Find companies:
The TJX Companies, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,607 reviews

The TJX Companies, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Cashier/Jewelry Associate (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: short breaks, cut hours unexpectedly
a typical day at work consists of greeting customers and helping them with questions they may have. I
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun!
Merchandise Associate (Current Employee), Uniontown PAJuly 16, 2014
A typical day at Tj Maxx would start with returning items back to your department from the register lines. Then it continues with cleaning and organizing your department back in tip-top shape. Occasionally you will get called up to the register lines to check out customers. Depending on how many workers we have, you may get called by the jewerly, cashier, – more... or fitting room attendent to cover their breaks, since that area cant be unattended. The managers usually do the office work, such as paperwork, early in the morning or late in the evening, so they can help us during rush hour. My co workers are nice, and sometimes dependable. The hardest part of the job would be around Christmas and Black Friday time. We usually get so many items that we have to backstock and ever few hours were constantly pushing items onto the sales floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), aberdeenJuly 16, 2014
whilst Tk Maxx is a fun place of work being a high store retailer makes it a demanding place of work, working over time and meeting standards is just a typical day at work. i have learned a lot about it through the past 2 years but support from management is at a minimum which is why i feel it is time to move on
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
merchandise associate (Current Employee), Petaluma CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: 10 percent off assoicate when buying merchandising
learned how to ring people up.. Working alone, communicating with people and helping people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-paced, demanding retail environment
Customer Experience Coordinator (Former Employee), Newark, CAJuly 15, 2014
Required leadership skills and broad scoped coordination skills. Relatively low-payoff in terms of compensation vs. increased responsibilities when promoted from sales associate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TJ Maxx
Store Manager (Current Employee), Machesney Park, ILJuly 15, 2014
Great opportunity! Company cares about YOU! Gives the opportunity to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace, not quite beneficial or fun
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 14, 2014
Pros: friends
Cons: short breaks, no health care.
A typical day at work consisted of me arriving and immediately working, which is what I'm there to do, but the environment is quite dull. I learned how to work well with people at quite the accelerated pace, how to deal with problems and help those in need while sticking to my duties. The management was pretty bad and would get worked up over many things, – more... favoring others as well. My co-workers were pretty great, most of them were elder and very sweet, attentive and helpful when I was in a slum. The hardest part of the job was having to organize and maintain the shoes and lingerie section whilst going to the cash register every other minute to diminish the line. I would have to say the most enjoyable part of the job was finally seeing everything nice and organized during closing hours, knowing the job was well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good temp job if you are thick-skinned
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brighton, ENGJuly 14, 2014
Pros: in-depth induction, being paid accurately, getting paid double-time for new year's day.
Cons: contradictions and power trips
A typical day consisted of four solid hours either at the till with a permanent queue, in a quiet changing room alone or tidying. Tidying meant mostly picking stuff off the floor; paying attention to detail was a reason to be shouted at (even by non-Managers). Was constantly under-appreciated and told off, for instance taking a minute and a half to – more... put each customer through the till properly was too slow.

Managers either contradicted each other or practiced double standards, e.g. gossiping among themselves and then telling you off for having a brief work-related conversation.

A few colleagues were approachable and friendly through the majority had as much warmth as Hal from Space Odyssey. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but low job security.
Store Associate (Former Employee), Riverside, CAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: wonderful people, minimum wage pay.
Cons: high employee turn over rate.
• Responsible for my department of the day, helping customers, doing go backs, and recovery.
• I have worked in the following departments:
• Home Goods
• Fitting room
• Men’s apparel
• Woman’s apparel
• Junior’s apparel
• Lingerie
• Accessories
I got along very well with my co-workers.
There was a wonderful Management staff.
This job was very easy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pace workplace with little team/individual appreciation
Associate (Former Employee), santee caJuly 10, 2014
Cons: minimun hours, low pay
a typical day consisted of stocking the floor with merchandise.
the management was very impersonal and unethical.
my co-workers were very nice and hard working people.
the hardest part of the job was the fast pace, but was easy to overcome.
this was not an enjoyable job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Westborough, MAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: great cafe
Cons: short breaks
Fast paced, always working, always on your toes. Never a dull moment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teenage jobs
Cashier and Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee), Garner, NCJuly 9, 2014
Pros: paycheck
Cons: school
The typical work day for me was simple to run the fitting rooms and to put out clothing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great and fun place to work!
Customer Service and retail (Former Employee), Woodinville, WAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: working with customers, advancing customer service skills
Cons: the pay, lack of hours, and medical
Tjmaxx required customer service skill, retail, and some cleaning and organizing. This was my first customer service position that was not on the phone, so I learned many different and new skills. I was in charge of customer issues, working the cash register, and basic phone skills. I loved my coworkers and all of my supervisors. The hard part was being – more... on my feet during my pregnancy, but it was also fun and chance to meet many great people. The biggest issue was the pay, and my need for a larger income. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and exciting place to work.
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: incentives
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work would consist of me making sure my department and other departments were visually appealing to customers. I also had cash handling responsibilities when needed. I learned that their are a lot of different personalities that you must adjust yourself to, so that you can get the job done. The hardest part of my job would have to be – more... the fact that it is a team effort, so if one teammate is off it knocks everyone off balance. The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be the customers, seeing them happy and satisfied because you assisted them and went beyond expectations is very rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn Retail
Ops ASM (Former Employee), Everett, WAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: customer service, team work, long breaks
Cons: time mgmtt, pushing of credit sales
Monitoring merchandise sales, store operations and employee performance, records of bookkeeping and accounting, and promotions and advertisements. Strong leadership and entrepreneurial skills to fully oversee the daily activities of the store. Know the business operations of the business follow up with performance reviews of the store team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday Job
Merchandise Associate (Former Employee), Charter Township of Clinton, MIJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great customer and co-workers
Cons: never had problem
I Worked the fitting room until 12 after my break I went to back to censor the clothing until 3:30 then I worked the cash register, until closing. I worked here for a few weeks. I had to let this job go because the distance was to far from home
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with receiving/Helping with Truck
Receiving/Cashier (Former Employee), Stafford, VAJuly 8, 2014
My typical day at work is soon as I get in from work. I help with the truck; which consists of moving boxes and processing furniture and shoes before it arrives to the sale floor. I learned how to process and Set up furniture. Co workers were very helpful and friendly, very down to earth. Same goes for management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Sales and floor associate (Current Employee), Arklow, WWJuly 8, 2014
Each day is different for me from working on the shop floor to processing the delivery or merchandising the store. The most enjoyable part of the job for me Is driving sales to meet comp figures and the administrative areas i learned about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overal nice place to work
Assigns associate (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 8, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: short lunch breaks. improper management
I enjoyed working for this company overall. I did not particularily like management treatment of employees (Of which management was disciplined by General Manager regarding). The associates did not receive proper training nor gratitude for work accomplished. The hours did not work well for me. I would have appreciated more hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
DC Supervisor (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 8, 2014
Managed multiple areas, while attending at least three meetings per day, and managing department and building goals. Great culture and supporting staff for events.

About The TJX Companies, Inc.

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more