Find companies:
The Salvation Army
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,271 reviews

The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience and friendly people
Kettle worker (Former Employee), Whitby, ONDecember 14, 2014
Pros: short hours, helpful managers, excellent work environment
My time volunteering for Salvation Army was a great and fun experience. The people are friendly and helpful, and the work environment was professional and relaxing
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission, bad execution
Niagara Falls Retail and Donation Centre Manager (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, OnDecember 9, 2014
Pros: work with some great passionate people.
Cons: high expectations do not equal low salaries given out.
Nice to help the less fortunate and that can be rewarding. But not seen enough, and the business organization of this company loses it's mission focus, and concentrates mostly profits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amusing part
Customer service (Former Employee), 1219 Bloor Street west Toronto, ONNovember 25, 2014
unpack and sort clothing donations. Maintain store in clean condition. I have learned how to work with multicultural people, how to solve customers need. the fun part of the job was when the shop was crowded, because I Love seeing clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work for a short time.
Production Worker/Cashier (Former Employee), St. John's, NLNovember 12, 2014
The benefits package at the Salvation Army are wonderful, but the work is very hard, physically demanding, repetitive and uninteresting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright place to work
Volunteer Experience (Former Employee), Ajax, ONNovember 8, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: long hours
A typical day here is organizing the back room product, making sure the store is clean, setting up merchandise in the right places, helping customers, so on.. Learned how to deal with rude customers, and how to organize fast and efficiently. Most of co-workers made it fun to be there. Wouldn't say there was anything hard, just a bit boring at times – more... when you finish things early.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a temporary job
Traffic Coordinator (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCNovember 6, 2014
I had fun doing it. I worked as a traffic assistance.
I learn how to work in team, and to effectively coordinate things very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Kettles (Former Employee), Scarborough, ONNovember 4, 2014
I enjoyed watching the different people come back to donate to the salvation army.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting and alturistic
Drivers Helper (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONOctober 21, 2014
very busy days with much physical labour and customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience and new connection
Volunteer/Sales Aid (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONOctober 18, 2014
Friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere

Needed more organization entirely with used and non used items, storing of items.

Staff responded poorly to conflict and problems with customers.

Presentation of store needed work and advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kettle worker
Kettle Worker (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONOctober 9, 2014
Pros: appreciation from boss
Cons: hours are great
I would go in & start my Shift it could be mornings, afternoons or evenings.
Be Polite to customers & the workers you work with.
Great People.
They are great co-workers.
Keeping an Eye on the Donation Kettle.
When I start & when its time to go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer Work (Former Employee), Ajax, ONOctober 2, 2014
- A lot of heavy lifting
- Co-workers were nice and fun to be around
- The hardest part of the job was lifting multiple boxes at a time back and forth from the van to the shelter
- Most enjoyable part of the job was seeing how happy we made people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding and a lot of pressure
Store Manager (Former Employee), Markham, ONSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: closed sundays
Cons: too much pressure
Good benefits and paycheck, however you do work a lot and sometimes it fells like you live there. It possesses you completely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers - Feeling Of Satisfaction
Store Clerk (Former Employee), Collingwood, ONSeptember 22, 2014
This was a part time position working in the store front.

I enjoyed working with the staff and helping the customers day to day.

This was a second hand store and the majority of the patrons were less fortunate.

I helped in anyway possible, whether it be with offering food bank services or helping with vouchers for clothing.

This was a great learning – more... experience for me as I was not sure where I wanted to go with my career. I work another part time job at the time for A&P in the office and customer service.

The staff at the Salvation army are very caring and wonderful people to work for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No place for growth with company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: diversity of cultures
Cons: poor salary, no room for advancement, poor management, standing long hours
Day stars off as sorting through customer donations. Meeting store quotas for the day. I learned throughout the years about the necessity of the people in our community that need help and support in order to survive. They strive to make ends meet with the little they have. It is quite the emotional roller coaster to hear some of the things they have – more... gone and are still going through. Management has a very poor work ethic , not following procedures, and poorly leadership skills to maintain an open door policy when it comes down to it's employees. Many employees from different backgrounds, learned about their culture. Since there was not much involvement from management on fulfilling things in the store, basically the co workers each manage their tasks alone, not as a team. They prioritized things as they saw fit from the lack of input from management. No support from management and human resources just makes anyone not be happy to even continue to be in a toxic and where respect and equalized standards are not being met. Throughout the years had the opportunity to meet and work closely with some members of the community, even if it meant just listening to them i am glad i had the chance to make a difference in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as a store associate helping people
Store Associate (Former Employee), Salvation Army at circle drive Saskatoon SKSeptember 18, 2014
I learned a lot of things at work like tagging, sorting,hanging,managing and rackout etc.
The managment was very kind.I did not feel any thing hard.
The most enjoyable part was helping the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer emploiment
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee), Jacksons Point, ONAugust 26, 2014
Pros: food and lodging
Cons: long hours
It is a 2 month position.
Comes with food and lodging.
Great people to work with.
Long hours up before every one else to prep for breakfast and up late cleaning up.
Learned allot about team work the 2 summers I worked at the camp.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 20, 2014
Typical day at work was sorting and hanging clothing.
Management was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Activity Aide (Former Employee), Sydney, NSAugust 18, 2014
Worked with Seniors
Daily Office Work
Clean-up
I worked well with the clients, I did day to day activities with them. From general fun activities, like baking, watching funny movies, motion activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized and a helpful environment
thrift store (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 5, 2014
Pros: lunch hours were fare
Cons: long hours of working
An energetic and hardworking workplace.
Learned to organize things and help others whenever they were busy.
Things were organized as planned even if things got messed up at times.
Co- workers were very friendly and fun to work with.
Managing the loads of clothes by organizing them into stalls was the most difficult.
Seeing customers' interest in shopping – more... in the Salvation Army was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rude management
Inventory and Sales (Former Employee), EdmontonJuly 29, 2014
Pros: deals on items in store
Cons: hours of work, managment was very unfriendly
This position was ok but the management was very rude and not a friendly atmosphere.

1 2 3 4 5

About The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army is a Christian church known for its thrift stores and charity work. It is an international movement that works – Read more

The Salvation Army Photos