The University of Western Ontario Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 October 2017
clerical and various jobs, learned multi-tasking, good management, fun place to work, the hardest part leaving it, most enjoyable because it was variety work to do
Pros
I lived near by
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On iead
Previous Experience (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 October 2017
Just an university , Cannot say too much about it. It is a okay place to work. Really no much to talk about more. The glass shop is good but very slow to get things done.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment, but lacking resources
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 September 2017
Overall, Western is a good place to work, the pay is reasonable and benefits are usually included for each position. However, there are limited resources available for particular positions, most institutional knowledge is carried by individuals and not operationally recorded in documents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Quantitative Researcher (Current Employee) –  London, ON30 August 2017
It is a nice workplace with flexible schedule
Students are around
very nice campus
it is surrounded by smart people
location is close to big city Toronto
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
only exposure ti students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely
Part-time employee (Former Employee) –  London, ON4 August 2017
Working in a lab was an experience that I will not forget. Working at the same time as volunteering in a lab was a hard thing to do but in the end it was all worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Laboratory Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON17 July 2017
A great university that you can devote yourself for research. During the past 5 years, I was able to gain lots of teaching and research experience, specialized in chemistry and chemical engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment!
Varsity Strength and Conditioning Coach (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 July 2017
UWO has a beautiful campus - it is very lively and has a wonderful student body.
Working with the varsity athletes was a pleasure and working with my colleagues was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 May 2017
Working at The University of Western Ontario was an excellent experience. Professors were supportive and helped us complete our jobs to the best of our ability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Economic Geology Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 April 2017
- Performed analysis on mineral samples using XRD
- Sorted through mineral and rock samples
- Very relaxing environment to work at with friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Position for work on a Collective Agreement.
Teaching Assistant, History Department (Current Employee) –  London, ON23 November 2016
Helping negotiate a new collective agreement was a great experience in negotiating, conflict resolution, and human resources management in a unionized environment. I learned a lot about collective agreements and collective bargaining.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  London25 September 2015
Excellent place to work
Great environment for research
Opportunity for advancement is great
Salary and benefits are excellent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for a Master's degree
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON24 August 2015
I had an excellent supervisor and most of the professors I TAed under were kind and knowledgeable. The staff were understanding and the student experience at Western is excellent overall.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  london on2 August 2015
amazing place to work
very well organized
staff are all individuals around the same age
caring and supportive working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome school
Graduate student (Former Employee) –  London, ON18 March 2015
The professors are nice and supportive. Learnt a lot of good stuff. Relaxing environment, nice city. Comfortable living.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Educational Institution
Research Assistant:First Nations (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 November 2014
-Great Professors

-Excellent resources

-Good work environment

-Fantastic student body
Pros
Great School
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent research atmosphere
Post-doctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  London, ON25 August 2014
Developed skills and abilities to do research independently and work with others effectively
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Researcher & research assistant
Researcher and Research assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON25 February 2014
Data collection, analysis and reporting
Supportive learning and working environment
Pros
Fun moments with colleagues and peers
Cons
Cold in the winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enabling work environment with necessary support for all employees
Teaching and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON15 February 2014
The work involved leading tutorials, proctoring and marking test and exam scripts. Holding office hours to attend to the needs of students was also performed. Furthermore I also collected and analysed research data.

I received maximum co-operation from my co-workers (other Teaching Assistants) and this ensured effective functioning of the Courses we were assigned to work in.

The hardest part of the job was sometimes having to provide instant answers to questions I might not have been prepared to answer.
The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing I was helping to make the life of the students better by helping them understand whatever they learnt in class as well as the support I received from co-workers.
Pros
Resources to facilitate the work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution
Project Manager - WindEEE (Former Employee) –  London, ON22 November 2013
Working with passionate Researchers who conduct research in various disciplines requiring equipment which is often unique with major budget constraints, made each day an exciting challenge.

Working with various teams of experts, supporting departments, vendors and other stakeholders, we were were able to successfully complete what initially seemed the impossible, possible.

I learned that there are times when you need to have the courage to challenge the process, inspire the team to follow a common vision while enabling team members to aspire and achieve individually. I realized leadership is not about ones own successes but recognizing and celebrating the successes of everyone's contributions, which resulted in the project being a success (e.g. WindEEE project).
Pros
Supports continued education
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Information Management Assistant (Former Employee) –  Westminster Hall11 September 2013
I had this job as part of a work study experience. My boss and co-workers were extremely friendly and helpful in getting me accustomed to the type of work I would be doing. they were always available to answer questions when I had them.
The hardest part of the job was figuring out how to work with new databases that I had never even heard of before.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The University of Western Ontario. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
4.2
Culture
4.3

The University of Western Ontario Reviews by Location