Find companies:
The Shoe Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

The Shoe Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enviroment
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 27, 2014
Everythuing was great about this job enjoyed the other housekeepers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun and energetic work environment!
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Surrey, BCMarch 5, 2014
The Shoe Company is not your typical shoe store. Everyone cares about their clients, we treat our customers like friends. I very much enjoy getting to work with a lot of different people!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with a good team
Visualy Product Manager (Current Employee), Burlington, ONFebruary 10, 2014
. Receive new stock
. Transfer out stock
.Process all new stock
. Merchandise all new stock
.Responsible for all store dispalys/flows of product
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lighthearted staff with customer service dedication.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), London, ONFebruary 1, 2014
Friendly and easygoing work environment with a focus on customer satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, laid back, comfortable working environment, amazing co-workers
Floor sales/cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: discounted shoes
Cons: low pay
I used to open on weekends and work closing during the week. This job taught me the best customer service techniques and how to learn things quickly, it also taught me inventory and the beginnings of being an assistant manager. My co-workers were all roughly my age which made it easier to talk to them and build a better work relationship with them all – more... making the store a happier and more inviting place to shop. The hardest part of the job was finding what the customer wanted when they themselves had no idea either. The best part of the job was giving someone exactly what they needed when the had no idea what they wanted and the gratitude they showed after. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with connected people.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Scarborough, ONJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: major discounts on sale items.
Cons: not much growth to be done within.
The Shoe Company has a great work environment and an excelling place to obtain experience working with other customers. It allows you to humble yourself and understand their troubles as well as helps you develop problem solving skills, separate from those often found out of the work place. The managers are approachable and understanding, allowing for – more... a sense of ease. The hardest part of the job would have to be letting down a customer. The easiest part is when you have the answers ready and can assist the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun learning a new area of retail
Associate Manager (Former Employee), Edmonton AlbertaJanuary 1, 2014
The Shoe Company was my first step out of clothing retail so it was fun learning the footwear end of retail.

I was hired as an Associate Manager which meant I was responsible for all the jobs the manager did but with out the bonus each month. I was the training manager as well as the stock manager. I worked really well with the general manager of the – more... store because we complimented each others skills and abilities

My general manager was one of the best I have had in my time in retail and I learned a lot from him, however the corporate management wasn't so educational. I wanted to advance in the company but was told because I didn't have a University education that was not going to happen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), markham,OnDecember 19, 2013
Co- workers were great
learned how to sell shoes
as well as use the cash register
very unorganized, get called in at random times of the day
working with my co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow Pace
Sales Associate (Former Employee), TorontoDecember 12, 2013
The location I worked at was slow paced, and had little customer variety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working staff.
Stock Manager/VPM (Current Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 7, 2013
Pros: earned medals towards shoes/boots.
Cons: very part-times hours.
My experience was generally good. I learned how to follow strict guidelines regarding store requirements for look and feel that the head office created for each of its stores.
I had an amazing staff of fellow employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not consider realities of time management
Manager (Former Employee), Ancaster, ONOctober 1, 2013
Pros: shoe dollars, fairly good training programs for management
Cons: long hours, no life/work balance
The company doesn't give enough hours for the work they expect to be done. Their visual directives are a joke. From my experience district managers do not visit the store enough, but expect perfection without any direction. Some Assistant managers are not only expected to help the Manager, but are also expected to run a department as well, but are not – more... paid to do both jobs. There is no hours given for consistant staff meetings, when hours are alotted they do not come close to what you would need, so you are expected to also cut hours from other areas while continuing to give the same service. Staff are expected to do a training manual but are not given the training hours so they generally do not get completed causing a landslide of problems with the staff in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Oriented
Visual Product Manager (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 21, 2013
The company has an operating policy designed solely around the ease of customer shopping and customer satisfaction. There is a lot expected of a team member but the work atmosphere is very considerate of this and help is always available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great training!
Store Manager (Former Employee), BurlingtonJune 13, 2013
Pros: shoe bucks
Cons: expected to work every friday closing and every saturday. no life
Everyday was something different. I learned performance and time management. I loved training staff and truly enjoyed the customer service. The hardest part of the job was dealing with staff that had very close relationships with my DM, there for making it impossible to execute action plans regarding performance. No support in these situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun professional environment !
Product and Visual manager (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 5, 2013
Pros: great benefits, rewards
Cons: very busy
Great place to work with amazing staff. Management is awesome as well as cooworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Current Employee), Hamilton Ontario and London OntarioMay 22, 2013
Very pleasant work place
Customers and staff both very friendly
Work load was challenging but not overwhelming
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenge
Manager (Former Employee), Pickering, ONFebruary 22, 2013
Pros: free shoes
Cons: half and hour wkends lunch
Enjoyable
Customer always a priority #1
Teambuilding
Great and easy staff
Clients try to walkaway with non-pay merchandise
Reach weekly goals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place where you can hunt for the best shoes in the city
Client/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Regina, SKJune 27, 2012
Pros: get pizza when our shop was chosen among for good buisness
Cons: long standing.no coffee breaks
As part of your work you learn new things everyday. Some previous managers and co-workers were really helpful. Sometimes your good work get unnoticed. Getting lots of customer compliments directly and through mystery shopping results were really enjoyable and boosted confidence to do work with 100% . "Cutting shift hours and salary part'' was little – more... hard . But great place for shoe shopping no doubt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 1, 2012
Pros: great incentive program
The Shoe Company provides excellent training programs to ensure their Associates are successful.
The product is easy to endorse to the clients. The quality stands out.
There is a very strong sense of "Teamwork".