Thrifty Foods Employee Reviews

Found 111 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, nice space
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC20 July 2017
My typical day at work was an easy nice day, surrounded by supportive co workers. I've learned money management. The most enjoyable part of the day was bonding with workers.
Pros
nice breaks
Cons
lots of standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere among staff, excellent training
Cake Decorater/Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC17 July 2017
Great people to work with among coworkers and excellent training programs. Difficult to advance and very little management cohesiveness. Management did not seem to value employees efforts or feedback. (a lot of people quit and transferred to competitors or were fired and replaced by inexperienced and temporary managers during my time there.)
Pros
Volunteer opportunities, training, coworkers, community service
Cons
Shift work, steady staff overturn, little management investment in staff directly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with
Produce clerk (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC9 July 2017
My days working at thriftys i had to cut fruit and vegetables and make orange juice and keep a clean and tidy work space some odd days id work on the floor and do stock
Pros
none
Cons
long busy days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC6 July 2017
bagging groceries in paper bags,ringing customers order through
using the register system, learning codes for the products quickly
the shifts are not bad but its mostly up and down shifts you will have some morning and evenings an even night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with good management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Courtenay, BC27 June 2017
Working at Thrifty Foods was a really great job. I worked with some really great people and the management was very accommodating with flexibility in schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very accommodating management
Cashier and Backup Supervisor (P2) (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC26 June 2017
Friendly, family-like team environment. Will take advantage however if given an open schedule.........................................................
Pros
Love my co-workers
Cons
scheduling misunderstandings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience.
Material picker (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC24 June 2017
My day started at 6am and i worked till 12pm. I picked up boxes which when combined becomes an order. I used to drive the electric pallet jack and stack up the boxes. In the end was packing the order with a sheet and staging the pallet in the correct location.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great review
Cashier (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC15 June 2017
thrifty foods is a great place to work at
customers and staff are always happy and they will go out of their way to help you out
the hardest thing to do is trying to remembering the codes for each item
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mill Bay, BC15 June 2017
Enjoyed working here. The other staff were nice to work with. Customers generally balanced out in favor of pleasantness rather than being impolite with their cashiers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Duncan, BC8 June 2017
Horrible management. Don't appreciate the employees. Feel used/worthless. No freedom to say if you like, or dislike something. Overall, Beverly Corners Thriftys is not a good employer. Especially the the grocery department.
Pros
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cashier and general customer service (Former Employee) –  Tsawwassen, BC12 May 2017
Good for students, the pay is not the best but you usually get to work with other students the same age. The work load is good and manageable. flexibility is good.
Pros
good people
Cons
money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable place to work.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BC4 May 2017
Greeting and helping customers, cleaning and organizing the store.
Learned how to make different salads and how to properly handle knives.
Management was great.
Great grocery store to work at. Feel like a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Courtenay, BC3 May 2017
I worked for thrifty foods in the Deli for 4 years. It was great. Managers were friendly and helpful, good work/life balance.
Was fairly easy to book days off.
Always work to be done, so time goes by fast.
Pros
Friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the Job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC2 May 2017
Stocking Shelves on Midnight shift, we operated forklift and automatic pallet jacks receiving produce in the warehouse.

Typical day would be to receive the product sort, label and put away the product for the order pickers to be able to complete their day job to ship to the stores directly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and clean work environment
Front end cashier (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC30 April 2017
all of the people i worked with were very nice and super accommodating to my flexible work hours. They gave me enough hours and made sure the days I took off were respected. I learned how to deal with customers better and also with money. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I got to work with and who I met through my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment decent managing team from head office
Bakery Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 April 2017
usually working more then 10hrs as a salary employee, hard to hire the right ppl due to financial restrictions. always doing multiple tasks at once, never a dull day. the ppl you work with regularly makes it easier to be there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a temporary or a permanent thing
Everything Clerk (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC25 April 2017
Not a bad employer, but it is hard to not get sucked into it all. Depending on your location and position will determine ones comfort. While they love a position, if the environment is not satisfying, you can simply switch locations depending on your position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clerk
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC17 April 2017
good place for students to work, good entry level job with room to grow, looks great on resume too. lots of different options for jobs and position types.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place, great management
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC9 April 2017
Had a great time here, 90% of the people were very happy and relaxed, and while the pay was mediocre, it was a great experience, and great to meet so many friendly, and hardworking people.
Pros
hours went by quickly, very capable management, people were great, often had free food in the break room
Cons
a few rotten apples but that's life, parking sucked, shifts were occasionally strange
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thrifty Foods is a great retail store to work for.
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Duncan, BC6 April 2017
Management are great and they treat you very well. The environment is very good and people are always happy and polite. Customers loves to shop at Thrifty's because of it's excellent customer service and you know you're eating healthy and locally grown foods are the ones they promoted first. Managers are awesome and the Store Manager always greeted everybody and even works on the floor too. Good people, good store!
Pros
Good employees and Managers
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thrifty Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 115 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

CEO Approval

66%
48 ratings
Add your rating