Find companies:
The TJX Companies, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,612 reviews

The TJX Companies, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee), londonJune 27, 2014
Pros: long lunch
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work for me would be arrivivng first thing in the morning, checking what role i would be doing that day in the store. My co-workers were very friendly and understanding that it was my first job and offered help anywhere they could.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being on the till and interacting with customers because i like – more... making the customer feel very welcome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was serious about their job but made the environment safe and fun for customers and employees
Customer Service/ Cashier (Former Employee), Edison, NJJune 26, 2014
Pros: management randomly would by food and dinners based on the progress of the store
Cons: technology, old systems
A typical day at work consisted of cleaning and organizing the store according to the assigned department give to each individual.

I learned how to deal with chaotic situations and various groups of people

Management was very supportive in caring for customers and employees

My co-workers were very outgoing and friendly for the most part

Hardest – more... part of the job was the technology in the store that sometimes didn't accommodate the most busiest days.

The most enjoyable part of the job was connecting and networking with different customers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work enviornment
Merchandising associate (Former Employee), bronxJune 26, 2014
helping customers and assisting them with what is asked of me.
the team manager relationship was very open and felt welcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Madison, ALJune 24, 2014
IT was alright. Managers were okay but very pushy about getting credits as a cashier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful company to work for!!
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Conyers, GAJune 24, 2014
Cons: not much hours, short breaks
Just usual work day is at the cash register. Answering phones, returns and putting stuff back and on hold.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Very energetic work environment
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Tifton, GAJune 23, 2014
Working at T.J. Maxx was a very fun experience, because on a daily basis, I dealt with people, customers and co-workers. Being a person that loves to learn more and more about people and learn knew ways to introduce ideas and products to people, it's fun being in that kind of atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJune 23, 2014
There is always something to do. I have learned that it is better to learn how to do everything and become cross trained, you have a better chance of getting more hours. My co-workers are the best. The hardest part of the job is managing long lines on your own. the most enjoyable part is the sweet customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with very friendly co-workers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), York, PAJune 23, 2014
I would always start out my day by finding any customers who needed help, help them, then go find the Manager on Duty to tell me what I was to do for that day. I learned to communicate with customers in an appropriate manner. My managers were extremely helpful and knew how to deal with each situation and would teach all of us how to deal with it as – more... well. My co-workers were also very helpful and knowledgeable of the merchandise and promotions. The hardest part of the job was dealing with certain customers. The most enjoyable part of the job was having people come back and request that I were to help them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working for this company but theirs no space to grow
key holder (Former Employee), pelham manor,nyJune 23, 2014
Loved Working for this company but theirs no space to grow and the salary sucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TJ MAXX
Backroom Associate/Stocker (Former Employee), Middletown, NYJune 22, 2014
Pros: friends and work
Cons: pay & hours
I really enjoyed working for TJ MAXX. The only problems were the low pay, low hours and no opportunity to advance to full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in tj max was a good experience for me
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cambridge, MAJune 22, 2014
tj max was a very good experience for me they tout me a lot about patience, how to respect everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TJX Companies
Sales Associate (Former Employee), TJ Maxx Dorchester MAJune 22, 2014
Wonderful place to shop and work. I was able to learn all different departments in the year I was with Tj Maxx. Also appreciated retail employees more for what they do in the store to keep it tidy and presentable for guest
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Cash Office Associate/ Stocker (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAJune 20, 2014
Pros: very busy
Cons: not enough hours
Large truck delivered 5 times a week and we unload and process all items of the truck. I clean shelves and place new product daily, manage four-ways with new merchandise and make true it's done to company standards with appealing to customers. We balance draws daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical clothing retail store
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Portland, ORJune 20, 2014
Pros: lunches can be provided
Cons: management isn't the best
- Typical clothing retail store, just like Ross, Marshalls, etc.
- Has lots of down time, always messy having to clean and organize shelves, clothes, socks, snacks, etc.
- Advancement in positions can be slow
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day in TJ MAXX
Cashier/Merchandise Associate/Jewelry (Current Employee), North Little Rock, ARJune 19, 2014
Pros: luncheons, being able to wear casual clothes
Cons: short breaks, and not enough hours.
Well, any time that I go into work the managers and my coworkers are so friendly, they speak and say "Good morning, how are you?" or when I'm leaving the managers the "Bye, have a good one." The managers are so easy to talk to about anything! I wouldn't change anything about any of the managers! I come in and I know everything that needs to be done – more... in my area as well as other areas. The hardest part of my job is staying busy, I love to stay busy it makes the time and my day go by so smoothly. Just the people that I work with are so friendly and courteous, I love it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Framingham, MAJune 18, 2014
Pros: seeing all the new styles come out
Cons: management and the moral
I was a sales associate in the women's department. I was responsible for putting the returns away, stocking, and keeping the department clean. I crossed trained as a cashier. When in need I would cashier for the store. When the department supervisor did not have time to do the featuring I stepped in and completed it. Featuring is dressing up the manikins. – more... I really enjoyed doing that and was complemented on my work by management.

The co-workers there were very friendly. However, it was very clicky there. They had there own little groups of friends and stuck with them. The management there were nice people. However, the training lacked and communication. I was only part-time and rarely approached by my supervisor or management on training, new products, and sales. I seeked that information out on my own. When you go into your work place it's nice to be greeted by your superiors and that did not happen.

The hardest part of my job was training myself so I could make sure I was current on what was happening with the store. My most enjoyable part was when I was able to do the featuring of the manikins. I love clothes and loved that I was able to see all the different types and styles come out. I loved giving advice and ideas to the customers. However management is what made it a bad place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talk about a cheap way to shop for name brands, I loved this job.
Backroom Stocker (Former Employee), Morehead City, NCJune 18, 2014
A typical day here was no ordinary day. Our team never had bad days because we took the word team to extreme.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work yet, very stressful
Store Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Cedar Hill, TXJune 17, 2014
Pros: free holiday food, incentives for doing a good job
Cons: discrimination
Overall, my initial work experience was amazing but the longer I worked there the worst it got. The management didn't enforce the rules and regulations with everyone, they played favoritism to the older employees even though they were the reason that our store ratings were so low; they never wanted to follow the rules and were nowhere to be found when – more... we needed them to complete a task. The hardest part about working there was the fact that every age group was not treated equally and respected appropriately. Respect is earned, not given and equality is the key to success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Store Sales Associate (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJune 16, 2014
A typical work day is a 4-5 hour day greeting and providing exceptional customer service.

I have learned that I have excellent customer service skills

The hardest part of the job is being on my feet for long periods of time

The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I made a customer happy just by listening.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Receiving clerk (Current Employee), cypress, txJune 15, 2014
receiving shipment
Stock inventory
Help with Customer Walk in
enjoy working with co workers as a team
excellent management

About The TJX Companies, Inc.

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates¬†about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more