Find companies:
Things Remembered
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
352 reviews

Things Remembered Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABDecember 8, 2014
Pros: computer skills
Cons: long hours
I learned alot about how to use computers and engraving glass and metals with a needle machine. It was usually on and off with being busy, but I still enjoyed working there. My boss and I got along really well and I learned how the computer in less than two days of training. The hardest part was the pressure of engraving things for customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience at Things Remembered
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONOctober 28, 2014
At Things Remembered, I found the work culture to be very poor. The management was not professional and did not coordinate between employees properly. There was not fairness towards each employee in the workforce nor was there professionalism. When a manager would appoint an employee to be in-charge, they did not train them on how to deal with other – more... employees. The work environment was not only unprofessional but had a very tense and non-welcoming atmosphere. The most enjoyable part of the job though, was the job itself. I enjoyed personalizing gifts for the customers and learning how to engrave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Sales (Current Employee), Vaughan MillsMay 13, 2014
Pros: small kioisk
Cons: few hours
Like this company very much, I just need more hours.
The co workers were very friendly
Management needed some work with being professional
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at work
Salesman Things remembered/Keyman engravables (Former Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 25, 2013
Attended to customers, filling out work orders, checking and organizing inventory, opening and closing store and other duties as assigned
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engraver
Engraver (Current Employee), Cambridge, ONNovember 21, 2012
I would come in and make sure that all the engravings where done that need to be done.
I would then catch everyone up on orders and work the engraver all day along with organize the engravings that are done.
I would then close the store at the end of the day and go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIghschool job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CADecember 16, 2014
Pros: flexbile retail hours. easy work experience.
Cons: holiday craziness but overall wonderful place to work at.
Fun, educating. Customer service/interaction ice breaker. The staff was much older and totally cool to wokr with. The supervisor Laurie was a wonderful lady. Very kind. Always made sure we had a big smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience of my life
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), MarylandDecember 14, 2014
I worked for things remembered for a year and 3 months. In that time, I was promoted from key holder to asst. manager. My manager had a drinking problem and would come to work either hungover or still drunk. She would talk about sexually inappropriate things with all her employees. She would call me at 6 am asking for rides home from bars and the hospital – more... because she got to drunk. She would have us close the store in the middle of the day to give her rides because she didn't have a car. She was flat out rude to customers. She didn't train me so i was left to figure things out on my own. She drove employees to quit. I told my district manager several times about her behavior and it took over a year for them to do anything even though she was stealing money and product from the store.
SHE CHANGED MY TIME IN THE TIMECLOCK SO I DIDNT GET PAID FOR HOURS THAT I WORKED AND THE COMPANY WILL NOT FIX IT. The company doesn't give a S*!t about its employees or customers. The products are poorly made and overpriced. Customers would often buy something, have it break within weeks and want a refund but there was nothing we could do because we would get in serious trouble for accepting returns. Engraver would break down and our district manager would tell us to just deal with it. Basically, don't work for this corrupt company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service/Engraver
Engraver/Customer Service associate (Former Employee), Modesto, CADecember 12, 2014
Pros: free lunches, bonding time with employees, learning how to engrave personal items
Cons: n/a
Greet customers, cashier, cash handling, working with others, stocking items

Engraving items, time management, scheduling hours, machine usage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent job that turned into a nightmare
Sales Associate/Key Holder/Engraver (Former Employee), Savannah, GANovember 28, 2014
Pros: engraving was fun, work experience, making customers happy, friendlyt co-workers
Cons: unclean environment, manager not trained properly
A year ago, my review of this company would have been positive. I worked here for just shy of a decade. I wouldn't have stuck it out so long if I didn't like my job.

And then everything changed.

Not everyone who has years of management experience is a good manager. This was proven over the past year. New manager, new to the company, and 11 months – more... in is still using the excuse that they aren't trained properly to do things. If it wasn't for the assistant manager, most of the manager's duties would not get done. If I listed everything that has gone wrong, you would think I was making it up. I have pictures from the past year that I wanted to send to the district manager, but didn't due to not wanting to appear petty. I only hope, for the sake of the co-workers I am leaving behind, that upper management does a surprise audit of that store without giving her time to scrounge the day or two before their arrival to do work she doesn't do normally. I don't think the deposit receipts have been signed off on since May. I even attempted to call the Shrink hotline, but nobody ever came out to the store. The district manager didn't seem bothered that the store manager was out of dress code on almost every store visit. It was abundantly clear that numbers were more important the well being of the staff and the health issues due to the ceiling tile covered in black mold that is still there after 6 months.

That said, the past year has completely clouded my experience with Things Remembered. Where I used to look forward to going to work, catching up with the co-workers, and engraving, I dreaded what issues awaited me inevitably every day caused not by customers, but by the store manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sale Associate (Current Employee), Moorestown, NJNovember 20, 2014
its very easy going and very relaxed but around the hoildays you gotta do your best to keep up
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can not leave fast enough...
Store Manager (Current Employee), Bloomington, MNNovember 19, 2014
Pros: innovative product
Cons: staffing, grid, pay, life balance, no structure....there is a long list!
Overall, if you are a manager that likes to be left alone unless your lacking in components, you like being underpaid for the relentless work that needs to be completed in a day, enjoy a crazy environment with single coverage (unless its Saturday then you get an associate for 3 hours) no time to take lunch breaks, surprise floor sets with no funding – more... for hours then this is for you. If you love a company that is organized, structured, WELL staffed, makes you feel appreciated, part of a team, and pays you what YOU are really worth then this is not the position for you. Assistant managers are VERY underpaid, Store Managers are severely underpaid and the associates are as well, leaving the stores with lots of turn over. There are many instances where promises were left unfilled. There is constant talk of "promotions" with no actions and who really wants to PAY for REWARDS program. As a customer, I would not want to pay to get coupons, yet we push this onto them. Did I mention the constant turn over? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Orlando, FLNovember 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits and opportunity for growth
It is a very fast paced company to work for. It keeps you active when it's busy but there are also days where it can be slow. I enjoy working for this company and one thing I've noticed about this company is that there is longevity, security and if your job is done well there is opportunity for growth with in the company if you are looking to move up – more... in the company and some times willing to move. I enjoy what I do and the team that I am apart of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things Remembered
1st Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VANovember 13, 2014
opened/closed store
took nighty deposit to bank when closing
helped clients with gift suggestions/engraving
Engraved store items or clients items
Cashier
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for Things Remembered
Seasonal Engraver (Former Employee), Mentor OhioNovember 13, 2014
Don't Work for Things Remembered!! Management told me I was doing a good job. The next day they fired me It makes no sense at all. Lied to me about sending me home. They told me we had no business/sales but we were busy. Stay away from Things Remembered
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things Remebered
Engraver (Former Employee), Gretna, LANovember 11, 2014
Learning to engrave things was fun. Meeting a sales quota was difficult but exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding, but challenging
Training Store Manager (Former Employee), Fort Collins, ColoradoNovember 10, 2014
Pros: great discount
Cons: barely any time for a break, no coverage for lunch, extremely tight scheduling
A typical day found me working long shifts by myself. Often times never got lunch, and would be overwhelmed with customer orders or service.
I learned amazing time management, engraving procedures and how to maintain our engravers.
Being a manager, I know that managers are extremely over worked and under paid. But you learn how to make the impossible, – more... possible.
My supervisors were ok, but not very strong.
My co-workers were a good team of managers and relied on each
other for a lot of support.
The hardest part of the job was the time constraints. Never enough employees to handle to job.
The most enjoyable part, getting to be apart of so many special occasions and moments of my customers. They really are the reason I worked there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Paramus, NJNovember 5, 2014
great job for someone just starting out in the retail world. You learn a lot about customer service and how to interact with customers in a face to face type way I had fun working here and thought it was a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Very Welcoming and homey environment.
Key Holder/Sales Lead (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYNovember 4, 2014
A typical day at work consists of me working alone most of the time. I'd come in check with the person who was leaving when I got there to see what kind of changes it has been and if there were anything I needed to know as far as the customers. And I'd focus everything solely on making sure the customer was happy. At Things Remembered we personalize – more... gifts, so I always made sure to be "fast, friendly and efficient" with all of the customers. At the end of the work day I'd straighten the store. Close the registers and count the money and when I was done I would take the deposit down to the drop box and I'd lock up and leave. Unless I opened the store, then I'd start up the registers and count them to make sure the deposit wasn't off from the person who closed the night before me. What I learned mostly from that job, was not only how to engrave, but how to be able to run/take care of the store. As well as being able to handle large amounts of cash. My manager was very great in teaching and making sure that we knew everything we knew as far as the product and what was new with the company. My co-works were awesome. Because of the small store, there were only a handful of us, so it became more of a homey feel that a work place which I liked. I build friendships with the people I worked with. The hardest part of the job for me was managing time when I didn't have another co-worker there with me. Because it was just me waiting on the customers, ringing them out and engraving their gifts and making sure it was to their standards and that it wasn't rushed. Especially when I was alone and extremely busy. The most enjoyable part of the job was having the responsibility of handling the keys to the store and the money from the deposit. I loved having responsibility and being trusted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Sales associate (Former Employee), Kansas City, MONovember 2, 2014
Engraving on the machines and working in between customers keeping up with the store cleanliness as the day goes on i was usually in charge of the register and closing meaning at the end of the night i would have to close down the store, restock and do all closing procedures such as taking the deposit to the bank and closing down the register and the – more... end of the night paperwork. the most enjoyable part of my job was to see the satisfied customers after you had done their engraving and getting to see their finished project or being able to work with customers who were about to have a wedding and getting to put all the products together for the wedding and helping them decide what kind of engraving should go on the project to fit them best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you don't have a family
Store Manager (Current Employee), Lincoln, NENovember 1, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no breaks
Assist customers, engrave, track goals and performance. I learned to handle customer complaints, build a loyal customer base and how to hire and train new employees. There is not enough positive feedback from management. My co-workers are great. The hardest part of the job is all the production work during the busy holiday season. I really enjoy all – more... the great customers, variety of work and display work. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Things Remembered

Things Remembered is trying hard not to be forgotten. The company primarily sells products, such as jewelry, leather goods, glassware, – Read more