The Salvation Army Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 296 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Clothing Associate in the donation center (Former Employee) –  Deer Lake, NLSeptember 14, 2015
Working at The Salvation Army Thrift Store was a great experience. the organization helped out the community in so many ways and i am grateful having to experience it.
Pros
Life lessons learnt
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsteady hours
Sales Associate/ Cashier/ Part-time Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QCSeptember 11, 2015
This work environment was dysfunctional at best, and the hours were not always consistent with what was promised. Not being paid for overtime also seemed to be a huge issue while working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I clean the rooms that are needed to be done for the next guest
House keeping (Current Employee) –  sutton,ontSeptember 9, 2015
Fun an exciting place to work. You to meet new people every day . The staff is very helpful helping with any issues that come up.
Pros
meet new people
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
such a rewarding place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 25, 2015
The salvation Army was a great place to work. I felt like I was really giving back to the community. The staff was very helpful towards me being new to the team, made me feel very welcome.
Although I felt as though some of the tasks they would assign needed extra protection such as gloves and cleaning products and they would not supply such things to do these jobs.
Pros
very fullfilling working with community
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
¨Salvation du Army¨
General Helper (Current Employee) –  Montreal QuebecAugust 13, 2015
A Typical day at work, I learned sorted articles and clothing,
pt clothes ion hangers, to do the distribution of clothes on
store floor, served customers....etc
The environment with my coworkers was so friendly, and
Servicial....etc
The hardest part of the job, were to work long hours in
produccion, separating clothes,bad of the new,...etc
the most enjoyable part of the job is serve to the customers.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always will love the sally
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ONAugust 12, 2015
Great place to work, with amazing employees and management.
always loved working on tills and talking with all the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work together as a team work.
Team for 1st aid report to Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kingsway, Burnaby, B.CJuly 30, 2015
Cashier, Design for display store, Cleaning. Learn to be part of Safety Team at the store. I have great Manager. I have good co-workers from different countries. The hardest part of the job dealing with various customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is fell like family.
Pros
Discount for clothing
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Volunteer Janitor (Former Employee) –  Williams Lake, BCJuly 27, 2015
I am not impressed with the new captain and wife running the Salvation Army in Williams Lake. I did enjoy meeting all the new people and seeing them smile most of the time
Pros
meet people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working for the Salvation Army
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  TORONTO, ONJuly 23, 2015
The Salvation Army is an outstanding place to work - Management is great to work for and with.

Enjoy company's BBQ and celebration
Pros
Enjoy company's BBQ and celebration
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to volunteer with nice workers
Food distributer (volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJuly 12, 2015
I did not work with them long as i only worked there for around 40 hours for the volunteering requirement for graduating high-school. But the workers there were nice.
Pros
nice work place, free water battles for workers
Cons
building somewhat hard to find
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team members lacked sense of urgency and professionalism
Donations attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 12, 2015
I enjoyed working within the salvation army, the people on the other hand were something else. very unprofessional and mean.
Pros
Outside all day
Cons
Childish management team
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier/Sorter (Former Employee) –  markhamJuly 11, 2015
I enjoyed working here there was always something new to see or do. There were lots of donations dropped off daily for us to sort thru and place on the floor for sale. I would also open and close the store entering final daily sales reports numbers and emailing them to head office.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Fort St John, BCJuly 10, 2015
Captains at the Salvation Army are caring and compassionate and not only help the broad community, but will do whatever they can for employees
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
Poor Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  ottawaJuly 6, 2015
My day starts with cleaning the cash area, then at nine i open the doors to stores. Im often at cash or work on floor. coworkers are amazing. Hardest part of the job lack of appreciation and repetitive work. Management can definitely improve.
I have learn about various brands and giving customer service.
Pros
50% employee discount
Cons
repetitive work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good volunteer work
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONJuly 3, 2015
great volunteer work for youth and friendly helplful supervisors. Learn the importance of giving back. Hard to know exactly how supervisors want tasks to be done.
Pros
Friendly supervisors
Cons
rarely but at times confusing instructions
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane, unfriendly and unrewarding
Cashier/Production Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SaskatchewanJune 19, 2015
Although I do like customrer service the Salvation Army was mundane and boring. A typical day consisted of sorting clothes, stocking the racks and shelves and assisting customers. I was able to enhance my customer service skills. The management team was unfriendly, rude and disrespectful. My co-workers varied from being very nice to being rude and obnoxious. The hardest part of my job was dealing with the unpleasant social environment. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with the customers.
Pros
Pay check
Cons
Unfriendly, mundane
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal employment review
Advertising Advocate (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ONJune 12, 2015
The position is seasonal and offers no permanent work. Due to the charity nature of the work, the wages are low.

I interacted with the public to increase donations, which I really enjoyed.

The work was part time which allowed personal time.

The management team was accessible online through email and punctual at work.

The short term nature of the work was the hardest part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Playing with children
Resident Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Yellowknife, NTJune 11, 2015
Working with outreach people. Addiction Counselling. At the men shelter serving food and shelter, maintain peace, doing programs.

I learned to,promote the dignity of all persons, meet human needs and being a transforming influence in the communities of our world, striving to be the best at what we do, honesty, trustworthy, and accountablity, Committment etc.,

I enjoying working as a team with co-workers, sharing food, learning culture, being honest and commeted.

Saying No, this is hard part of my life.

I enjoying by working. I feel work is worship.
Pros
According to the shift . lunch / supper
Cons
12hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and grow your faith
Cabin Leader (Former Employee) –  Jacksons Point, ONJune 3, 2015
You are responsible for watching over young kids and leading them to activities like hockey, canoeing and crafts.The hardest part of the job is dealing with the stress of watching over so many kids 24/7 but its worth it for the experience you get out of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Clothing Sorter (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ONMay 31, 2015
i did this as a volunteer!! it was a very good experience for me! co-workers were all great and friendly and always there when i needed them!!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,841 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

The Salvation Army Reviews by Location