Find companies:
The TJX Companies, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,600 reviews

The TJX Companies, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Cash Office Associate/ Stocker (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAJune 20, 2014
Pros: very busy
Cons: not enough hours
Large truck delivered 5 times a week and we unload and process all items of the truck. I clean shelves and place new product daily, manage four-ways with new merchandise and make true it's done to company standards with appealing to customers. We balance draws daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical clothing retail store
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Portland, ORJune 20, 2014
Pros: lunches can be provided
Cons: management isn't the best
- Typical clothing retail store, just like Ross, Marshalls, etc.
- Has lots of down time, always messy having to clean and organize shelves, clothes, socks, snacks, etc.
- Advancement in positions can be slow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day in TJ MAXX
Cashier/Merchandise Associate/Jewelry (Current Employee), North Little Rock, ARJune 19, 2014
Pros: luncheons, being able to wear casual clothes
Cons: short breaks, and not enough hours.
Well, any time that I go into work the managers and my coworkers are so friendly, they speak and say "Good morning, how are you?" or when I'm leaving the managers the "Bye, have a good one." The managers are so easy to talk to about anything! I wouldn't change anything about any of the managers! I come in and I know everything that needs to be done – more... in my area as well as other areas. The hardest part of my job is staying busy, I love to stay busy it makes the time and my day go by so smoothly. Just the people that I work with are so friendly and courteous, I love it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Framingham, MAJune 18, 2014
Pros: seeing all the new styles come out
Cons: management and the moral
I was a sales associate in the women's department. I was responsible for putting the returns away, stocking, and keeping the department clean. I crossed trained as a cashier. When in need I would cashier for the store. When the department supervisor did not have time to do the featuring I stepped in and completed it. Featuring is dressing up the manikins. – more... I really enjoyed doing that and was complemented on my work by management.

The co-workers there were very friendly. However, it was very clicky there. They had there own little groups of friends and stuck with them. The management there were nice people. However, the training lacked and communication. I was only part-time and rarely approached by my supervisor or management on training, new products, and sales. I seeked that information out on my own. When you go into your work place it's nice to be greeted by your superiors and that did not happen.

The hardest part of my job was training myself so I could make sure I was current on what was happening with the store. My most enjoyable part was when I was able to do the featuring of the manikins. I love clothes and loved that I was able to see all the different types and styles come out. I loved giving advice and ideas to the customers. However management is what made it a bad place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talk about a cheap way to shop for name brands, I loved this job.
Backroom Stocker (Former Employee), Morehead City, NCJune 18, 2014
A typical day here was no ordinary day. Our team never had bad days because we took the word team to extreme.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work yet, very stressful
Store Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Cedar Hill, TXJune 17, 2014
Pros: free holiday food, incentives for doing a good job
Cons: discrimination
Overall, my initial work experience was amazing but the longer I worked there the worst it got. The management didn't enforce the rules and regulations with everyone, they played favoritism to the older employees even though they were the reason that our store ratings were so low; they never wanted to follow the rules and were nowhere to be found when – more... we needed them to complete a task. The hardest part about working there was the fact that every age group was not treated equally and respected appropriately. Respect is earned, not given and equality is the key to success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Store Sales Associate (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJune 16, 2014
A typical work day is a 4-5 hour day greeting and providing exceptional customer service.

I have learned that I have excellent customer service skills

The hardest part of the job is being on my feet for long periods of time

The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I made a customer happy just by listening.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Receiving clerk (Current Employee), cypress, txJune 15, 2014
receiving shipment
Stock inventory
Help with Customer Walk in
enjoy working with co workers as a team
excellent management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Harriman, NYJune 15, 2014
• Handled money transactions for customer purchase and returns.
• Greeted and interacted with customers on a regular basis.
• Answered phone calls and helped customers locate merchandise
• Stocked store inventory and managed displays
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing empowering place to wrok
Buyer (Former Employee), Framingham, MAJune 14, 2014
a fabulous team environment. buyers are given the power to make decisions in the market place and run their own business. fast paced and always changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with
Customer Service (Former Employee), Waterville, MEJune 14, 2014
Pros: poor hours, no benefits, lousy pay
Cons: fun employees. made a lot of good friends.
I had the opportunity to be able to do a variety of jobs, truck, markdowns, jewelry, fitting room, cashier. sometimes all in one day. It made the day go by fast. I loved the fact that it wasn't always the same thing every shift. Co-workers were great but like every place else you always have one or two that are difficult.The management was nice but – more... sometimes there was no communication. One would tell you one thing and the other would day something different.I learned a lot while there. Retail really isn't as easy as it looks. Some times its hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible for Students
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Beverly Hills, CAJune 14, 2014
Pros: constant company parties (if enough credit cards are earned), friendly environment, discount on already discounted merchandise
Cons: minimum wage, small raises
Working for TJX Companies is convenient in the sense, that there are a lot of employees are many available shifts. However if you can't deal with a fast pace environment, or if you don't have patience this is not the job for you. If you need to make a decent amount of capital working only 20 hours. This also is not the job for you. Recommended for students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work for
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oviedo, FLJune 14, 2014
Pros: gives their assoc extra discount days 20% instead of 10%
Cons: really no way to advance to full time in this company
soon as after I got hired I was offered a FEC position,
Loved working with my TJ Maxx crew
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Associate (Current Employee), North Street, BirghtonJune 13, 2014
Great place to work, however working hours are very limited (8h contract).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for part-time
Sales Associate (Former Employee), New Iberia, LAJune 12, 2014
Pros: fun enviroment
Cons: poor hours
very flexible hours and great for one who needs a part-time job. gets paid weekly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , fast fun and friendly
Retail Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Brea, CAJune 12, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Established and developed and maintained business relationships with customers Demonstrated products and services to existing/potential customers and assisted them in selecting those best suited to their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees were all friendly and welcoming. The benefits are AMAZING!!
Merchandise Coordinator (Former Employee), Eugene, ORJune 12, 2014
Pros: caterings, relaxed uniform and building
Cons: attendance policy, management possitive feedback
The employees there are really warm and welcoming if you are a new hire. You have alot of fun seeing the new merchandise and I enjoyed merchandising it out onto the floor and seeing the customers get excited over new product and placement. The hardest part of the job was pushing the in store credit card. And being repremanded as harshly as they do for – more... not making your "credit goal" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJune 12, 2014
This is a great place to work. An overall fun place that required dedication to the job. As long as you show professionalism, you will be treated well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 11, 2014
Pros: 10% off
Cons: benefits
Unloading boxes of clothes from a truck. Stocking empty spaces with merchandise when needed. I also had a decent amount of training with being a Sales Clerk. Managers were helpful, assisting me along the way. Co-workers were enjoyable to be around. Most difficult part is unloading the boxes, you have to be quick but careful. I loved helping customers – more... with any questions they had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment and Wonderful Staff
Department Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 11, 2014
Pros: free lunch, gift cards, great clothes, meeting great people
Cons: could have been more structured when it came to treating all fair
A typical day at work would consist of checking in with my direct manager seeing what the customer survey scores where and did we meet quota for the previous day.Assisting customers and making sure my department was up to date according to audit & company guidelines. I learned so much working for the company, it taught me new terms as far as retail – more... is concerned also how to handle conflicts and work with others. Management was not to bad, nothing is perfect but they did the best they could. I adored my co-workers and always was there to lend a hand when needed no matter the situation, I always tried to keep the work environment pleasant and friendly, the hardest part of the job was probably the store being brand new and new management. I really enjoyed pleasing the customers and helping out my co-workers – less

About The TJX Companies, Inc.

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more