The Original Cakerie Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 August 2017
Large volume of work but management team are very helpful. very
friendly atmosphere.
I have learned the full cycle of A/R and Navision System.
I have enjoyed the team work and be able to learn new things every day.
Pros
Going to lunch every Friday
Cons
A lot of stress because of the volum of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Very friendly and professional individuals & enviroment.
IT Analyst (Former Employee) –  London, ON22 July 2017
The communication and support I received from management at The Original Cakerie was outstanding. Benefits are great and I feel that it was a very friendly and professional environment to work in.

I learned many new IT related skills here and found the learning opportunity to be a great one. I enjoyed helping users in the office and production floor which is very clean and organized.

The hardest part of the job was doing a full shift during the day and being on call after that. I found it difficult to wake up at 3 am but being part of IT requires 24/7 support and this also happened very rarely so I don't see it as an issue.

I would recommend The Original Cakerie to anyone.
Pros
Cake Discounts!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON28 April 2017
A bunch of rude ladies that smiles in your face but talk behind your back.Management allows the behaviour, hence why the turnover is so high. They expect you to know everything in a week literally, and if you don't know it there so judgemental and talk about you.
Pros
Free cake
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some enjoyable products to work on
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC12 February 2017
We work 10.5 hours with a 1/2 lunch, we make various types of cake. The management is very friendly and inclusive with everyone. The work culture is fairly good. The hardest part of the job is the scattered start times, and not having a fixed schedule.
Feeling a part of a team and being somewhat of a family.
Pros
appreciation luncheons every few months
Cons
scattered start time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily humiliation having to recite company moto every morning meeting
Millwright (Former Employee) –  London, ON3 October 2015
I worked here for a year through a temp agency and helped set up this facility only to be told to bring in a resume if i wanted full time employment after a year .Lots of people came and went including plant management.They have no loyalty to employees and have the employment agency attitude.Ask about their 3 month probation and their helicopter management from BC.
Pros
free cake every break expect to gain weight
Cons
no job security just want multi ticketed journeymen for $25/hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  delta bc22 July 2015
good place to work,co-worker are nice,i learned how to handle cakes and have a team work to finish a job on time,,good salary and benifits
Pros
free cake to eat
Cons
over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
production (Former Employee) –  London, ON21 April 2015
Its really bad management

the turn over in management was very high
and hired people for the wrong job/ position

long hours and long weekend
Pros
good pay and good benefit
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very friendly work environment
ELECTRICAL ENGINEER (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 January 2015
Working at the Cakerie was enjoyable because of the people you work with AND the people you work for. The culture definitely revolved around a family-like atmosphere and problems are solved quickly and openly.

The most enjoyable part of working at the Cakerie was having responsibility to do your work to the best of your ability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment with excellent products.
Sanitation Supervisor (Current Employee) –  London, Ontario12 September 2014
Excellent work day, great people and wonderful products. The coworkers have a lot to offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly organized
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  london ontario18 June 2014
Not enough supervisors on shift; stressful work environment; last minute changing directions; poor planning; scheduling issues;
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance Reliability
Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC30 May 2013
Working with IT to determine most appropriate CMMS for Equipment history and failure modes.
Pros
Managable
Cons
Paper Trail
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 37Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers were like family, good company to work for that why I worked there for 20yrs.
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Leader, SK4 February 2013
Had a wide range of jobs to do, not just doing the job of a teamleader, but also giving ideas to help improve the work enviroment with easier ways of doing some jobs and other ways to orangnize the production floor.
Pros
good benfits and able to switch days off with other employees
Cons
no clear direction when implementing new products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 28Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Original Cakerie. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.2

The Original Cakerie Reviews by Location