tasks under pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Server (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON1 December 2016
I think Tim Horton's was overall a good first job experience and i recommend it to anyone who is looking for a first job. They give great training and you get a free coffee after every shift
Pros
free coffee
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, busy environment
Part-time (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC30 November 2016
Always got along with my coworkers. Got to provide customer service and be the face people see when you give them their morning coffee. The managers were flexible with my schedule and worked around it. I got 2nd, 3rd, and thickness burns on my foot from a fresh pot of coffee so that was the most difficult thing for me was trying to get back in the groove after the experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict and uncompromising
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, ON30 November 2016
I have worked at my job at Tim Hortons for a while now. I've exceeded in what I do and feel as though its never enough. I've recently noticed management isn't very helpful or better yet understanding that being a manager means dealing with issues and concerns. Tim Hortons puts out applications saying we work around your life schedule but they do not. Special people get worked around not the rest. The owners haven't a clue what's going on.
Pros
Christmas bonus
Cons
Long shifts, cranky people, too many chiefs not enough Indians syndrome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Environment with Friendly Colleagues
Tim Hortons Team Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 November 2016
Need to be able to work under pressure, and make sure you always have a big smile. The manager might be a little rough and demanding sometimes, but your colleagues are your best friends, and most of them will help you out. Not a lot of promoting opportunities unless you are working full-time. The hardest part of the job would be having to continuously take orders from different people with different needs. Sometime if you're not quick enough, customers who are in a hurry might rush you, and you tend to make mistakes under such pressure. This gets better with more experience while working there. The best part is to be able to see and sometimes communicate with different people.
Pros
50% off Tim Hortons purchases
Cons
The manager picks who gets to do the window cleaning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON30 November 2016
Workplace was great and clean. It was a amazing experience working for Tim Horton's, being able to make some of the treats and beverages that I like to eat and drink when I visit Tim Horton's
Pros
great manager
Cons
cliches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC30 November 2016
the people are great the work is great I loved my job but I only got 1 sometimes 2 or 3 4 hour shifts a week I cant support my family with that amount of money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team bring great team leaders and friendly environement
RESTAURANT Manager Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC30 November 2016
looking for something more challenging now ,I would like to bring my experience to another level and share my knowlege, with others . ...........................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A high stress job.
TEAM MEMBER and BAKER (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON29 November 2016
You're on your feet for long periods of time serving piles of customers. This job taught me about how difficult customers customers could be and how to deal with them. This job also showed me how difficult management could be. At times this place was a bit of a toxic work environment, but sometimes my co-workers were friendly and fun to work with. It all depended on who was working the shift. When you work in fast food, a lot of customers don't respect you or view you as a human being, and that was difficult to overcome. The best part of the job is the food plan; you get to eat anything you want.
Pros
The food plan
Cons
Unpredictable schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Been working here for almost a year, and havent been happy with the job for more than 6 months, mainly due to poor management and poor staff treatment
Tim Hortons Team Member (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON29 November 2016
Staff are treated poorly, and although floor staff are lower ranking, they/we are treated as such with little to no care for our needs or wants. Additionally, reviews for staff members were done in the first week of October, and as of November 29, I, along with a few other key staff members, have still yet to receive our review.
Pros
Floor Leaders usually keep things flowing smooth, and treat staff as actual people.
Cons
Management, hours, treatment of staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor management
Cashier/Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 November 2016
i did not like my managers because there were very quick to pass blame on to me for things i didn't even do. they loved making me do all the manual labor because i was the only guy on the shift, i would often have to go out in -30 degree weather to clean or fetch stock for our outdoor storage while all the girls were inside whining its to cold
Pros
nothing
Cons
unfair treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work at
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 November 2016
As a Tim Hortans employee I learned a lot about how to communicate with different kinds of people.
The management is great and so are the co-workers.
I enjoy every part of my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great team to be a part of
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kenora, ON29 November 2016
I really enjoyed my time working at Tim Hortons. My co-workers, supervisors and bosses were all very friendly, helpful and supportive of anyone who was new and needed help; and this showed in how we worked. During my time there I learned to manage a till, how to interact with co-workers and customers, how to help fix problems that customers have or answer any questions they may ask, how to work better as a part of a team and how to work in stressful situations (e.g. rush hours). The hardest part for me personally was the stress of working in consecutive rush hours. The most enjoyable part was the community and team I was able to be a part of!
Pros
Great place to work in.
Cons
Some co-workers were a little inconsistent with working
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rough
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 November 2016
I work at all shift in some period time. Morning, afternoon, and overnight shift.
The best part of the job is I learn how to be hard worker and being tough in many situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Front Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON29 November 2016
loved the atmosphere the people working there where amazing everything was good expect the travel it was really far from my house which would make it hard to me to get there during some shifts.
Pros
free shifts, lots of hours
Cons
distance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tim hortons
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Revelstoke, BC29 November 2016
Was a super fun and fast place to work. The shift went by fast there was always something to do. The management was always there to offer help in whatever way they could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying and enjoyable job
Tim Hortons Team Member (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON29 November 2016
Work was fast paced and enjoyable.
Worked together as a team.
I learned how to deal with all types of different people.
Management worked hard to keep all the employees happy and on track.
The hardest part of the job was being on your feet all day long and dealing with difficult customers.
The best part of the job was being on drive thru when it was incredibly busy. I enjoyed running around, having something to do all of the time.
Pros
Great work atmosphere
Cons
On your feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but difficult at times
Counter Staff (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB29 November 2016
Tim Hortons is full of hard working staf members which create a well balanced restaurant. Co-workers work well together and get the job done fast in the most efficient way.
Pros
One Free hot drink per shift
Cons
Don't book proper hours due to my school times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly fun
Restaurant worker (Former Employee) –  Steinbach, MB28 November 2016
Tim Hortons was surprisingly fun. I still maintain that it is the most challenging job I've ever done. There are so many small details that you have to get exactly right in a fast-paced environment but the staff and management was good and easy to work with. Salary is what you would expect from fast-food but the flexible schedule is perfect for students or anyone looking for part-time work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 6,714 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6