The TJX Companies, Inc.

The TJX Companies, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 149 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for first jobW
Associate (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ONJune 29, 2015
Working at Winners as my first job was pretty fun. I was part-time so after school I'd head to work for about 4 hours a day. I learned how to be patient and communication skills with customers and other co-workers. My co-workers were supportive and made work seem more fun than it actually was. The hardest part was pleasing customers who were wrong, but the most enjoyable was sorting out and organizing clothes which was my favourite.
Pros
free snacks
Cons
in a mall
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.
GWA (Current Employee) –  Mississuaga, OnJune 27, 2015
TJX Canada is great place to work for despite all the shortcomings .
which any organization has.
Its has great environment to work for.
Pros
work atmosphere
Cons
timings
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team work
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCJune 23, 2015
I took job in Winners as sales associate for my working holiday in Canada. It was good job, the coworkers and management were very friendly and polite. They are very good in coordination and team work. Work itself was pretty busy, so I never get bored. They pay min. wage and give you only part time with no benefits. They rise salary after half year, but it isn't even worthy mentioning. But this common practice in retail.
Pros
good team work, flexible schedule
Cons
salary. no benefits, hard to get full time job
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for gaining experience
General Labourer, Temporary (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONMay 21, 2015
A helpful environment for gaining work experience
The people were understanding and willing to teach
Learned how to ticket, label, and pack orders
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Packer (Former Employee) –  MississaugaMay 20, 2015
Working with different people everyday. Learning new tasks. Good problem solving, doing new and different things everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience and productive workplace
Temporary Associate (Former Employee) –  BramptonMay 18, 2015
We start on time for work, we always have a meeting first with the supervisor regarding the productions and and set goals of the department. Reminding us always of the safety measures at work, exercise / stretching before starting. Co-workers are team players. hardest part of the job is sometime the heavy lifting. For me as a Mom, the most enjoyable was that the time goes so fast that your shift is already over.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid place to work
puller (Former Employee) –  american driveMay 4, 2015
i worked the morning shift from 6:45 to 3pm as an associate using a pump truck to load merchandise. The company is great with fantastic employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Retail Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMay 1, 2015
Serving customers and keeping the store neat and organized. Working in different departments.
Management is supportive.
A lot of team work.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
Standing for a very long time
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lovely environment to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  TraleeApril 23, 2015
I really enjoyed working at TKMaxx.The hours were extremely varied from week to week so I could not make a living from it.
Cons
Varied hours from week to week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
District Supervisor/ Store Manager (Former Employee) –  GTAApril 13, 2015
I enjoyed Target Canada and sad to see it leave, It was a great place to work! I would still be working for Target and would have loved to grow the organization....
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emphasis on Work Life Balance
Business Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  6715 Airport Road Mississauga, ON L4M 4Z8April 7, 2015
Great place to work and advance as long as you are working within the merchandising departments. Overall good company to work for.
Pros
Company dedicated to values and diversity
Cons
No work from home policy
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Cashier & Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ONApril 4, 2015
The overall work relationships developed at TJX are good solid ones. The employees all get along and are usually on the same page to get the work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity for Summer Students - Lots of Training!
Allocation Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONApril 1, 2015
I worked at TJX over one summer for four months and was put through a 6 week training program, alongside other full time employees that were just hired. The training I received was incredible, especially for a company to invest that into a summer student that was only there for 16 weeks.
Pros
Lots of training, co-workers always helpful
Cons
Not much direction once training is done (dependent on manager)
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you have a good supervisor you are set
Receiver (Former Employee) –  brampton, ontarioMarch 31, 2015
work hard
do more than what is asked of you
Mostly great people to work with
if you dont fit in with the majority, you will not go far in this company
Cons
extremely high supervisor turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton OntMarch 26, 2015
long working shifts, co workers involved in personal life, enjoyable work environment. Hardest part would be standing all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient in Customer Services.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 25, 2015
Working at TJX is definitely exciting and challenging,meeting with clients and helping them with shopping, at the same keeping the store in order is definitely a huge task. But it has made me stronger and been able to build my skills.
Pros
Friendly Supervisors, Friendly Business Environment
Cons
Shared working Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance for assistant managers
Assistant Manager of Operations & Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ONMarch 23, 2015
Especially working in a busy store in Toronto, was putting in 13 hour days, every weekend, at the store until 11pm, felt like there was a lot of "Associate Care" but not for management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Retail sales associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 16, 2015
company has a great system of training, I enjoyed working at all positions I was offered. Management staff is always helpfull
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience with computer software AS400
Order processing (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 11, 2015
Experience to process and complete orders for clients with AS400
Software.Process orders to different stores across Canada
Printing of locator cards and store labels
Process orders electronically
Assigning different orders to associates and complecting them electronically
Retreive the locations of various merchandise by header, keytrol and pack size
Pros
big company
Cons
no career growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ONMarch 7, 2015
hours were good, hard to get time off when needed, it was a toxic environment to be working in
management was not considerate of schooling and the fact that that was a priority
very high turn around rate
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 3,289 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

The TJX Companies, Inc. Reviews by Location