Thrifty Foods Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast past
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC10 December 2017
i would bag food, cheese sampler and collect all the baskets. the management was caring fun and out going. work place was great. i love making the coustumers smile
Pros
fast past
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and simple work environment.
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Mill Bay, BC30 November 2017
Always productive and busy days. Very understanding to my availability and good with requesting time off. The people are what make a job, and I always had a good time with my fellow coworkers. I learned a lot in the customer service industry and I felt confident in handling situations on my own.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
No discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time job can't really review
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC30 November 2017
Parts time work
Good management
Enjoyed the people.
I can't tell you anymore as it has been a long time since I held this job.
I will add more characters to fill the minimum
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees and management team
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC30 November 2017
It was a great place to work. Flexible hours. Supervisors are kind and always ready to assist you in any way. Co-workers are all kind and are of all ages, mostly 16-25.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Should never have moved and left my job.
Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC16 November 2017
Thrifty Foods was by far the best employer I have had. The staff and management felt like a family at every store. The benefits were amazing as was the salary.
Pros
Lots
Cons
working late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very organized
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sidney, BC11 November 2017
Awesome Management who really cared about what was happening in the store.. All the none management employees are in high school, A lot of "Training" in the beginning two weeks (all on computer )
Pros
Very Friendly
Cons
no discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC3 November 2017
great place to work.
everyone is kind
it was a seasonal job for me but overall its great to start
it was in white rock
got to meet new people all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work for students
CASHIER/SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Fairfield, BC26 October 2017
Easy to get hours, flexible, fast paced. good place to learn customer service skills and problem solving. friendly staff always. Overall good place for a first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC20 October 2017
Overall a good place for beginning workers and students, has a very good and fast workplace and provides a well understanding of safety hazards. Also decent vacation time.
Pros
Good breaks
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical chain store but more comfortable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC12 October 2017
The orderliness of a chain grocery store, but everything is a little more warm and nice, rather than cold and fluorescent. Part time is impossibly part-time (4 hour shifts almost always) but shift changes and availability changes are never a problem.
Pros
Comfortable store
Cons
Very short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company who cares
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC12 October 2017
This is a company who really cares for itself and it's employees, they provide excellent training and they really reward you for it by being forgiving and understanding. Everyone comes together as a team to play their part.
Pros
Good management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Management
Produce Clerk/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 September 2017
Great job for young individuals starting out in the workforce. Strong management that prepare you for expectations in a desired career that a young adult builds to succeed in.
Pros
Great people and friends
Cons
Low level of responsibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC11 September 2017
Good job for students and or people looking for part time work. They treat you right and there is room for advancement if that's something one is interested in.
Pros
paid 15 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly place to work
Stock person/First Aid attendant (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC15 August 2017
A good job while one is in school. Scheduling can be quite flexible if needed. Everyone is very friendly. The primary focus is on customer service. My time at Thrifty Foods honed my customer service skills and was the building block upon which my service orientation is built. One downside to Thrifty Foods is that there is a company policy to not give formal references for employees seeking other employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but routine work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Saanichton, BC1 August 2017
Within the business you find yourself doing the same thing every single shift.. if routine jobs work for you this is a great start but youre on your feet your entire shift so be sure to not use cheap shoes. save your back and feet!
Pros
wage increase every so many hours
Cons
most employees stay for a long time which leaves small possibilties of growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, nice space
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC20 July 2017
My typical day at work was an easy nice day, surrounded by supportive co workers. I've learned money management. The most enjoyable part of the day was bonding with workers.
Pros
nice breaks
Cons
lots of standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere among staff, excellent training
Cake Decorater/Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC17 July 2017
Great people to work with among coworkers and excellent training programs. Difficult to advance and very little management cohesiveness. Management did not seem to value employees efforts or feedback. (a lot of people quit and transferred to competitors or were fired and replaced by inexperienced and temporary managers during my time there.)
Pros
Volunteer opportunities, training, coworkers, community service
Cons
Shift work, steady staff overturn, little management investment in staff directly
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people to work with
Produce clerk (Former Employee) –  Port Moody, BC9 July 2017
My days working at thriftys i had to cut fruit and vegetables and make orange juice and keep a clean and tidy work space some odd days id work on the floor and do stock
Pros
none
Cons
long busy days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC6 July 2017
bagging groceries in paper bags,ringing customers order through
using the register system, learning codes for the products quickly
the shifts are not bad but its mostly up and down shifts you will have some morning and evenings an even night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with good management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Courtenay, BC27 June 2017
Working at Thrifty Foods was a really great job. I worked with some really great people and the management was very accommodating with flexibility in schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thrifty Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 131 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8