The Old Spaghetti Factory Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, family friendly workplace
Server/Kitchen/Cash Office/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 February 2017
In my opinion, i really loved working with the Old Spaghetti Factory in Calgary. I was really close with all the employee's. I considered them as my Spag Family. The management team was amazing. Addressed employees matters in a professional manner. The hardest part of the job was just dealing with very needy costumers. And the most enjoyable thing about the job was working with everything.
Pros
Discounts, Friends, Free Food
Cons
Angry Customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working here
Also assisting co workers in stressful rushes (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC4 November 2016
Working at The Old Spaghetti Factory is a fun and fast paced job, great for people with high energy and easy to talk to personality's. The benefits of working here are you receive great communication skills and thinking quickly on your feet in high stress situations. Also with regards to customer service and quality, this is the number one priority of the restaurant which is nice to see in comparison to other restaurants I've been to personally that seem to have little to no care about your enjoyment. And, you will rarely/never get a break working here.
Pros
40% off food the day you work, warm and welcoming co workers
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Personel Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, BC3 February 2017
Great organization. Very diverse. Great culture. Promotes within. Ability to become owner operator. Voted one of the best restaurants to work for. Very conscious of balancing work and personal time. Once you become part of the family you always have a position at any location.
Pros
Very diverse
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid this place at all costs
Busser (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 November 2016
i would go weeks without getting a shift. very uncertain hours..
also they say were going to promote you but never do in fact.
minimum wage plus your tips are at the mercy of the servers. 95% of the servers undertip or dont tip at all.
Pros
nothing..
Cons
NO HOURS!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Communication
Back of House (Current Employee) –  Canada28 January 2017
Managers are sly and talk to employees about others behind their back. Frequently complaining about the employee (performance and overall as a person). When performance is an issue, Management will opt to cut the employees hours rather than coach them or let them know something is wrong.

Hours are cut to the bare minimum and management will frequently try to weasel their way out of paying the lawful amounts for shifts (overtime, minimum 3 hours etc...)

Management will frequently wait until you've arrived to tell you they don't need you to work your shift as business is too slow, instead of calling ahead.

Safety is a large concern within the restaurant. Broken equipment is frequently left unfixed for long periods of time, you are expected to work with it anyway.

BoH is expected to change at work as there are uniforms provided, however no change room, or employee break area was set aside. employees are encouraged not to take breaks and berated if they do.

Pay is decent for the job, however no raises or increases in salary are ever discussed and are frowned upon. absolutely no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 February 2017
It's a good company with good ethic codes and they treats employers very well with incentives to motivate them. It's also a fun place to work.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC15 January 2017
its a great place to work
everyone is so friendly
the managers are really amazing and look out for the staff
it is a family not jst a place to work
its great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced, team focused establishment
Manager & Bartender (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 May 2016
Old Spaghetti Factory lays out well the expectations of employees and gives all the training, tools, and support needed to be a productive employee. All this is required due to the fast paced nature of this tourist hot spot. Servers at this restaurant are required to do much more than an average server, this creates a need for team work and organization to ensure fast quality service. Multiple managers are always available as well to aid the team, this is very uncommon in the industry. Team mates quickly become friends because of this, this is by far one of my favorite aspects of the work. The most difficult aspect of the work is the unpredictable amount of work. Slow seasons cause there to be a lack of shift and shortened shifts.
Pros
Work with an excellent team, helpful managers, discounted meals
Cons
Work schedule changes often
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The old spaghetti factory
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 December 2015
A typical day at work would be getting everything ready such as getting the front desk ready, make sure menus were folded. Make sure your ready for a long hard day at work. You were on your feet all day running around checking for free tables to be seated. I learned how to work fast and significantly. You couldn't be slow at this job. Management there i have to say i was really disappointed in them they don't know how to run a restaurant. Co-workers were okay i made some friends there but most of the co-workers would just yell at the other for messing something up. Hardest part of my job was keeping the cutomers happy because we were always booked so we always had a wait time to get in and people would get mad.
Pros
Your so busy time just flies at work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, good food.
Dishwasher/Prep Chef (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 May 2016
Mostly washed dishes and cleaned up after servers if they broke anything.

hardest part was dealing with heat, but enjoyable because working as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and eccentric work environment, Though management lacked
Busser (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 January 2016
Old Spaghetti Factory is an amazing job if you wish to get well versed with the restaurant industry. Always a busy work place, but extremely rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 October 2015
I enjoyed working with the other staff and the guests were always so friendly.

If you ever needed help there would be more then one person willing to help.

Hardest part of the job would be having to wait for your shift to start, sometimes more than an hour depending on how busy it would get.
Pros
cheap/free food
Cons
waiting for shift to start
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Junior Server (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC4 March 2016
Enjoyable, learned lots of things, co workers are friends, most managers are understanding, fast paced, never stop working, mad tips!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Teamwork among all employees
Senior server (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 January 2016
Everyone did their part which got the job done. There was a good flow from the hostess to the server, bartenders, kitchen and to the bussers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean environment in kitchen
Line cook (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 February 2015
As i start to work after sanitizing my hand , i start the preparation for the lunch and dinner , i learned the importantance of cleanliness and the quality of the food , food management is important also to make sure the in and out of the food from the storage and it is important to have a teamwork , quality work and camaraderie.The hardest part of the Job is the miss communication with your co-worker. The most enjoyable part of the Job is when you know that you satisfied people with your food.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff was amazing, managment was terrible
Server (Former Employee) –  kelowna bc1 June 2015
There was a lot of things you had to do for even for a simple table and only getting so little out of it. Management was terrible, didn't know how to scheduling and one of them picked favourites among staff. Hardest part about the job is getting shifts covered, I enjoyed the patrons that came in and working with the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job in canada
Dishwasher and Pasta cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 October 2013
Working at the Spaghetti Factory was good. I started as a dishwasher and became a pasta prep / cook. The team was nice and multicultured.

The work was hard sometimes because it is a big restaurant in Toronto and a lot of people are going there.

The hardest part of the job was probably the dishwashing after a busy day.

It was a good experience to work in a kitchen of a busy restaurant like the spaghetti factory.
Pros
free food, tips
Cons
moderate pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun upbeat restuarant
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 July 2013
A typical day at work would be seating the guests, and helping the servers. I have learned a lot about people, and that you are never supposed to say no. the management was okay, but I did not get along with one of the managers. My co workers were also friends, we treated each other all like family. the hardest part of the job is running up and down staires all day. my favorite part of the job, was when kids would come into the restaurant and I would talk with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to make money
Bartender and Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2015
it is nice place to work for tips but work is not really easy

Friday and Saturday is busy as . but over all nice place to work

if you like tam work I would reccomned that
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  54 The Esplanade25 November 2014
- very friendly coworkers and management
- usually very busy giving workers lots of tasks daily
- management is very fun, energetic, and understanding
- very difficult working saturdays as wait times would reach 1 hour
Pros
Free meals when training new employee
Cons
no guaranteed end times
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 181 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5