Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,155 reviews

The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with common room, exercise room and dinning room
Janitorial/ housekeeping (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABAugust 12, 2013
Pros: free foods
Cons: nothing
My work is night shift from 11pm to 7:30 am. I learned to speak nice and good to all the resident and make friends with them. I have to manage my time of doing noisy work for the residents not be disturbed. I love team work so i listened and make suggestion to my co-worker. The hardest part of the job is when nobody helps and you do all the jobs. So – more... its very enjoyable when somebody helps or works with in order to finish job easily. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace of many different jobs to handle
Volunteer (Former Employee), Brampton, ONAugust 7, 2013
Pros: flexible job positions
The job is to either handle clothing at the back by sorting the type of clothing or handling incoming clothing donations and transferring them to the designated areas, or to handle clothing in the store by sorting out the clothing with expired tags from the ones with valid tags. The volunteer opportunity gave me the experience of working under pressure, – more... and under multiple supervisors. The management was very friendly, understanding and generous. The co-workers were quite helpful as well. The hardest part of the job was when the job you were given gets too repetitive. But the most enjoyable part was when that happens, you could go talk to your supervisor and they appoint you with another job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Volunteer (Former Employee), VernonAugust 2, 2013
Did lots of things to help out the less fortunate, felt good to help people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Salvation Army makes me feel good because they help a lot of needy people and I'm part of it
Store Associate (Current Employee), Calgary, ABAugust 2, 2013
Pros: we get 25% off on our purchases
Cons: we get less but more responsibilities
A typical day at work is to make sure the sales area is clean and tidy, customer service, multi-task to meet the quota for the day. I have learned how to deal with other people and be patient enough to customers that are not easy to please. The management is good especially our manager. She's so approachable. You will never feel like she's the manager – more... of the store because she mingles and works with us but we respect her as our manager. I don't like my other co-workers because they tend to be more bossy than our manager. I find multitasking is the hardest part of the job especially when we're lack of staff. You'll be everywhere in the store and do everything to meet the quota. What I enjoy most on my job is you can get good staffs at a lower price. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding position in a fast-paced facility.
LEAD RESIDENTIAL CARE WORKER (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 30, 2013
Pros: helping people from self harm.
Cons: seeing individuals harm themselves.
I help individuals rehabilitate from substance addiction coupled with mental health issues. This position primarily is inter-personal relationship building coupled with business administration. It is extremely fast-paced and rewarding. I never sit down and am always working on a task at every moment of each shift and I love it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for a job
Volunteer (Current Employee), fraser streetJuly 29, 2013
i am volunteering at the salvation army and i love to work with them ,they are friendly and very nice people .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Kettle Worker (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 27, 2013
Pros: smiles
Cons: long hours
I enjoyed and loved the opportunity to help needy children. It was really nice and comforting to see them so happy at Christmas time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salvation Army
Cashier, Sorter, Customer Service (Former Employee), Charlottetown, PEJuly 17, 2013
Pros: discount
Cons: alot of stock.
I found working for the Salvation Army interesting. I liked it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job where you feel you've made a difference,even for a moment, in an addicts life.
Addictions Support Worker (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 11, 2013
Pros: seeing the addict persona leave and the authentic person start to take control, little by little
Cons: working midnights, knowing a lot of people in sober living aren't ready and will relapse..
Typical day would be dispensing meds, finding out if any of the tenants are having a hard time coping and seeing if you can help them get through it. Keeping logs of all issues going on in apartment, doing random drug screens and ensuring the women are attending 12 step meetings, working and not falling back into old patterns. Co-workers were great. – more... A real team effort as we all wanted to see these women flourish and get out of their disease, especially for their children's sake.Hardest part was seeing young girls unable to let go of boyfriends who were unwilling to get help,knowing if they go back to them, they will relapse. Best part is when you are talking to a patient and you really see a light bulb turn on, and you know they are on their way to a new life because they just give up control and listen to others who have been where they are. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work
Sales clerk (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 3, 2013
Pros: few
Cons: very unhealthy work environment
Tag clothes, sort, hang in retail store.
Nothing
uneducated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good atmosphere
Sorter in back (Former Employee), Miramichi, NBJune 22, 2013
Pros: got to see people face to face and find out what they were looking for.
Cons: i don't know there were any cons.
loved working with all those people. It was a very enjoyable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
Human Resources Representative (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MB.June 10, 2013
A great organization dedicating to helping others. Opportunity for growth and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Costomer service
Sales associate (Current Employee), Scarborough, canadaJune 8, 2013
Pros: good expereance
Cons: lern more
Good Sales
Costomer service
hard working
Frienly
good expereance in canada. friendy and fun work. good management. helping to peoples
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with awesome staff and clientel
Residential Care Worker (Current Employee), Windsor, ONJune 7, 2013
Pros: great people
Cons: i'm on call
I love my job I work with only man that have mental disabilities they are very respectable. My work place holds confidentiality very high and is a Christian based organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff and managers I worked with over the years were great.
SALES ASSOCIATE/STORE ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Langley & Surrey BCJune 6, 2013
Pros: finding unique treasure and meeting new people
Cons: finding unique treasure and meeting unique people
There were a couple of managers that I worked under that made all the difference in making it a great job. We also had some great team members that we managed at the various stores we managed. Upper management at Head office wasn't always a pleasure to work with or for, but it's the team you work with on a daily basis that really matters. Salary was – more... average and there was opportunity to move up as a store manager but not anywhere beyond that. The hardest part of the job was probably dealing with customers, but it was also the most rewarding. A typical day working in a Thrift store was ensuring that donations were sorted and what was salable was priced and then put onto the sales floor. It was not an easy job but was truly fun because you never knew what you'd find in that next box! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concern for clients, acceptable working conditions, listens to concerns but are sometimes slow to re-act.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMay 23, 2013
Pros: management generally available to staff for assistance whether job or personal related.
Cons: slow to re-act to some situations that had a negative impact down the road.
- Interactions with clients
- Learned all aspects of C.S.C. paroles policies & procedures & set up most internal procedures.
- Internal communication was an issue at times. Not everyone was on the same page
- Learned all aspects of the City's SMIS system & trained staff on this system.
- Learned every aspect of any new job or situation put to me. Much – more... of this was self taught
- Always was excited when a client moved on whether it was finding a place, job, ongoing work with addictions etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot while working here.
Cashier / Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Mill Bay, BCMay 16, 2013
Pros: free lunches, commaraderie
Cons: hard work and long hours
My job was very busy and there was always work to do. Depending on what job I was doing it was imperative I be taking care of the clients. Management was always watching what the staff was doing in the best interests of the clients. My coworkers were very loyal and studious workers. They believed completely in their jobs. The hardest part of the job – more... was watching the hard road some of our clents were travelling and not being able to do anything for them. The most enjoyable part of the job was the success story of one of our clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful but FUN
Cashier/Store Clerk (Current Employee), granville, bcMay 14, 2013
Pros: i can take one month vacation
Cons: always nightshift
I like working at Salvation army, been working there since 2008, loved the people who works there, they're fun to work with, we're like a family working together, the customers (well some) =)
I learned a lot from working here, how salvation army help people, ex. homelessness, kids camp, ambulance, firefighters etc.

The hardest part on working at Salvation – more... army was you work around the store from pricing, sorting, cashier, donation & paperwork but the wages only goes up 1%-2% every year. Sadly, year 2013 my wage is still around $10.71 =( so I think its time for me to find a second job.

It's fun to work here, you'll meet different people from different culture & backgrounds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review on my volunteer exp at Salvation Army
Merchandiser (Former Employee), 1225 Kennedy Rd, Scarborough, ON M1P 4Y1May 14, 2013
Pros: good community
Cons: no cons
A typical work day consists of me making sure clothes are in proper place and helping customers find what they need. I have learned patience from having to deal with customers & my boss. The most enjoyable part of my job was how kind the co-workers treated me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering for Salvation Army
volunteer (Former Employee), Prince George, BCMay 8, 2013
Pros: free lunch
I worked a lot of types of job in Salvation Army. Sometimes I served food to the people in need while other time I handed out basic life's need to homeless individuals. Although I was not paid at all, I enjoyed working there as my managers and coworkers were all very nice individuals.

About The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army is a Christian church known for its thrift stores and charity work. It is an international movement that works – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos