Find companies:
Tim Hortons
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,790 reviews

Tim Hortons Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Baker/Production (Current Employee), Kitchener, ON.October 29, 2014
Pros: flexible hours.
Cons: working alone as a baker is overwheming.
The store is open 24/7 and I have worked all different kinds of shift. General shifts are from 7am - 3pm, 3pm - 11pm, and 11pm - 7am if you are Store Front, and 7am - 3 pm, 3:30pm - 8:30pm, and 11pm to 7am, if you are a Baker.

As a baker, you work alone and are expected to accomplish many tasks from baking production to cleaning. If storefront needs – more... anything, you have to stop what you are doing and help them/ make food for them instead. If you run out of food in the front/showcase, don't expect anyone to say anything to you, the communication is terrible between storefront positions and bakers. Baking food can become overwhelming as the only baker. Sometimes, I have to skip breaks to be able to keep up with the amount of production that is required on busy days otherwise I risk having to stay later than my scheduled shift to continue baking.

Management is not any help at all when they are constantly telling you all the things you are doing wrong. Even when you fix the problems that they confront you about, they always find something else.

Every shift starts out after the previous baker that usually never gets the job done and I end up having to clean up after their mess on top of my own work.

Most of the other staff members are generally kind and friendly but can be very ignorant at times.

Tim Hortons is very reasonable with booking shifts off for appointments and other things that are required outside of work, however, if they don't like your working habits or you call in sick too often, they start to reduce your shifts to make you quit (luckily this has never happened to me).

The most enjoyable part of the job was actually working alone. It allowed me to accomplish tasks a lot quicker than when I worked with staff in Storefront. I learned how to make good use of my time in my shifts to cram as much production into my shift as possible (I hate leaving an empty display case of food). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Valuable Learning Experience
Team Member (Current Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 29, 2014
Pros: paid breaks, long lasting friendships, flexible hours
Working at Tim Horton's has taught me a lot in terms of efficiency and time management. When I start my shift, I expect it to be busy and fast paced right at the get go. I begin by usually cleaning the area I have been assigned to or asked to manage for a certain amount of time. Being patient and understanding towards my coworkers is a priority because – more... not everyone works at the same pace. Working together and coming up with an efficient system helps maintain drive thru times, which we must keep at a set number, and also makes our work a bit easier. That is the easiest and also the hardest part of the job. Maintaining the times becomes unpredictable and often hard to achieve because of various factors but it's manageable. Also, learning to be patient and understanding towards customers is a huge asset. Dealing with people can be often exhausting and highly frustrating but putting yourself in their position can help ease the situation. The company's goal is to leave every customer with their experience and I, as an employee, try and achieve this goal every time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked full time
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Woodbridge, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: free foods
Cons: busy hours were hard they needed more people
had a great team enviornment, enjoyed working within a fast paced sector, also great discounts for employees for food.
,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright
Team Member (Former Employee), Kentville, NSOctober 27, 2014
long hours and little pay but loved the people I worked with, they were all very friendly all become a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tim Hortons
part-time (Former Employee), 4400 Dufferin St, Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: half and hour break
Cons: long hour
On Saturday, I work from 10am to 7pm. On Sunday, I work from 8am to 3pm. In my own experience,it's all about taking responsibility when it come handling with customers complain. The co-worker that I've worked so far are genuine. The hardest part is doing inventory every Saturdays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned the true value of Customer Service
Customer Service (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: we are rewarded for our hard work whether it be gift cards, clothing
Cons: i would say that our hourly wage could be higher especially at the management level.
Working at Tim Horton's has been a memorable experience for me. I thoroughly enjoy working with my co-workers and as a Supervisor I like to learn a little bit about everyone I work with. My current manager is one of the best managers I have worked together with. Very approachable, sense of humor and knows how to make a shift run smoothly. Sometimes – more... it is extremely busy and Tim Horton's has very high standards both in Customer Service and the coffee and food which is served, so there can be a lot of pressure. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people, both the Customers and my co-workers. Working together as a team can also be a very rewarding part of the day.
Our store was a runner up in the Always Fresh Award for 2014 as well as the Platinum Award. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Positive
Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2014
Excellent, enjoyed interacting with customers and created good working relationships with team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an okay place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 27, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: long hours
the management and co-workers were great. but the salary is really low, and the hours were too long. it cut into a lot of my own time. id have to get up around 4:30 in the morning and leave at 5 to be there by 6 and im not too much of a morning person. customers weren't too bad. a lot of them were really nice, but sometimes you would get some customers – more... that are really rude and make you feel like you're worthless for working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Crew member (Former Employee), Belleville, ONOctober 27, 2014
I learned how to manage money and customer service.The hardest part of the job was not spilling coffee on yourself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taking orders from customers and preparing orders
Cashier (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCOctober 26, 2014
As a cashier,taking orders of customers and prepare their orders accurately and passionately along with your friendliness so our customers get their orders happily and with their satisfaction.Communications with the management is the best tool for productive business.Support co-workers to fill in other roles as necessary to ensure that proper coverage – more... and service levels are maintained. The hardest part of the job are, that when we have short staff to work in a certain shift as well as customers that are having a bad day and customers with a language barrier affect our service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing Staff, hiring , scheduling , serving customers
Manager (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSOctober 26, 2014
Pros: plenty of hours available
Cons: only minimum wage, open 24 hours
Very tiring job at first. When hired as a Manager, expectations were so high but only offering Minimum wage to start. Production Store open 24 hours/day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Counter Attendant
Front Counter Attendant (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 26, 2014
There is no room for staying on unless you are an immigrant as I was pulled into the office while working at the NE Calgary just off of Barlow & next door to hotels and MC Donald the Tim Horton's manager being an immigrant asked if I was Filipino and told me I was not right for the position since the company took advantage of the immigrant hiring now – more... the Canadian Law has in place a hefty fine for those whom restrict Canadians from being or remaining hired ... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced workplace.
Customer service/ Cashier (Current Employee), Dartmouth, NSOctober 24, 2014
Pros: free hot beverages
Cons: long hours
Co-workers are awesome! Worst part was working 2-10 you woke up and went to work then came home and slept (no time for yourself).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work
GSR Development, Murphy and Vidal (Current Employee), Murphy RdOctober 24, 2014
Pros: free coffee and some free food
Its great place to work, amazing co workers, hardest part of job is to getting stuff completely done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn ....
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONOctober 24, 2014
Pros: advancement
Cons: long hours at times
Nice place to work at and to get the knowledge of management skills fast pace, need to be friendly with customers. Learned that customers need to be heard when they have a complaint. Need to stay focus on times and keep your co-workers aware of this task. The hardest part of this job is getting workers to fill in if someone calls in sick. I love the – more... interaction with the customers and seeing that they are happy and satisfied with your service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for first time job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), londonOctober 23, 2014
Great for student or first time job- possible for advancements
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
couldnt do it
Cashier (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONOctober 22, 2014
stressfull, people aren't happy over there, co-workers are very miserable and not organised
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Toronto ONOctober 22, 2014
typical day at work:
- fast paced
- various duties
- working with different backgrounds
- customer focused
- managing time efficiently
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly atomshpere
Hostess (Former Employee), St. Thomas, ONOctober 22, 2014
Pros: customers, staff, environment
Cons: long hours, certain managment, hard creamic floors you had to stand on all day
long hours, little pay, but rewarding when you dealt with costumers and staff. Most management listened to your needs and offered encouragement. Co-works were friendly and fun also helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace but unorganized
Front Counter (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONOctober 22, 2014
Pros: free coffee
Cons: unorganized, not being trained properly
A typical day at for me was just typical. Sometimes it was very frustrating with some machines breaking or having customers get angry at for you not having a certain drink available, but I definitely learned a lot. I learned how to properly deal with customers and get them everything they need so they are satisfied. I learned how to use a cash till – more... and how to put in orders that need to be made. I learned how to make drinks, and food for customers. Most of the people i worked with were nice, but there was also a very tense vibe I would get from others I worked with. I didn't always feel respected in a lot of ways but I always made something good of it. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Tim Hortons

Tim Hortons Inc. is a Canadian fast casual restaurant known for its coffee and doughnuts. It is also Canada's largest fast food – Read more