Find companies:
The TJX Companies, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,892 reviews

The TJX Companies, Inc. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun environment while still being productive
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee), Winchester, VANovember 20, 2014
Pros: flexablility with hours
Cons: full time for only higher jobs
I enjoyed my time working for TJ Maxx and hope to one day go back to them. I have learned so much from everybody i worked with even the in-training associates i met.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly enviornment to work in
sales associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, OHNovember 20, 2014
Pros: free food on holidays (i.e. thanksgiving and christmas)
Cons: not good of pay & short breaks & not enough days to work (not steady hours)
a typical day of work depends on where you worked that day( everyday changed as to where you were at) i learned how to deal with difficult costumers and how to help other workers with their work and to be a excellent team player! i loved working for tj maxx! hardest part was those difficult costumers. the most enjoyable part of it was being able to – more... help people with their problems when they needed it. My management was very nice and cooperative for the most part. I liked the environment and I loved working in retail! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced, often messy work unloading of delivery truck
Receiving Associate (Former Employee), Cartersville, GANovember 19, 2014
Pros: always busy, short shifts
Cons: low compensation, low hours
-typical day includes unloading the delivery truck, separating new stock by department, then organizing and preparing inventory to be stocked on the sales floor
-the process of receiving new inventory
-management was very enthusiastic and polite
-co-workers were helpful and knowledgeable of inventory locations
-most difficult part was learning the different – more... departments and the inventory that went to them
-most enjoyable part was getting to finally move the unpacked and ready inventory onto the floor – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Stockroom Coordinator (Former Employee), Lagrange, GANovember 19, 2014
TJ Maxx is the worst job experience I had in my work life. It was too much talking about employees going on and the store chemistry was horrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team that helps and interacts with each other to get the job done
Retail Associate (Current Employee), DORCHESTER, MANovember 19, 2014
Pros: great atmosphere, great team, good coordinators to teach
Cons: pay rate, employee discount percentage
A typical day at work would be me at the cash register take customers interacting with them offering a TJX rewards card to save 10% off their next purchase. I learned the different departments and a lot about myself while working. Management was good they taught me how to do everything in a matter of a few days. The most enjoyable part of the job is – more... seeing a customer leaving the store satisfied with a smile on their face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Associate (Former Employee), Bloomingdale, ILNovember 19, 2014
Pros: the people you meet
Cons: pay
Very fun professional environment. Not for grown associates. this job needs to be strictly for hs students looking for employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discount Fashion Retale store
Associate (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 19, 2014
• Maintained visual appearance of store
• Constantly met sales goals
• Provided each customer with professional and friendly service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with ability to move up within the company
Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), West Lebanon, NHNovember 18, 2014
TJ Maxx is an enjoyable place to work. They do a great deal of promoting from within. TJ Maxx believes in and encourages diversity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TJX is a very convenient place to work
Sales Associate/ Customer Services (Former Employee), BlanchardstownNovember 18, 2014
TJX is a very friendly place to work always looking forward to go to work... The management is good also the pay is not so bad and very good benefit when you work with them.. All the associate are well trained, everyone respect each other and the customer service is one of the best I have ever experienced. In general its a good place to work and start – more... a career if willing to work in a retail store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), WaterloovilleNovember 18, 2014
A typical day at work consists of maintaining stock, serving customers, cleaning store and managing problems.

I have not learnt anything since I have been there as it hasn't been long since I joined.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Sales and Merchandiser (Former Employee), Sheboygan, WINovember 17, 2014
Great way to gain experience in customer service! Management was fun and my co-workers were great too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love all my co-workers and customers.
Sales floor Home Goods Associate & Cashier (Former Employee), Schererville, INNovember 16, 2014
I enjoy all the different people I get to meet everyday. I enjoy the fast paced environment. The manangment was excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family feel workplace
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Akron, OHNovember 15, 2014
Pros: benefits, company has heart, people you work with, helping others find just what they need.
Cons: you can only be late/ call off sick 12 days in a year.
We wait outside til management opens the doors and gives us the ok to start our workday. put your stuff in your locker. make coffee. double check ready to work, clock in and go to your post. doors open public comes in. Greet customers. Check your area to make sure all is right . put new items out and make everything presentable. Help customers find – more... their perfect items. See if they have a tj maxx credit card (if old enough) check them out, see if they want to help current cause, and wish them a wonderful day and to come back any time. Management is awesome and co-workers are sweet.
The hardest thing is to get all product out in a timely manner. The most enjoyable part of the job is everything! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company but no set policies...still young.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Panama City, FLNovember 13, 2014
Nice company but no set policies...Nice company but no set policies...still young.still young.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work day
Store Detective (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 12, 2014
come in talk to management in the meetings see what needed in the store from the loss prevention side, investigate any suspicious activity external and internally,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
sales associate (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 12, 2014
a typical day for a sales associate is basically greeting all customers upon entering the store and taking care of the store by making sure its clean and ready for customers to shop
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment and exciting challenges
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee), London, ENGNovember 12, 2014
Always a good place to work has a certain buzz to it every new day and such a bubbly and live working environment to be involved in also learned and gained extra knowledge in satisfying customers to best possible standards and how to keep my time in tact and in organised fashion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
General Warehouse Employee (Former Employee), Worcester, MANovember 12, 2014
My first warehouse job
Learned how to ticket merchandise
Employees were helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always get to meet new people
Fitting Room Attendant (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 11, 2014
everyday i go to work open minded,always happy,positive get my work done the way i am suppose to,my co workers have always been good people we always enjoy working as a team,the ordest part is when your not able to defend your self when a customer get out of line and start getting too deep into your personality...when customers are nice its really fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TJ MAXX
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Creve Coeur, MONovember 10, 2014
I worked here for a number of years. I really enjoyed the management and staff.

About The TJX Companies, Inc.

The TJX Companies, Inc. is the leading off-price retailer of apparel and home fashions in the U.S. and worldwide, ranking No. – Read more

The TJX Companies, Inc. Photos