Thermo Design Engineering Ltd Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor office work environment
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 September 2017
Not very good environment to work in the office. Management is always pointing fingers at someone or a group in the office to blame for problems. They let go of good, decent workers and keep bad project managers who cause the other groups to overrun on hours. Have to fight for your wage, always feel. Like you'll be let go. No flexibility on hours, always last minute travel plans and then they wonder why you are not able to travel because 1 or 2 days notice is not enough to arrange things at home. Promoting people who are not good at managing only because they are in the "old boys club", do not promote on merit. If you're not willing to play politics, you'll probably be let go. Owner was very personable but company was being handed off to younger generation who didn't have the background or merit to be in those positions.

The engineering teams themselves were very good and easy to work with. Everyone was willing to share information and there was an increase in job tasks and responsibility of your work as you gained experience. Steep learning curve but team was always there to support you.
Pros
Good team members in the groups, lots of learning opportunity
Cons
Management, constant blame.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the Chrimas Party every time
Welder (Former Employee) –  Edmonton , AB19 December 2016
I learn many new things during working and working hard. Management was very help full . Welding at 45 feet height was the hard day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shop
PIPEFITTER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 October 2016
Great company to work for well organizes clean fun great people and transportation to job site every day great benefits and great union only downfall is they
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellant place for woking
Steam Fitter/ Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 May 2016
Management are very co-operative. safety is first and all co-workers are help each other. also get experience in different type of works.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thermo Design Engineering
QA/QC Pressure Vessel Inspector/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 May 2015
One thing's for certain, at Thermo Design you're not just a number. You're a welder/pipe fitter, foreman, supervisor, engineer, labourer and a detective. You're expected to do everything for pennies on the dollar. As a member of the Vessel QC team, I did the work of at least 2 inspectors. At times overseeing QC and production of 30+ pressure vessels. Thermo Design management seems to enjoy making the same mistakes over and over and wonder why they are making less and less money on projects. They spend thousands of dollars in the long run to save $100 initially. I wouldn't have returned to work here if there was another option.
Pros
You gain experience in all trades.
Cons
List too long
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Senior OHSE Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 January 2014
You can review my resume for a typical day of work. I've learned you can get things done best by finding ways to make your agenda compliment the agendas of others.
The hardest part of the job is balancing legislation, personal opinion, human empathy and cost benefit analyses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Descent Workplace
Level 2 Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 October 2013
Thermo Design is a descent work environment, and a extremly good place to learn and build your career. Although, there are areas within the company that are unorganized and messy, it is a place for opportunists that have the desire to learn and want to build up their knowledge. People there are respectful and polite and theres always work for everyone where no one is left standing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly but competitve place
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee) –  edmonton17 September 2012
i work day shifts . try to learn everything new that i can leaen and that is within my scope . Management is good . i have a very good repo among my coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 14Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Thermo Design Engineering Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.4
Culture
2.9

Thermo Design Engineering Ltd Reviews by Location