Find companies:
The Pantry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
111 reviews

The Pantry Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My responsibilities
Dishwasher/ cook (Former Employee), Dawson Creek, BCFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: one free meal paid each day worked
Cons: managers lacked proper communication skills
While working at the pantry my role was just to ensure the dish area was clean. After six or eight months of working I was put on as a cook and my job was to keep area clean as possible while ensuring my orders got made correctly and quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a boring day at work
Server (Former Employee), Chilliwack, BCSeptember 12, 2012
Pros: great co workers and the tips
A work day at the Pantry was never boring, They trained there staff well and taught you how to do your job properly. I enjoyed working for the Pantry because of serving different types of people and knowing that it was up to myself as their server to give the customer the best experience and great service would get them and others by word of mouth to – more... come back again and again. There was not a hard part working as a server or while setting up for a banquet or the clean up it was all worth it to see customers have a good time and enjoy a meal, Not many places have good service any more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pantry
Customer Service (Former Employee), coquitlamAugust 18, 2012
Cons: schedule always changing
Serving ppl customuer complaints . Nice place to work
Stocking making drinks, cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Service Technician (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALNovember 23, 2014
Pros: work sechudle, benifits
Cons: short hours sometimes.
service tech set their own sechudle, worked from home a lot, Management worked with tech . Customers were easy to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
Store Manager (Former Employee), Greenville, SCNovember 15, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours
lots of hard work. You have to hire the right employees to make your store profitable. Great pay and room for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced workplace
Head Cashier / Trainer (Former Employee), Charleston, SCOctober 1, 2014
train new employees to be sure that they are doing their job correctly. I learned that if you focus hard enough anything is possible. management was good and got along and worked very well with my coworkers.hardest part of my job was trying to be sure that all work was done in a timely fashion due to the store being so busy at all times./
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Customer Service (Former Employee), Rocky Mount, NCAugust 27, 2014
Fast pace environment to work in. Sense of urgency is very much so needed for this job. Co-workers and all worked as a team at all times to keep the business afloat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service, cleaning and stocking
Kangaroo-cashier (Former Employee), Crandall, GAAugust 14, 2014
Love this job but it doesn't pay enough. Customer service, cleaning and stocking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NICE PLACE TO WORK
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 30, 2014
IF YOU ENJOY WORKING WITH THE PUBLIC THEN IT IS A GREAT JOB. MANAGEMENT VARIES WITH EACH LOCATION.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Asst mgr (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 25, 2014
Pros: flexable schedule
Cons: getting robbed no lunch
kinda dangerous but not very hard pay is louzy
i learned a lot and meet a lot of great ppl
the good bad and ulgy
good meet and greet lot of ppl
bad routy customers taking their bad day out on you
the ULGY cleaning public bath rooms
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for job advancement
Shift Leader (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCJuly 21, 2014
Pros: job advancement
Cons: problems with pay
I think it is a good company but I have been having problems with my pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and met many good people
Store Manager (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 3, 2014
Pros: job freedom to have fun doing our jobs
Cons: no breaks for a real lunch, had to eat on the job between customers. could not leave the job for eight hours or more.
Each day at work was about the same. I was not over joyed at the location of the store, but we seem to get along good with the companies around us and maintained a very good relationshop with the customers. I feel like our business would have been better if the company would have kept the store more modern and attractive. The parking lot needed repaving – more... and the store itself was very run down. Many people I talked with said they would not come to the store because they felt it was unsafe. My co workers were the best. It was three of us and we all covered each other. We learned to be friends as well as co workers. The hardest part of the job was catching someone stealing and having to banned them from the store or call police and charging them with theif. The best part of the job was the customers. We all become to know many of our regular customers and could enjoy a visit from them as well as serving them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Helpdesk Specialist (Current Employee), Sanford, NCJuly 2, 2014
Laid back environment- Get to work with different brand of gas stations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for if you have a family.
Store Sales Manager (Former Employee), Spring Lake, NCJune 29, 2014
Pros: health benefits are very good.
Cons: long hours, no time for family
If I did not have a family, this would be a great job for me. The hours are very long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, sometimes difficult place to work.
Sales Associate/Assistant Manager in training (Former Employee), Sanford, NCJune 29, 2014
The team in the store was great. The store manager worked with us and with our schedules.
Corporate is what screwed us. The area we worked in wasn't the safest, and yet corporate still demanded that we work alone to close the store, all while completing the tasks set forth. It could be done, but was more difficult than it needed to be. All to save a – more... little more money. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great experiance but the pay and benifits are awful.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJune 24, 2014
Pros: learned great people skills
Cons: not what i want to do with my life.
The experience of have to tend to different types of people and trying to sell them products. has been interesting. Management is fine he tries to give me hours to work but corporate is very strict when it comes to that. The pay sucks for all they expect out of me. Don't get me wrong its an easy job, but when they have you working by yourself they want – more... to handle customers and pick up sales and take of the store and premises its self. It gets kind of hectic, but I still get the job done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with the public
Manager Assistant (Former Employee), Cleveland, GAJune 5, 2014
Pros: the pay and benefits.
Cons: long hours
Great job. Getting to meet different people everyday. Working with great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardwork and satisfying
Proprietor of a Coffee (Former Employee), Herne Bay, ENGJune 4, 2014
Pros: being your own boss!
Cons: long hours
I worked six days a week from 7.30 am until 4.30pm.As the owner of the business it was ultimately my responsibility to employ staff, shopping,maintanence,cooking, paying the rent/bills on time,Health and Safety,Food Hygeine and upmost the care of my customers.

It is hard work running you own business and employing staff.You need to be diplomatic and – more... understanding of their needs at all times.

The most enjoyable part of my job was to see my customers receiving quality service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict work place
Subway (Current Employee), Ocala, FLJune 3, 2014
Pros: free drinks.
Cons: no breaks and rare help during shifts.
Working at Subway isn't that bad. It can be harder then most people expect because it isn't all about just making sanwhiches. At work you have dishes to do constantly, food to prep, break to bake, charts to be filled in, and much more. The co-workers are nice but don't always do wht they need to and it makes things harder. I used to like working there – more... but after being there over 2 years I don't really like it anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not enjoy working for the pantry.
Lead Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Raiford, FLMay 25, 2014
Pros: they promote from within.
Cons: everything else.
It was one of the worst experiences of my life. The hours worked were all over the place. I might get off at 9pm one night, and have to be back the next morning at 4AM.

1 2 3 4 5

About The Pantry

The Pantry, Inc. (Pantry) is an independently operated convenience store chain in the southeastern United States. As of September – Read more

The Pantry Photos