The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Relief Worker (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK12 May 2017
This was a great job until management made questionable changes. But its a job that really makes you feel good about things. You get yo help the homeless and try and make someones day a little better.
Pros
Good benifits
Cons
No comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  North Vancouver, BC8 May 2017
Good organization to work for. Many opportunities to learn and develop skills and connections. Was able to network with different people. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive places to work
Acting Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 May 2017
This was my favorite place to work family and community oriented. The fact that this assists a charity meant you were able to feed you some and yourself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Kitchen Work
On-Call Cook (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON28 April 2017
Decent workplace, nothing too strenuous. Low pay but unionized so job security is pretty secure. Management is fair and understanding. Would recommend if you're looking for some part-time kitchen work and you can deal with earlier hours.
Pros
Free lunches, Understanding managament
Cons
Early work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
faith based church and social services agency
Leader (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON28 April 2017
work within a strong Christian based environment that is non-judgmental and open to all people, upholds a Biblical perspective, work with all ages, in a variety of ways
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and caring work environment
Secretarial Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 April 2017
Everyone wanted you to succeed at your job, staff was very friendly and helpful. I got a better understanding of how a non-profit company works and the extent to which people's donations/contributions can go a long way in assisting people in need.
Pros
Many different areas to expand into
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON24 April 2017
Great place to work, good starting job for students.
A typical day at work is steady on cash, good quality product to be put out and meeting lots of new customers, etc. I got cash experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere but disorganized
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 April 2017
My time at Salvation Army was a positive experience for the most part, although the organization of management seemed unfair or disorganized at times. I have learned that thrift stores are all about compromise with customers and that I should always ask my supervisor/the manager if I am uncertain about what to do in a certain situation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 April 2017
Only Volunteered here. Extremely easy but not a fun place to work. would not have worked here if it weren't for my hours requirement for high school. Very menial tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON22 April 2017
I volunteered here once a year with my dad for the thanksgiving dinner when I was there the people were polite and respectful. I served and prepped the food.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helps the community
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON18 April 2017
it's a fun happy place to work . Gets crazy busy, so theirs always something to do. The people are really nice. They help alot of families. the store is nice and neat.
Pros
fun people to work with
Cons
hard labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food drive
Collector (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 April 2017
I did this food drive roughly about 3 years in a row to get those hours i needed for school. Once again, i worked with my close friends, we collected food, and one year we sorted the food out that came in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with nice people (customers and staff)
Part-Time Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC12 April 2017
I enjoyed the Salvation Army very much even though it was only a summer job paid by the government and I got a great first job experience and I made some good friends.
Pros
Very good managment and regular customers
Cons
It was boring when it was slow
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing to volunteer and work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  High River, AB7 April 2017
no matter what you did your job was recognized.During the most recent High River flood they took initiative to help all of those who lost their homes and their livelihood including myself. every staff member aways had a smile on their face.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 April 2017
The overall workplace of salvation army was mediocre. The boss at the time was easy going in the sense that he did not care about anything. He would treat the donations poorly and on occasion would say questionable things about people.
Pros
hours are short
Cons
bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job and great people
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB22 March 2017
I loved working there.
There were days that we were so busy but we just all had a good time working there. Alot of great people donating great stuff. This is great for the community.
Pros
Fast pace interesting work
Cons
there are none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectable Entitlement
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC11 March 2017
Lots of respect from the community for what they do
I helped in picking up donations from homes as well as sorting them in the warehouse
Staff were of the most kind and friendly variety I have ever met
Workplace was calm and enjoyable, took pride in helping the community
Helped merchandise items on the floor as well as price them
Pros
Great environment and culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Manager/ Store Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Wingham, ON10 March 2017
great place to help others when in need, or to lend a listening ear to someone who is going through a rough patch in life .
always there for their workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 March 2017
Overall working at the salvation army thrift store as a cashier was good, the work was not hard and the workplace culture was nice, the management could be nicer, and more understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 March 2017
I was offered volunteer work at Salvatory Army while I was in high school. It was a fun experience and the environment is friendly. I would like to volunteer there again if I had the chance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Salvation Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 5,609 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8