The TJX Companies, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 105 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gud work conditions
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  55 west drive bramotn on27 November 2016
this hr management is too gud bcze they r solve our problems at time to time i really thankfull to this co i have learned the lots of things overthere
Pros
free lunch sometime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON23 November 2016
okay, not bad easy labor , unfair distribution of work and pay rates need to be pro rated as certain departments are much harder than others
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job environment
AAssociate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON15 November 2016
Job Environment is really good .All of the co workers are very helpful and work in a team .

The Management is nice and I learned how to work in a team and fulfill the requirements to achieve the goal
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very learning and fun workplace
SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  London15 November 2016
a thought so many things such like management skills, time management, customer services, selling products, dealing with customers etc during my previous jobs. and i'm so happy for all this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place culture
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 November 2016
TJX is the best place to work,learn and to enhance my skills.They have excellent management,efficient supervisors and i have a multicultural work environment.
My Day at TJX starts with associates meeting at supervisor's desk,where i get information about the daily individual target,team target ,quiz of the week,Healthy and safety class and so on.

we have a friendly and relaxed work system,the most enjoyable part of my job is to see new merchandise ,its style ,price and to cross the daily target.
i never found anything hard ,each day is a new experience,something new to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My working experience at TJX
packing (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 November 2016
TJX is a safe and diverse place to work, I learned teamwork, empowerment and time management. There was great management. Co-workers were very friendly, kind and they helped out. They were also very honest. There was nothing really hard about the job other than last minute orders, but with the help of co-workers, it was much easier. The most enjoyable part of the job has to be the teamwork because work gets done on time rather than if you were working individually.
Pros
People were very encouraging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment, busy store
Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  London, ON9 November 2016
Very merchandise driven, customer focused store. Happy friendly Associates. Wish there were more opportunities to advance within the company...seems to be limited. I am a continuous learner so I wish there were more opportunity, courses offered online or in store.
Pros
Great Customers, Great team
Cons
Never enough time lol
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most frustrating part of the job
Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 October 2016
Everyone is looked at as being the same, whether they work super hard or are lazy bumps on a log. The annual review is a joke, as is the raises that go with them. It is rather disheartening that such a large company does NOT care about the people who run things at store level except for management. Even their management see a large turn-over in employees and in management. The people at store level are normally pretty awesome though, but it would be nice if the company actually cared.
Pros
Physically demanding without having to be outside
Cons
tons of work for unfair pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace to work with excellent team members and management
Associate (Current Employee) –  White Rock, BC4 October 2016
A great place to work, amazing team members, good work load, great opportunities to learn and grow. Great learning experience of environment. Helps understand the community and team/ management provides great customer service. attitude of management and other team workers makes customers come back continuously.
Pros
great team and management, friendly, enthusiastic, energetic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job not enough hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON30 September 2016
left due to over hiring and not enough hours to live on. staff was ok , chaotic at times, with no staff to cover all departments . resulting in theft and messy store
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team and associates
Assistant Manager - Customer Services / Operations (Current Employee) –  Burbany BC26 September 2016
A great company with values and oppurtunities.
Task can get repitative and boring. plenty of mutli tasking.
Each store has its own working procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2016
Great place to work, a very dynamic and fast pace environment. Salary and benefits great, job security present, a lot of growth opportunities, decision
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Data Entry clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 September 2016
Relaxed and productive work place. Very business like and will recommend it for people now starting in the job market and like relaxed environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly peers
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON4 September 2016
all the peers are very friendly and helpful to any newcomers. most of them are extend full cooperation to any new one so that he.she can learn anything faster.
Pros
everyone so cooperative
Cons
will not get proper training from the supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company; poor management
Logistics Reporting Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 September 2016
- the company encouraged a work- life balance very well
- the corporation placed high value upon its associates
- poor management within specific teams
- skills were not utilized or developed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic place to work!
Frontline Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON3 September 2016
Working at Homesense gives you many opportunities, such as transferring to any Winners, Homesense or Marshalls if you need to move and you will not lose your current pay. The staff and management at my location was awesome!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, medium pay
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 August 2016
Great place to work. Great culture, nice new home office.

Low to medium pay. Slow advancement unless you are in planning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and amazing people you meet
Loss Prevention Investigator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 August 2016
A typical day at TJX would be me getting signed in by the manager. then i would start reviewing footage of previous fraudulent returns or any theft activities from our external incident reports.i then would do a huddle with all associates and start using the cameras to search for any unprohibited activities. i would make lawful arrests with the 5 elements for either fraud or theft. i would report to police in any region that i am working.

Management taught me many other tricks to the trade in order to move up.

Everyone i worked with had a positive attitude and had a ver good knowledge of all policies and laws

the most enjoyable part of the job is that you feel like a part of a family where everyone looks out for you
Pros
good pay reasonable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Winners Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 August 2016
Winners is a great place to work! Great for students that just need a part-time job and for people who love fashion and big brands. Working at Winners has it's benefits there's a lot of incentive programs for the associates to keep you motivated!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Named one of the best places to work
Marshall's Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 August 2016
Working with TJX Canada has been an interesting experience.

During my time with TJX Canada, I have met the CEO of the company and he visited a bunch of stores nationwide seeing if the stores were doing well and if all of the employees were being treated well. Before the time for his visit, our store was made to look superb, top to bottom, by our store manager. Had everything been done properly from the get-go, we wouldn't have needed to change a bunch of things and a lot more associates' daily shifts would have been more efficient.

With that being said, managers at a Marshalls, Winners or Homesense expect a lot from their associates. They basically work you to the bone and if you're working on the floor and not in a designated spot. For example, the dressing room or working a cash register, you're expected to do way less than other people in the warehouse or on the sales floor. Managers have gotten mad at associates for not completing their designated jobs for the day which I found to be a little over the top.

There were a lot of fundraisers and lunchroom parties which was nice. Every summer there is a picnic with prizes to be won and same with the Christmas party, there were always great prizes to be won.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Tedious job, favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The TJX Companies, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 3,998 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.6

The TJX Companies, Inc. Reviews by Location