The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Found 347 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job and great people
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB22 March 2017
I loved working there.
There were days that we were so busy but we just all had a good time working there. Alot of great people donating great stuff. This is great for the community.
Pros
Fast pace interesting work
Cons
there are none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectable Entitlement
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC11 March 2017
Lots of respect from the community for what they do
I helped in picking up donations from homes as well as sorting them in the warehouse
Staff were of the most kind and friendly variety I have ever met
Workplace was calm and enjoyable, took pride in helping the community
Helped merchandise items on the floor as well as price them
Pros
Great environment and culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Manager/ Store Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Wingham, ON10 March 2017
great place to help others when in need, or to lend a listening ear to someone who is going through a rough patch in life .
always there for their workers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 March 2017
Overall working at the salvation army thrift store as a cashier was good, the work was not hard and the workplace culture was nice, the management could be nicer, and more understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly environment
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 March 2017
I was offered volunteer work at Salvatory Army while I was in high school. It was a fun experience and the environment is friendly. I would like to volunteer there again if I had the chance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
showed the kindness of others who donate their belongings
Donation Attendant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB1 March 2017
i loved the fast paced aspect of the job and really like my coworkers, got to learn a lot about old antiques as well. most days would be organizing all new donations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community Service
Driver/Delivery (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON27 February 2017
I am working here as a volunteer, I like to give part of my time to the people most in need. It is an honor to help people and provide my service to the community.
Pros
Not available
Cons
Not available
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hourly wage with alot of hours
Residential Relief Counselor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 February 2017
Working with the clients was abit challenging as you never know what to expect each day. Logging, bathing, and taking care of clients overall health was the basis of this employment.
Pros
employees
Cons
long hours, always on call
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 February 2017
I liked volunteering at Salvation Army. Everyone was nice and fun to work with. It was a very good experience. i would go back to working with them in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great organization to work for. . .
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  Brantford ON6 February 2017
The work with this great organization is always challenging and give you a wonderfully sense of being able to help and motivate others in their journey. .
Pros
You have an opportunity to really make a difference
Cons
I really didn't see any.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The boss was running a tight ship but some employees were intolerant and discriminatory towards visible minirities
Shipper and Receiver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB Empress location3 February 2017
Typical day would consist of intake of donations and sorting through the donations, Work place environment was good with most employees. The hardest part of the job is the maturity level and discrimination that went on. Most enjoyable was the interaction with the customers and the boss, she was a good boss. The GM told me to watch were I stepped when I raised a concern about the dumping of hazardous products from other people. The GM didn't have the safety of the workers in mind.
Pros
Lots of books
Cons
Toxic employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB1 February 2017
I had a fun experience working at the salvation army. It had helped make me feel more mentally stable and secure. and it was worth the experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  jane and lawrence30 January 2017
i liked the atmosphere the ppl and also enjoyed working there ;;it was a good experience; for me to learn had to clean store before closing and count money and ;;talk to customers.
Pros
the staff
Cons
customers yelling
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily work
Donor Greeter (Former Employee) –  London, ON28 January 2017
Received donations and assisted customers with donations
Sorted donations based on type: clothing, furniture and cookware
Loaded and unloaded trucks using a pump jack
Cleaned washrooms and swept and mopped store at the end of closing shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Temporary Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON27 January 2017
The head manager at the time wanted to be able to hear you from her office- I don't think shouting on the phone is good for anyone. I learned that a lot of employees there didn't really have relevant jobs.
Pros
I had a job for a week
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Driver/Stockperson (on-call) (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ON25 January 2017
Nice place to work. Friendly atmosphere. Good people. More people should volunteer here, I learned how important it is to be able to interact with the customer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great rewarding Job, would recommend anyone to try
store manager (Former Employee) –  Mission, BC22 January 2017
My job at the Salvation Army Thrift Store was very rewarding, challenging, and enjoyable.
Every day was different with the donations that came in and I it was never boring.
I learned a lot about people with working the marginalized and , I this what was so rewarding was to see how you could help in a way that made their day brighter.
Pros
never boring, good benefits.
Cons
it closed down because of bidding wars and competition
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good beginner
Residential Worker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 January 2017
Good starting job in the social services field. Responsibilities are balanced however long hours and nights are difficult. Rules and regulations are good.
Pros
Balanced responsibilities
Cons
Long hours and nights
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to be
Volunteer - Customer Support (Former Employee) –  Tweed, ON18 January 2017
A typical day would be, greeting customers, organizing the clothes, pricing the clothing and working the cash if needed.
Everything I did there was a new learning experience. It was my first customer service placement. The hardest part of the job was keeping the clothes in the right section as people would move them around. I enjoyed everything about that placement and I enjoyed meeting all sorts of new people.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i just volunteered there it was fine
Food Bank Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC16 January 2017
i was a volunteer it was fine i learned how to work well with others i had to organize lots of things the most enjoyable part was everyone was very nice to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,491 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

The Salvation Army Reviews by Location