The Shoe Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON12 February 2018
The Shoe Company has an extremely friendly team, flexible hours and good management. It is a good place to work and provides opportunity for self growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual environment with room for advancement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON7 February 2018
The shoe company is a good place to work, allowing room for advancement ank skill development. They offer regular trainings and always looking ways to inprove the work environment. I enjoyed that I could learn and use new skills, the team was always great to work with.
Pros
Learn and use multiple new skills.
Cons
Retail hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON31 January 2018
They really gave back to their employees provided customer service was your top priority. Ensured your secret shopper reviews got good scores you were rewarded with bonus bucks. one dollar for every buck. It was nice to not have to pay for shoes and it was a great incentive to keep the employees motivated and wanting to do their job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with great and welcoming people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON10 January 2018
The Shoe Company is an amazing workplace. They are very welcoming and everyone becomes a family. You learn great work ethics and grow to become better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to interact with customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON23 December 2017
Helping out customers find the right shoe and answering their questions. Make sure the customer is happy and satisfied with the shoe they buy. Providing best service possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly enviornment
Assistant Manager/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 September 2017
had an incredible time working there, great employees, good management, physical job, but very interactive and enjoyable. customers were friendly, and happy.
Pros
group lunches, made great friendships with employees
Cons
10.5 hour sundays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership and potential for advancement
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON9 September 2017
I learned the most that I had to learn about being an effective member of the management company with this company here. I had an amazing supervisor and manager who worked with me well to improve on my skillset. I was able to coach and managed my team members and meet the sales targets and expectations of the store. Great and fun environment to work in, and so many incentives and perks. Bonuses were easy to achieve in this high volume store..
Pros
Great incentives and bonuses!
Cons
None to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and fast paced environment to work in
Perform Manager Duties (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 August 2017
A very fun and welcoming place to work at and associates are very friendly with one another, everyone is treated and accepted as part of the group. Managers are very understanding and flexible with scheduling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't pay well for amount of work expected to be done.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON13 August 2017
Management doesn't protect employees, pays minimum wage but has a large workload, benefits are not worth it, rules are becoming stricter. Everyone takes their job too seriously for a shoe store, and are extremely greedily invested in sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Associate/ Visual/ Stock (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 August 2017
Overall a good place to work. Management is accommodating and kind. They have a decent culture and reward their staff for doing a good job. Plus, everyone needs shoes, so you get rewarded with something you would have had to buy to begin with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees not happy
customer service (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS9 August 2017
The management here was very disrespectful, not caring or compassionate for anyone. They favoured specific employees and made it very well known that some employees do not fit into the "clique". Felt bullied as an employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a manager change would make it better
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 July 2017
i enjoyed my experience with the customers and would recommend to someone looking for a casual job. When i was hired i said yes because i was told i would be getting 10-20 hours minimum. i worked there for 7 months and only once did i get a work week over 10 hours. the manager was not someone i felt comfortable with. When i explained my situation and how i needed the extra hours she explained that the store was not in a position to give me more than 5 a week, but then proceeded to hire more staff. Overall this company would have been a lot more enjoyable if my manager was not like this.
Pros
aside from head manager, good environment and people
Cons
to many employees, not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible work setting, bad attitude towards regular and part- time employees
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ON17 July 2017
horrible attitude towards part-time and full-time employee's. Management was not understanding of the staff's needs and ignored multiple cries for improvement of the work environment.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours, horrible organization or the work setting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible environment
Assistant senior manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 July 2017
This is the worst job I have ever had. Zero practical training and no consistency in management and expectations. I would not recommend this company to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and laid back retail environment
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON27 June 2017
Although head office seemed unenthusiastic when it came to supporting it's employees in stores, The Shoe Company provides excellent training, is willing to go through positive policy and system changes for the benefit of it's employees, productivity as well as it's customers and gives their employees great opportunities to thrive as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Associate (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON24 June 2017
Everyone that worked at the Shoe Company was quite friendly and willing to help when assistance was needed. You could always ask for assistance if you were not sure how to do something. It was a fun work environment.
Pros
Friendly Staff
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Connection
Customer Service Expert (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 June 2017
Shoe Company has an amazing and dynamic company culture, we were like a family that supported one another. The customers there were friendly and welcomed out help and input.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Customer Service & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON5 June 2017
It was not worth the minimum wage. The people were amazing and that's honestly the only reason I stayed as long as I did. However, the tasks I was asked to do, like unclog the toliet or inhale mold which made half the employees sick just was not worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shoes
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 June 2017
Was not a good place to work. Management was very careless and did not like to address issues. Only there for some part time work during school. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail shoe store
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 June 2017
Was a good starter retail management job, although was very unorganized and had poor management,
Hardest part was the schedules were always posted super late.
Pros
discount on shoes
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Shoe Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 92 reviews
525
426
319
29
113

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture