Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,150 reviews

The Salvation Army Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience and new connection
Volunteer/Sales Aid (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONOctober 18, 2014
Friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere

Needed more organization entirely with used and non used items, storing of items.

Staff responded poorly to conflict and problems with customers.

Presentation of store needed work and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kettle worker
Kettle Worker (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 9, 2014
Pros: appreciation from boss
Cons: hours are great
I would go in & start my Shift it could be mornings, afternoons or evenings.
Be Polite to customers & the workers you work with.
Great People.
They are great co-workers.
Keeping an Eye on the Donation Kettle.
When I start & when its time to go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Ajax, ONOctober 2, 2014
- A lot of heavy lifting
- Co-workers were nice and fun to be around
- The hardest part of the job was lifting multiple boxes at a time back and forth from the van to the shelter
- Most enjoyable part of the job was seeing how happy we made people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding and a lot of pressure
Store Manager (Former Employee), Markham, ONSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: closed sundays
Cons: too much pressure
Good benefits and paycheck, however you do work a lot and sometimes it fells like you live there. It possesses you completely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers - Feeling Of Satisfaction
Store Clerk (Former Employee), Collingwood, ONSeptember 22, 2014
This was a part time position working in the store front.

I enjoyed working with the staff and helping the customers day to day.

This was a second hand store and the majority of the patrons were less fortunate.

I helped in anyway possible, whether it be with offering food bank services or helping with vouchers for clothing.

This was a great learning – more... experience for me as I was not sure where I wanted to go with my career. I work another part time job at the time for A&P in the office and customer service.

The staff at the Salvation army are very caring and wonderful people to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No place for growth with company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: diversity of cultures
Cons: poor salary, no room for advancement, poor management, standing long hours
Day stars off as sorting through customer donations. Meeting store quotas for the day. I learned throughout the years about the necessity of the people in our community that need help and support in order to survive. They strive to make ends meet with the little they have. It is quite the emotional roller coaster to hear some of the things they have – more... gone and are still going through. Management has a very poor work ethic , not following procedures, and poorly leadership skills to maintain an open door policy when it comes down to it's employees. Many employees from different backgrounds, learned about their culture. Since there was not much involvement from management on fulfilling things in the store, basically the co workers each manage their tasks alone, not as a team. They prioritized things as they saw fit from the lack of input from management. No support from management and human resources just makes anyone not be happy to even continue to be in a toxic and where respect and equalized standards are not being met. Throughout the years had the opportunity to meet and work closely with some members of the community, even if it meant just listening to them i am glad i had the chance to make a difference in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as a store associate helping people
Store Associate (Former Employee), Salvation Army at circle drive Saskatoon SKSeptember 18, 2014
I learned a lot of things at work like tagging, sorting,hanging,managing and rackout etc.
The managment was very kind.I did not feel any thing hard.
The most enjoyable part was helping the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer emploiment
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Jacksons Point, ONAugust 26, 2014
Pros: food and lodging
Cons: long hours
It is a 2 month position.
Comes with food and lodging.
Great people to work with.
Long hours up before every one else to prep for breakfast and up late cleaning up.
Learned allot about team work the 2 summers I worked at the camp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 20, 2014
Typical day at work was sorting and hanging clothing.
Management was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Activity Aide (Former Employee), Sydney, NSAugust 18, 2014
Worked with Seniors
Daily Office Work
Clean-up
I worked well with the clients, I did day to day activities with them. From general fun activities, like baking, watching funny movies, motion activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and a helpful environment
thrift store (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2014
Pros: lunch hours were fare
Cons: long hours of working
An energetic and hardworking workplace.
Learned to organize things and help others whenever they were busy.
Things were organized as planned even if things got messed up at times.
Co- workers were very friendly and fun to work with.
Managing the loads of clothes by organizing them into stalls was the most difficult.
Seeing customers' interest in shopping – more... in the Salvation Army was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rude management
Inventory and Sales (Former Employee), EdmontonJuly 29, 2014
Pros: deals on items in store
Cons: hours of work, managment was very unfriendly
This position was ok but the management was very rude and not a friendly atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment always learning new things
Tutor (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 24, 2014
Pros: activities
Cons: irritating days
working as a tutor with the salvation army was a great experience because i got to help children achieve their goals and help them to become a better reader and writer. i learned a lot about how kids learned and new tactics on how to interact with people. i constantly had to interact with people from my co-workers, boss and students, it was great and – more... everyone always had a positive attitude and made it so east for me to deal with difficult situations. the hardest part of the job was make a fast move when something went wrong. whether it was the child throwing a tantrum to the a physical fight among the children you always had to be on top of your game and know what to do. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing you are making a difference in the childs future but doing it in the funnest way possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Learning experience,
General Labourer (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONJuly 22, 2014
Pros: learned how to do oil changes
Cons: didnt get paid as it was a co-op placement
It was a great work environment in which I learned a lot . This Co-Op gave me job experience and time management. This job taught me different aspects in maintaining a car and what is required to enter the work force.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and a great chance at making a positive difference in the world.
Bell Ringer (Former Employee), 1100 Weston RoadJuly 19, 2014
Great chance to make a difference during the holidays. You also get to meet great people every day and help uplift the moods of anyone you meet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun.
Volunteer (Former Employee), London, ONJuly 17, 2014
They are fun to work with. Easy to get along with. Not very social with other employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More opportunity to learn new things.
Customer Service / Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Langley, BCJuly 11, 2014
Production and sales target,

Team work, Responsibility,
daily sales report,
key responsibility,

Management is quite
understanding and good.

The CO-WORKERS are fun ,understanding,
and knowledgeable.

The work is really not that much hard.

Busy days with lots off customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and rewarding place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee), Lower Sackville, NSJuly 7, 2014
Pros: donate as much or little time as preferred
Cons: slow paced environment
On a typical day of volunteer work i would usually donate about 5 hours of my time during the day to help out. Donations are constantly flowing in and it takes a great team effort to get everything organized and ready to be sold. Replenshing the merchandise is key in keeping the newer items on the shelves and separating the older items to be shipped – more... of to other countries who are need. Overall this was a great experience for me, i had the pleasure of meeting new people daily from all walks of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an okay time
(seasonal) store associate (Former Employee), london ontarioJuly 3, 2014
was an alright place to work , it was my second job so I cant really be too specific on whether it was a great place or not
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and inclusive as a group.
Bell Ringer / Greeter (Current Employee), New Westminster, BCJune 30, 2014
Pros: free to do what we want to do during shift to attract patrons
Cons: cold and standing (requires stamina).
We had coffee at Tim Hortons and during breaks.
The supervisor was positive and transparent and upbeat and acted like a "coach" by the ball field.

1 2 3 4 5

About The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army is a Christian church known for its thrift stores and charity work. It is an international movement that works – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos