Find companies:
The University of California
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
290 reviews

The University of California Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching and research in UCI
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Irvine, CAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: good envisoment
Cons: poor pay
As a PhD student, teaching and research is fun.
I like University of California, Irvine for the safe, quiet location and the beat weather in USA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Office of the President (Former Employee), Oakland CAFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: lot of restaurants nearby for lunch
Cons: obsolescent computer equipment.
Good workplace with easy commute via BART rapid transit.

Good salary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
San Diego Teaching Assistant/Reader (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 27, 2014
goint to University of California San Diego is such a good expereiende.

Many good professors/ staffs and many good people at University of califronia, san dieog.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UCSD
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 27, 2014
You give it the best you got. That's all I got. A place that has diversity in its surroundings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Online Instruction programs.
Student (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Classes are geared for the working adult and provide instruction that suits the Adult learner's goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very stimulating place to work
Research Scientist (Current Employee), Riverside CAFebruary 23, 2014
Not a very stimulating place to work, I have been unable to grow, most people don't really show up to work seems like a dead place most of times
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Retirement Plan Coordinator (Current Employee), Oakland, CAFebruary 20, 2014
Great place to find a Mentor! Casual and business oriented environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant in a 4 yr learning environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 19, 2014
Office environment, busy office in a 4 yr learning environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Receiver (Former Employee), Merced, CAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: free drinks
Cons: not enough hours
Early and cold, work was mostly physical labor, and people were cool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty great job
Cook (Former Employee), Berkeley, CAFebruary 14, 2014
the only thing to me negative about this position is that it was temporary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life in the times of an Executive Assistant Extraordinaire
Berkeley, Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Berkeley, CAFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: lots of opportunites for training, networking
I like to think of myself as a person who truly can roll with the punches, adapt to a LOT of change, and still maintain the professional demeanor that my position requires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fully benefited and well paid work area
(UCSD) Temporary Employment (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 12, 2014
A great place to work and build a career if given to opportunity to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Staff Research Associate I (Former Employee), Davis, CAFebruary 11, 2014
I loved working at the University. I work best with little to no supervision, and I definitely had that. I loved being able to manage my own time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Graduate Student Researcher (Current Employee), Davis, CAFebruary 6, 2014
Great school, good place to work in, salary is good, like teaching a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Programmer/Analyst IV - Supervisor (Current Employee), Irvine, CAFebruary 6, 2014
Its a great place to work. Family work life balance is always respected.
not the best pay though
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and cozy work environment that was always stress free
Fitness Center Attendant (Former Employee), Santa Barbara, CAJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: balancing school and work was a breeze, down time during which employees were permitted to do homework
Cons: few hours, low pay, a lot of down time
A typical day would consist of clocking in and waiting for members at the desk. I would check in members as they would arrive, answer the phone when it rang, cleaned the facility often, filed liability waiver paperwork, rented out equipment and assisted people (members and nonmembers) with questions about the fitness center, the apartment complex it – more... was in, Santa Barbara and the University as a community. I learned how to effectively use my time to benefit the University and how to assist anybody in anyway I possibly could. I didn't have any co-workers because we would maintain the front desk alone. The hardest part of my job was the loneliness when the fitness center was in it's down time with no members. I did enjoy how helpful and kind management was. He was almost a friend to the Attendants and always there when we needed them. I also enjoyed that by working for the University they allowed us to do our projects and homework during work hours if the facility was slow. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start
ASSISTANT CLINICAL RESEARCH COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Irvine, CAJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: celebratory outings together
Cons: long commute for me
I was very lucky my supervisors decided to take me in and train me, I started as a student intern while finishing my MPH, and they wanted to keep me on after I finished my MPH program. I have been happy here ever since.

I work on a research study that is ongoing at the moment, and I have enjoyed learning and applying what I learn when I am on the job. – more... My co workers and I stand on equal ground and it is a great atmosphere to share our thoughts, ideas, and opinions on what we each are busy working on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Financial Case Manager (Analyst) (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: great working environment. lets you make key decisions with any supervision.
Cons: wanted to pursue my coding career -
great company to work for with great benefits. just want to explore my other options with other hospitals/facilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of training
Administrative Analyst, (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: good people working there
Cons: no breaks
Long hours, ongoing training, outreach activities. required a lot of travel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Postdoctoral Scholar
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: overworked and underpayed
Cons: freedom over schedul
As a scientist at UCSF, I work on a infectious diseases. I typically work 50-60 hours a week on my project, papers, and scientific presentations. I have a great mentor and a lot of access to high-end science equipment.

About The University of California

The University of California was founded in 1868. Today it is widely considered the pre-eminent public research university system – Read more

The University of California Photos