Find companies:
The Source
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
80 reviews

The Source Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place but out of business.
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), Lethbridge AlbertaSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: loved it
Cons: gone
Commission computer and electronic sales, warranty sales, merchandising.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, always able to learn!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Georgetown, OntarioSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: awesome benefits, so much room and opportunity to advance quickly!
Cons: long commute for myself, long hours.
In a typical day as an assistant manager, I would spend time keeping the team motivated, in the know, and providing answers to questions or curiosities both from the staff and the customers.
I would assist customers with sales, technical support and personal issues with their Bell or Virgin services.
I maintained organization of paperwork and filing – more... systems, staff information, and had a strong knowledge of product available for sale both within the present store or other locations, including an online shopping center. I maintained the cleanliness of the store with very high standards and ensured then staff understood the importance and necessity of those standards at all times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little to no room for advancement as well as bad pay
Assisstant Manager (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 11, 2014
Pros: coworkers
Cons: pay and benefits
A typical day of work is trying to sell cell phones to every single customer that walks in the door, whether they want it or not, and try to overcome objections. I learned a lot about product because I was surrounded by it, but you have to try to learn. Most knowledge isn't taught properly. Co-workers are typically awesome. Working at the Source in – more... a large city means you get to work with a lot of people from different stores and most of them are fun and nice. The management is constantly changing and inconsistent from person to person. Rules and requirements differ between managers due to bad and inconsistent training. The hardest part of the job is dealing with rude and negative customers as well as the terrible pay and benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and great workplace
Sales Associate/Merchandiser (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 13, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: too many pressure on selling.
mangement was amaizng, great place to work fun, educational and made me want to go to work everyday. just a great place to be in general.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, room for advancement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 22, 2014
Good pay, room for advancement. Emphasis on customer service and growing customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at first, but not so much lately
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 19, 2014
Pros: discounts, some medical/dental coverage, on a busy day commision
Cons: lack of raises, 3-5 hrs a day, vacations cut short, bullying
A typical day at work is when I come in the afternoon for my shift, manager goes over a daily planner. I have learned about different products of the store over the years. The management is unpredictable at best. It is difficult on getting a raise from him His moods are always different day by day. He can be playful at times while being somewhat of – more... a bully at others, by texting you on a mistake that you made a few days back, while already feeling guilty. My co-workers can be great at times, but feel like I am in a 'cut throat' environment, with cell phone competition, while one talks to a customer on one day about buying a cell phone, then next the same customer goes to a different day while you are not there to sell it and the co worker or manager gets the sale and you don't get the commission. The hardest part of the job, is that I can not please everyone.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when new product comes in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really enjoyed it, great experience!
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cobourg, ONJune 17, 2014
The job was very interesting, I was a sales associate for both Bell Mobility Canada, and for The Source.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work at
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJune 6, 2014
- Amazing place to work at.
- Great Team
- Great Atmosphere
- Challenging yet very interesting work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was semi-productive but could use a good look at management.
Cashier/Assistant manager (Former Employee), Arnprior, ONMay 28, 2014
Pros: the paycheck.
Cons: everything else.
I would go in and pray for customers it really isn't that busy. I learned how to sell bell. I have no good words about management. The hardest part of the job was trying to be civil with management. The most enjoyable part of my day was leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On Phone
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Greater Toronto Area, ONMay 27, 2014
Job Work/Life Balance - 5/10
Salary - 3/10
Benefits - 0/10
Job Security/Advancement - 2/10
Management - 4/10
Job Culture - 4/10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment with an always changing product market.
Sales Associate/Shift Leader (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONMay 13, 2014
A typical day for me consists of arriving early, doing daily communication and inventory management routines, then opening the doors to the public. In electronics there is always something new, but especially with The Source's focus on cellular service and wireless devices, the change comes that much faster. I learned to keep on top of all the news – more... in my field of business not just our own. Always checking competitors offers to see where we stand and where our advantage is was key to closing the sale. Although I have never help an official management position I have performed managerial tasks for a majority of my time with The Source. My experience and drive lead my managers to leave me in charge of store operations during their absence for conferences held throughout the year. I enjoy the various competitions held internally to drive us to better sales goals, as well as the built in reward program for those who can perform well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to interact with people while making sales
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONMay 9, 2014
Great place to start in retail if you enjoy talking to people and enjoy meeting and exceeding sales target, than it would be an ideal placement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dawson Creek, BCMay 4, 2014
Pros: lots to learn, great coworkers, friendly competitions to keep things interesting.
Great coworkers helped me learn what to do, easy job advancement if you want to, lots of fun and friendly competitions, always learning something new about electronics and gaming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN ENVIROMENT
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), EDMONTON, ABMay 1, 2014
GREAT FOR STUDENTS THAT CANNOT WORK THE ENTIRE 5 DAYS A WEEK, NINE TO FIVE, VERY ACCOMMODATING AND APPROCHABLE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
SALES CONSULTANT (Current Employee), Kanata, ONMay 1, 2014
Great part-time experience especially as a student. Allows for one passionate about electronics to do what you love.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sexist and transphobic boss
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONApril 17, 2014
Cons: sexist, transphobic, unfair
Sexist & transphobic boss. Did not let me work the cash at all, confined me to back room as a stockperson when my job title was sales rep. Did not let me know about tests, did not get me proper clothing when all other new employees got their clothing in less than a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABMarch 26, 2014
it was fun and knowledge of product was very helpful. always something new to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a lot of fun to work at
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Greater Sudbury, ONFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: makes extra money with selling warranties.
Cons: can be slow at times.
There's never a dull moment working at the Source. Staff is very helpful and management is great to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Mobile Specialist (Current Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: commission
Cons: sales pressure
We sell Bell Mobility and Virgin Mobile services. Our day mostly consists of selling the wireless services. We have extensive knowledge about the electronics and latest technologies and devices. The hardest part of the work gathering information from customers in order to provide the best deal we have. Customers usually hesitant about talking and discussing – more... what they have. I learned how to make sales effectively and satisfy our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can avoid working here you'll be a happier person
Sales associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 30, 2014
Where to start? You being working there excited for the opportunity to work with people and help customers and are told that you're there to provide the best experience for the customer. But you quickly learn that you are actually there to provide the most frustrating and annoying experience for customers. You are given almost no training on the technical – more... aspects of many of the items in the store and are taught exclusively about cell phone plans and to a lesser degree TV and internet plans. When a customer walks in you are to greet them, find out what they want and then try for all you can to convert the conversation to cell phones or any service you can sell to them. Just came in for batteries? How about a cell phone? Looking for a toy for a 4 year old? Let me ask you about your cell phone. I was also expected to clean, stock, schedule, organize inventory, open/close the store, memorize continually changing service deals and promotions all for minimum wage. And of course none of these extra duties should have an effect on your sales according to the management who continually come down on you on everything. Seriously, if you can avoid working for this company you will be a happier and better person for it. – less

1 2 3 4

About The Source

As one of Canada’s leading Consumer Electronics and Wireless retailers with 650+ locations across Canada, The Source provides – Read more