The TJX Companies, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company; poor management
Logistics Reporting Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 September 2016
- the company encouraged a work- life balance very well
- the corporation placed high value upon its associates
- poor management within specific teams
- skills were not utilized or developed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic place to work!
Frontline Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON3 September 2016
Working at Homesense gives you many opportunities, such as transferring to any Winners, Homesense or Marshalls if you need to move and you will not lose your current pay. The staff and management at my location was awesome!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, medium pay
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 August 2016
Great place to work. Great culture, nice new home office.

Low to medium pay. Slow advancement unless you are in planning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and amazing people you meet
Loss Prevention Investigator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 August 2016
A typical day at TJX would be me getting signed in by the manager. then i would start reviewing footage of previous fraudulent returns or any theft activities from our external incident reports.i then would do a huddle with all associates and start using the cameras to search for any unprohibited activities. i would make lawful arrests with the 5 elements for either fraud or theft. i would report to police in any region that i am working.

Management taught me many other tricks to the trade in order to move up.

Everyone i worked with had a positive attitude and had a ver good knowledge of all policies and laws

the most enjoyable part of the job is that you feel like a part of a family where everyone looks out for you
Pros
good pay reasonable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Winners Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 August 2016
Winners is a great place to work! Great for students that just need a part-time job and for people who love fashion and big brands. Working at Winners has it's benefits there's a lot of incentive programs for the associates to keep you motivated!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Named one of the best places to work
Marshall's Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 August 2016
Working with TJX Canada has been an interesting experience.

During my time with TJX Canada, I have met the CEO of the company and he visited a bunch of stores nationwide seeing if the stores were doing well and if all of the employees were being treated well. Before the time for his visit, our store was made to look superb, top to bottom, by our store manager. Had everything been done properly from the get-go, we wouldn't have needed to change a bunch of things and a lot more associates' daily shifts would have been more efficient.

With that being said, managers at a Marshalls, Winners or Homesense expect a lot from their associates. They basically work you to the bone and if you're working on the floor and not in a designated spot. For example, the dressing room or working a cash register, you're expected to do way less than other people in the warehouse or on the sales floor. Managers have gotten mad at associates for not completing their designated jobs for the day which I found to be a little over the top.

There were a lot of fundraisers and lunchroom parties which was nice. Every summer there is a picnic with prizes to be won and same with the Christmas party, there were always great prizes to be won.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Tedious job, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 July 2016
good enjoyable yet full of knowledge work place. learnt a lot of new things and environment of the job is great. just one word to say is awesome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place but pushes workers with no incentive
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON12 July 2016
no room for advancement, very segregated in terms of promoting jobs for certain groups. Not giving opportunity to people that have been there for a long time with the prerequisite skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking
Dock Lay-up Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON3 July 2016
Hardworking needs a lot of focusing, tiring long hours in standing position.
Good work environment and most importantly helpful co-workers. Learnt about merchandising and sorting goods accordingly.
Hate to make long queue for card scanning for the lunch break and on/off duty timings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work and learn
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 June 2016
Day started with a short meeting with day task. Well communicated to employees with some light talk. Hardest part was to close the order in the end of the shift. Which was centralized and achieve the daily task.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance of work, life.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON5 June 2016
Busy, always something to do. Diverse group of people. Dealing a multitude of customers. Fast paced working environment. Always changing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office politics
Allocation Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON31 May 2016
Not a good environment for people who are not comfortable with excessive gossip. Management was simply good at playing office politics, and keeping up with the gossip (I saw this in most Planning Managers, which led the example to Allocation Planners and team). Talent isn't a main driver in career advancement unfortunately. Female managers were easily threatened by new female talent.
The strongest quality within TJXCanada is the president and his team of upper management, who are excellent industry leaders.
Pros
Salary and Benefits are equal to industry standard
Cons
Office politics and uncontrollable gossiping.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Associate & Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 May 2016
The management is very easy going and understanding. It is the perfect workplace for students who need a part time job. i recommend it to all students looking for
Pros
good location
Cons
labour intensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TJX Experience
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON26 May 2016
It was a great opportunity to work at TJX, as it helped me grow individually. It's a good place to work at to practice teamwork skills and individual skills. It changed my perception of work. I started to take it really seriously. It's a good place to work as a summer job as a student. Working here taught me to stay in school and to chase my dreams. The employees are really helpful. They really know how to make it a fun place to work for everyone.
Pros
Easy Work
Cons
Short Lunch and Break periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
District Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON25 May 2016
Fun workplace, awesome work environment.
mfj;sdjk;slgksgk'

kfskldfjskjf;sjg

dfjhsldfjlsdkfjklsjdf

djfshfdljks
Pros
Free Lunches at meetings
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales assistant
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  London24 May 2016
Maximum 20 hours contracts, if you refuse overtime they won't be asking anymore. If someone calls sick they don't remplace and it is the struggle on the shop floor. Overall good experience as they gave me the opportunity to become a team leader.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a calm and respectful place to work
ticketing, packing (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 May 2016
They are Productive, respectful. I had the chance to work for 2 wonderful supervisor when I was there so I would say is nice place to work.
Pros
yes
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receiving
Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON18 May 2016
Great learning experience. Learned alot about working as a TEAM. • Unloading goods from Trucks/Containers.
• Report/communicate all discrepancies and damages to proper account holder.
• Check incoming products against packing slips to spot discrepancies in quantity and damaged goods and inspect the conditions of the products during receipt.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as student
STORE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 May 2016
Great for students as they do have flexible shifts available and they do understand schooling comes first no matter what.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment.
Layup (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 May 2016
Enjoyable environment. Working with a friendly crowd and hard workers. Always had a positive vibe and great energy. Co-workers were great, was able to lean a lot from them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The TJX Companies, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,128 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6