The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 233 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed my projects accordingly.
Maintenace (Former Employee) –  Tyler, TX17 May 2017
Diagnosis on all machines. Functionality of all equipment was my task.
Accomplishments:
Experience of similar jobs enabled me to troubleshoot machines quicker than other non ex.... workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work
Secretary/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Oxford, PA16 May 2017
I worked for scotts company scheduling the trucks that would deliver the merchandise to different stores, and I would schedule multiple trucks and send deliveries
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome management
Territory Sales/Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Kennesaw, GA10 May 2017
Overall my time at Scotts was great. The management in my base shop was awesome and made the position worth going to each day. I referred several technicians to work at Scotts and most are still working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good company to work for
Category Analyst (Former Employee) –  Marysville, OH3 May 2017
generous benefits
nice management
not a lot of exposures
a lot to learn
friendly coworkers to work with
very strict policy working with order minimum requirements that could miss some opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be stressful but all in all a good place to work
Yard Driver, Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Vance, AL26 April 2017
There is no way to do a review of an ordinary day at Scotts, one day isn't like any other day, Monday is not the same as Tuesday and so on and so forth. One day may be the most stressful day of your life and the next could be the most relaxed day you've ever had.
Pros
Safety Oriented, first and foremost
Cons
Pay could be more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oxford
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Oxford, PA19 April 2017
Good place to work for decent wage . Lots of overtime and steady work . Poor management in office the operation manager clueless to what needs to be done older employees do not follow rules but quick to point out others who break them.
Pros
Lots of overtime
Cons
Poor management front office clueless to what goes on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great frontline employees, Corporate not so great
Manager (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GA18 April 2017
The frontline empployees and local level management are awesome and understand what it takes to manage the business however the corporate team leaves a lot to be desired. Policies and procedures are not considerate of internal or external customer needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, slow changing
Product Portfolio Manager (Former Employee) –  Marysville, OH9 April 2017
Managed cross functional teams to ensure timeline, quantity and quality were met.
• Coordinate New Product Planning with Operations, Manufacturing, Quality, Engineering and
• Created and communicated project plans and updates to manufacturing and operations teams.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Jackson, GA1 April 2017
Since i have started at scotts the people i have met have been very courteous and professional. It is a productive work environment, and one that i will be sad to leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A large company with lots of opportunity
Transportation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Waverly, VA29 March 2017
The Scotts Company offers a lot of opportunity. There are many divisions under the Scotts umbrella including plant level shipping and manufacturing, lawn care, and other subsidiaries.
Pros
big company with lots of opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, fun, productive, and understading
Merchandiser and Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Upper Marlboro, MD24 March 2017
An environment where you get flexible hours, and also a lot of them as well. You manage your own time, and there is great fun and respect for all employees. No boss breathing down your back, communication is valued and you meet a lot of laid back employees in your own company as a vendor, or in the host store. You have things to get done during your scheduled day, but you can come in anytime, doing it in the order you want by yourself or with a coworker, as long as everything is done, than just submit hours after the day. So happy with this company and I hope others experience the same awesome team and experience like I did. Didn't know such great jobs existed. And no, I'm not paid to write this lol.
Pros
Great pay, trust in employees, great respect
Cons
To find any, I have to think hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Fun Job
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Marysville, OH24 March 2017
Great flexibility, just not sure I like where the company is going. The flexibility is less and less every year. Microscopic Micromanaging is making the daily work culture suffer a little.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some supervisors treat subordinates poorly
PLANT EDUCATION CURRICULUM DEVELOPER (Former Employee) –  Marysville, OH23 March 2017
They like to bring in consulting firms to "clean house" every few years, so not a lot of job security.... especially if you are higher in the ranks....
Pros
great benefits
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company everybody is friendly just wasnt what i was interested in
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Belton, SC19 March 2017
I liked the job youd haft to be there at 7am start working all the people were cool to work with it was assembly lines it was hard work being honest and it wasn't something i liked
Pros
Smoke in parking lot good environment
Cons
10 min breaks only 4
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, cut mileage per diem, poor management
Merchandiser seasonal (Former Employee) –  Michign10 March 2017
The company hired you and then takes away your travel per diem. They just started "tracking" you on GPS. Management lacks communication skills, ethics and ability to cooperate with others. Pay is not great and when they cut travel money you may as well look for another job. Working in the stores is fine u til you have a manager breathing down your neck. They run a business that "bullies" and blames seasonal employees for its sales.

If you need a job, I would look elsewhere.....not worth your time. You will not advance despite their saying you will. People stay in these positions for a long time and only get five to six months of work. Terrible.
Pros
Some independence
Cons
Pay, management, no future, get blamed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The closest job to owning my own business
Plant Manager, Growing Media (Former Employee) –  Chester, SC7 March 2017
Full charge remote location reporting to upper management in Corporate headquarters in Marysville, Ohio. Spring season was always the primary challenge providing excellent customers service to Lowes, Home Depot, Walmart, and many others. Required a tremendous culture of safety first, quality and then operational efficiency to meet day to day challenges. Out of 36 Growing media plants Nationally, our plant was awarded Plant of the Year twice, 2004 and 2008.
Pros
Fun job, preparation and execution were primary focus.
Cons
Constant worry about associate safety.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work good people and they make you fill like a family
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Madison, IA3 March 2017
This job is a great place to work love the people everyone shows up with a smile on there face and ready to work hard the company makes you fill very comfortable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job but management/stores makes it miserable
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  North Carolina25 February 2017
The job is simple for merchandising and the hours are great for the first half of the year. The real problem is management. Not only is there no room for advancement but training is non-existent. Managers are too busy to train staff so they leave store associates or fellow merchandisers with not much more experience to do it. You are constantly constrained by responsibilities that could cut your hours if you fail or reap no benefits when you succeed as the Sales Manager keeps all the bonuses and recognition. Only consider this job for a stepping stone for something better or as a side/part-time job. It's too unstable for anyone looking for a serious job.
Pros
Good pay, good environment, easy work.
Cons
terrible management, little training, no accountability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but great atmosphere
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FL18 February 2017
Short hours, hard work, great people. Being a seasonal job, there were few hours to go around and being new you're the first to go, but that's how most places work. Really enjoyed my time working there and it provided myself with priceless knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great !
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Garden Grove, CA17 February 2017
Well run organization and the co-workers are outstanding, look forward to working with them for a long time. Great leadership, with great a great organization.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Scotts Miracle-Gro Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 233 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

76%
67 ratings
Add your rating