Find companies:
The Restaurant Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

The Restaurant Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place has went to pot !
Deputy general manager (Former Employee), ManchesterJanuary 17, 2014
Cons: everything
I worked here for 9 years , when I started it was a great company , when I left summer of last year it was because the company no longer cares about staff or management , CEO is only concerned about profit.. Tight labour control means delivering a poor service to customers and then staff get disciplined for poor mystery guest scores , also recently – more... found out this company pay large bonuses to directors in order to avoid paying tax on salaries, for years they paid waiting staff with their own gratuities , if you want no respect , terrible pay and lots of stress apply now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible horrible place
deputy mamager (former) (Former Employee), londonJanuary 15, 2014
Cons: everything! !
A typical day is 7am start to 10pm close. Yes that's a 15 hour shift, now imagine doing that 3 days a week and then starting at midday and closing (which is around 2am) for the other 2 days.

That's what they call work, the best way to put is that the company want to suck your blood dry. You're put on a 54 hour contract the biggest of its kind in restaurants.

When – more... or if you apply always add 5k to your current salary so when working there you will at least get your moneys worth. As a deputy I was paid 25k but there were deputies who were paid 20k based on their negotiations.

In a nutshell the company is a joke, and will take over your life. Also I never had a weekend off in 2 years of work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff disrespected
waitress (Current Employee), chichesterJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: colleagues all in same misery
Cons: no respect
Management care only about figures. Under massive pressure to upsell. Disciplinary for getting 3 out of 5 stars from mystery diner despite the write up saying I provided impeccable service. 12/14 hour shifts. Sent on 1-5 hour breaks to save labour. Unreliable shifts. Over managed on the floor. Treated like idiots. Wages always wrong. Smoking incurs – more... 15 minutes docked from wages. Not the fun place to work that it should be. Recently lost 9 staff members including assistant manager and 3 more leaving next week. This doesn't worry them as their theory is we are all easily replaced....... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Takes over your life
Manager (Former Employee), ScotlandSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: takes over your life
Takes over your life the company is their life so should it be yours...no work life balance. Get nothing back in return. Training is excellent and advancment opportunities is great. Meet loads of ppl which is great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work!
Host (Former Employee), east midlands airportSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: free lunch.
Cons: long hours! i did 3am-12pm
Only worked at the east midlands branch for a couple of shifts! didnt get shown around to meet and greet anyone, wasnt told who or what i was to be doing. the manager even said 'who the bloody hell are you' infront of everyone!! not proffessional at all. Kept getting shouted out for not doing the job properly yet had no guidance or assistance! absolute – more... joke of a place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Office Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 5, 2012
Owner has made business his life and expects everyone else to do so, but it has definitely paid off. company is growing and making money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues were supportive, enjoyed our work environment and were committed to excellence.
restaurant manager (Former Employee), Hartford, CTOctober 14, 2012
Pros: excellent job training and recruitment of staff. owners provided support.
Cons: long shifts, as expected.
This position was instrumental in learning the value of training, motivational skills and teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I could learn a new thing: make a coffee. It was a fun,friendly team.
Barista-Team member (Former Employee), Birmingham AirportJuly 10, 2012
Pros: i had a free lunch at work.
Cons: when i was a single i did sometimes a long shift 6am till 10pm
I was worked there since 2008 and for me it was new experience,i was worry do I right be here,what about coffee-can I be good,what about when is busy? But I was very happy,the team was fine,friendly,hard working.When I did morning shift it was start at 6am till 2pm i should check a temperature in sandwiches,milks,cakes etc. We have a 2 or 3 staff and – more... we share a job: one of us take a till,second a coffee machine,and third a floor. it was clear for us what to do then we try to help each other if one of us was too busy.I was missed only a music because i love hear a music.My manager was a great person,friendly,smile all the time,I can talk to him about life,work.I am very proud myself because i learned making coffee,my customer like me much,always said to my manager i am a smile face.I was happy. – less

The Restaurant Group Photos