Find companies:
The University of California
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
385 reviews

The University of California Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Procurement Specialist (Current Employee), Berkeley, CAJune 6, 2014
U. C. Berkeley/ Camous Shared Services has very unclear goals due to a weak Mission Statement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be better if I was a student at UCSD
Research Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 3, 2014
Due to not being a student, not much help was given to me in understanding and fulfilling my duties early on
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Leader (Former Employee), Santa Cruz, CAJune 2, 2014
tried new and different things
learned about leadership
learned how to manage people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an enjoyable working place
Post-doctoral Researcher (Current Employee), La Jolla, CAMay 27, 2014
A typical working day in here, ends planning the following day which start by preparing material, solutions and all what is needed in order to make progress with every project research.
When the projects are in team, we spend time discussing the results and the step to follow. The fact of listen the opinnion of each member in the team helps to have – more... a more complete view of the problem. When the projects are by my self, is even funnier to ask and replay questions about the following steps. Working at UCSD in an interdisciplinar and multicultural group helps to see profesional and personal things from different pesrpectives and lenguages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Research University
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Santa Barbara, CAMay 27, 2014
The working environment is excellent, working within a large department allows for good discussions of organic chemistry principles and problem solving when reactions do not quite go as expected. The overall comradery is excellent and the department is well staffed to assist graduate students with any issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
I also assisted the Maintenance Building Manager (Former Employee), Riverside, CAMay 24, 2014
Pros: schedule flexibility
Easy going job. Managers were mature and responsible. All who worked there were usually up-spirited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large state school with unfailing bureaucracy
Principal Clerk/Sr. Cashier (Former Employee), Santa Barbara, CAMay 21, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: bureaucracy
Very short lived job. UC Extension had a great group of people. Unfortunately due to California state budget cuts, my job was short lived.

Mostly accounting type work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
TEMPORARY ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Current Employee), La Jolla, CAMay 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
UCSD offers many great career opportunities, education and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked like a dog
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Santa Cruz, CAMay 19, 2014
This summer internship program is very intensive but worth the effort. The lessons learned are a great benefit and the pay was adequate ( for a student)
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship experience
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee), Merced, CAMay 13, 2014
My typical day was to review information on simulations, test simulations and review articles that focused on previous experiments to verify simulation results. The simulation in question was a periodic copper substrate and it was being indented on a nanoscopic scale, which is useful for non-invasive testing. The hardest part was trying to figure out – more... the presented data for testing as it was not working in my favor. The enjoyable part was presenting my best findings within the eighteen week Center of Integrated Nanomechanical Systems (COINS) and having my professor thank me for my help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Collaborative environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Santa Barbara, CAMay 3, 2014
UCSB is a great place to do science. Collaboration is encouraged and user facilities are well maintained.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environement
Project Scientist (Current Employee), Riverside, CAMay 2, 2014
Everyone is friendly and supportive. It is easy to collaborate within campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience (student researcher)
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Berkeley, CAApril 29, 2014
Lab research included flexible hours and lots of hands on learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern at Professor Arisaka's Dark Matter Lab
Intern at Professor Arisaka's Dark Matter Lab (Former Employee), University of California, Los Angeles, UCLAApril 23, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: unpaid internship
Intern at Professor Arisaka's Dark Matter Lab,

A very good experience in the world of research. learned a lot about computer programming in Linux from the grad students in the lab.

Most of the hands on work was done by grad students with help from undergrads. a lot of programing and data analysis. Day usually started with the grad students trying – more... to teach the undergrads something new, either in programming or physics. laid back, hands on work environment was very conductive to learning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive and enriching workplace experience
Postdoctoral research associate (Current Employee), Berkeley, CAApril 21, 2014
UC Berkeley is a very productive place to work. The employee skill improvement programs are good. Staff are knowledgeable and supportive. Overall an enriching experience as I continue to work here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional Atmosphere.
Deputy Director of Emergency Management Division (Former Employee), Mercury, NV and Livermore, CAApril 18, 2014
Pros: we all used our intellect
Cons: no cons
One of the most interesting jobs I've ever had. To be in
a group of scientists who's responsibility was the testing
of nuclear weapons was humbling to say the the least.
My colleagues were the best and brightest, and were
good friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment
PAATH Co-Organizer (Former Employee), Santa Cruz, CAApril 16, 2014
I enjoyed the flexibility of administrators to work with students who wanted to make a positive change in their educational system, and the administrators and staff provided a basis for these changes to take place. With the help of students who implemented forward movement in regards to UCSC housing equality as well as drawing for issues that effect – more... all of the student body. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Research Project Coordinator (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 15, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: culture
This organization has great benefits but the culture leaves a lot to be desired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Marketing/External Relations Manager (Current Employee), San Diego, CAApril 14, 2014
Pros: a sense of community
Cons: not many places to move upward
Working for the University of California system offers great benefits and, depending on the department, opportunities for professional advancement through education and networking in various group activities organized and coordinated by the UC community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school with motivated faculty
Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 10, 2014
Research is a fundamental part of the mission and they truly have the best and the brightest.

About The University of California

The University of California was founded in 1868. Today it is widely considered the pre-eminent public research university system – Read more

The University of California Photos