Find companies:
The Scotts Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
45 reviews

The Scotts Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK
Quality control technician (Former Employee), Tyler texasAugust 10, 2014
I worked there for a little while as the quality control technician. They are unorganized, rude and backstabbing. The production supervisor was ex military and he treated the employees like they were stupid and didn't know how to do anything. He was mean to the employees. He tried to cover up stuff by making the people he managed take the blame for – more... his mistakes. He does not even know how to run any of the machines on the floor. The office manager was the rudest of them all. She tried to do as little as she could, she needs to be fired. Everyone in that facility that works in the office needs to be FIRED and they need new people in there ASAP. THIS IS A HORRIBLE COMPANY TO WORK FOR. I DONT RECOMMEND ANY ONE TO WORK FOR THESE HORRIBLE PEOPLE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice
D2D Sales (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAAugust 4, 2014
Pros: got to be outside meeting people.
Cons: long hours, low pay. inconsistent and unstable from week to week. unprofessional.
D2D Sales Rep. Don't look at this as a job. Look at it as a temporary fill in. In sales, that's how you are viewed by Scotts so why not turn the table on them. You are safe your first week- maybe 2. After that, if you don't make your sales quota you are gone. They breed an environment of lies and cheating which ultimately filters down to the customer. – more... Scotts wins. The sales reps and customers lose. It's so numbers driven that the focus of where it all started - the customer has lost it's original intended purpose. Ghosting is common ( technicians claiming to have serviced a lawn but don't ). Signing up customers for services they never really wanted ( maybe wanted 2 applications but get all 6). Over 60 hours a week 6 days a week only to miss time with family for 12.00 per hour ( if you break it out hourly and that's WITH the minimum sales quota commission). Is it worth it? If you are not working, need something to do and don't have any options. Just keep it in perspective of being only temporary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Analytical Senior Specialist (Current Employee), Marysville, OHJuly 21, 2014
Pros: free health care
Cons: na
Great Company with excellent opportunities.
Benefits are great.
On-site clinic which is free.
On-site pharmacy generic prescriptions are free.
Fitness center is only a few dollars a month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergoing a lot of change
President Scotts LawnService (SLS) (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMay 6, 2014
Best brands in lawn and garden industry. Industry growth has slowed so need to find new ways to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Lean Manufacturing Manager (Current Employee), Avondale, PAApril 18, 2014
Pros: pleasant place to work
Cons: paper
Na . I done not believe it is ethical to review working at any company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to take pride in products
sales (Former Employee), midwestApril 16, 2014
Pros: great brands
Cons: big customers
Very seasonal in the midwest- very long hours and weekends in spring early summer and fall. Numbers driven, but what business isn't.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Representative/ Customer Service/ Counselor (Current Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAFebruary 19, 2014
Educated the consumers on proper usage of products, traveled to different locations and set-up displays to offer information on disease control as well as product. Worked closely with the public and offered services of assistance when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Merchandising Experience
Merchandiser / Vendor (Former Employee), Marysville, OHJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: gain tons of experience quickly
Cons: travling store to store
Got to work with a lot of wonderful people. Great for anyone who likes to travel around store to store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company with positive outlook
AUDITOR (Former Employee), Marysville, OHJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: workout facility
Cons: compensation
Overall Scotts provided a decent environment to excel. Employees were pushed to their limits, but often times management failed to recognize hard work.

Co-workers weren't the friendliest of people - you almost never saw associates socializing with one another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company and a great place to work
International SAP Master Data Manager (Current Employee), Ipswich, ENGJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: the people
I was fortunate to work for some great people. The business in Ipswich changed so much as it passed from being the well known and established Fisons Ltd, through the management buy out period to become part the wolds largest Horticulture business Scotts Miracle-Gro Company. In all that time my co-workers were always of the highest quality, it has been – more... a pleasure.

The company has offered me opportunities, I gained an MBA and have been lucky enough to travel to many far away places gaining so many experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is more concerned about themselves than the well being of its workers.
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Marysville, OHJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: not many
Cons: long hours, low pay, poor direction from upper management.
Typical day consisted of starting work at 6:00 am only to work till very late at night. Trying to deliver sales goals that at times were very unrealistic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working for the Scotts company
Lead Merchandiser (Current Employee), Marysville OhioDecember 30, 2013
Pros: very flexible
Cons: seasonal
I really like my position with Scotts I would really like to work year round
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard-work,low wages, no benefits. Rare chance of advancement.
Cell associate (Former Employee), Fort madison,IaDecember 13, 2013
Pros: very little, colorful people i guess.
Cons: it's a black hole of despair.
I've worked here off and on out of necessity. Because unfortunately there are no job options in my area. They hire you through a temp. service. They then have you do a years worth of within 6 months then lay you off in the spring. There is an unwritten policy, that if you get an injury from working and you report it, as intructed, you are fired. You – more... are underpaid for hard work that is only made harder so some fat cat, can line his pockets. There is no chance of being hired on full time. It's barely above indentured servantry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enviroment
Merchandiser (Former Employee), northern district for ILOctober 8, 2013
Merchandiser-responsible for stocking and inventory of Scotts products in the retail environment (e.g. Lowes, Homedepot, WalMart). These responsibilities included; usage of Plano-grams, assembly and stocking display units, inventory count, verification, receipt, product appearance and quality control of merchandise. This also required coordination with – more... store personal to complete daily task lists, product ordering and product demonstrations to customers. This required data entry into store inventory system. Must comply with quality and safety rules of both the company and store environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you like working from a home office
SALES MANAGER (Current Employee), Marysville, OHOctober 1, 2013
If you want to move up you have to move to Ohio which kind of stinks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and great employees
Merchandiser/Product Counselor (Seasonal) (Former Employee), NYSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: freedom to work without being micro managed.
Cons: seasonal, sales effected by weather
A typical day at work involved making sure products were displayed correctly and the shelves were stocked, in multiple stores. My manager and co-workers were all hard workers and respectable people. Sometimes the workers in Home Depot stores weren't very helpful dropping pallets because they were preoccupied with tasks given to them by their manager. – more... Overall it was a good experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!!!!
Field Merchandiser (Current Employee), Jackson, TNJune 26, 2013
Pros: got to go to lunch a lot
Cons: no benifits
It was very hard work but it was a great company to work for!!! Great Pay!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Merchandising Specialist (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 15, 2013
I had a great manager when I worked with this company. He was understanding and fair and told you up front what he expected from you and didn't overload you with a bunch of meaningless chatter. He was the manager, I was the employee. Sounds simple, but I like that kind of distinction in a job.

As a whole, the company also seemed to want to get everyone – more... involved in the company culture. I went to a few informational gatherings the company had with various retailers to explain new products and to get the word out about their products. It was very informational and a lot of fun. It made me feel like Scotts cared that I was part of their team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company on The Planet!
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Knoxville TnJune 13, 2013
Cons: everything
Management are a bunch of LIARS!!! Ghosting of lawns was a COMMON practice, techs do nothing, stick a bill in the mailbox and drive off!!! Happened in every region the east Tennessee call center covered from Raleigh, NC to Memphis, TN!! MGMT blamed staff for all the lost revenue and you lost your job if you didn't SAVE at least 95% of customers who – more... said to cxl the account. Common customer statement: MY LAWN LOOKS LIKE S***!!! OFFICE MGR, SALES MGR, and TECH MGR ALWAYS PUTTING OUT FIRES AND BILLING MGR ALWAYS GIVING REFUNDS!!!
The company works you to death then fires employees over things they said you did, like did not document notes when you did, change it on the system and then lie about it! They got caught and owed me $2000 in proven unemployment fraud!!! RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
merchandiser position
Merchandiser (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 12, 2013
Pros: good pay, good company, good people
Cons: temp positions
I enjoyed my merchandising job with Scotts. Would work with again next season.

1 2 3