Find companies:
The Nielsen Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
285 reviews

The Nielsen Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Start but No-Break Company Culture
BASES Senior Research Analyst (Current Employee), Wilton, CTJune 9, 2013
Pros: good people, smart work place
Cons: grinding wheel work ethic, large company mentality
Loved my time here so far but work life balance is unpredictable and often nonexistent. When you break down pay over how much you work it isn't pretty. Company has a great name and works with top CPG companies. People leave and go to these companies often. The people are intelligent and are generally very nice so no complaints about culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with fun
ETL/BI Test Engineer (Current Employee), eaganJune 1, 2013
7 years of IT experience in Quality Assurance and Software Testing of various business applications in Client/Server environments, Web-based applications, Data-Warehousing solutions, ETL and Business Intelligence solutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nielsen.
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYJune 1, 2013
Pros: free popcorn sometimes
Cons: short breaks, not a fun atmosphere, trainers don't know what they're doing, rude managers
I disliked Nielsen VERY much. First, the training was way too long. 2 weeks straight? My trainer didn't even teach me the correct stuff! When my training group got to the floor, we had to learn by ourselves! You only get a 15 minute break for working 4 hours. Even though I know that it's recommended that people who are working with computers should – more... take a ten minute break every hour. You never get a break, your system keeps rolling you into another phone call as soon as your last one ends. The work environment is dead and I disliked it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UI Designer
UI Design and development, graphic art (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FLMay 22, 2013
UI design and development, help files, menus and tables, technical specs and evaluations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Night Job
Senior Survey Writer (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FLMay 21, 2013
Pros: lots of employee activities and free food.
Cons: overnight shift
The job itself is pretty cool. You get to watch TV and get paid for it! Writing consumer marketing surveys could be tedious at times but your ever changing schedule makes it interesting and keeps you on your toes. Management on the other hand reduces the level of productivity with their lack of communication, time spent in the office, and lack of o=understanding – more... of what the employees actually do. Because of that and the late night hours, the job has a revolving door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low remuneration but many things to learn
Market Research Trainee (Former Employee), KolkataMay 20, 2013
Pros: brand name, accessibility, infrastructure
Cons: less structured working culture, no proper timing
On this particular company I done my Internship project-during those days I have learned how to get raw data-how to classified them,sampling-error checking-analysis to come on conclusion.
Seniors were so helpful and showed me the right way to complete
the project successfully.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outsourcing to India
Software Developer (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FLMay 15, 2013
Our programing positions were abolished after we were presented with mandatory training of people from India to replace us.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but enjoyable
Facilities Assistant / Travel Coordinator (Current Employee), Durban, KZNMay 2, 2013
Pros: free training courses
Cons: long hours
arrive - greet - read e-mails - respond - check calls logged on helpdesk -liaise with travel agent - arrange travels - liaise with staff - tea/lunch break at desk - finalise urgent travels - recon & process invoices (+-K400 000 p/m) - phone calls - queries - follow-ups - round up - leave.

work unsupervised - manager in Jhb

friendly

volumes with urgent – more... deadlines

everyday is challenging & different, creating excitement – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work
Statistical Marketing Researcher (Former Employee), schaumburg, ilApril 29, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: getting laid off
I loved working for Nielsen. I got to Travel the country (all expenses paid) great pay great people. NOthing bad to say. But I was ready to get off the road anyway! Not really a position for someone who has kids. I traveled a good bit of the year in my particular position..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Legal Secretary/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), San Rafael, CAApril 29, 2013
Pros: i have a job
Cons: no dental
Ok place to work. Nice people, but people are a little dry. Not much direction or proper training. Can be boring at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and full of opportunities
Business Unit Director (Current Employee), UKApril 18, 2013
Lots of diverse roles available and their international footprint offers high performing employees with relocation opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical corporate America
Program Manager (Current Employee), Tampa, FLApril 17, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: management
While the team members are great, there is a clear lack of leadership throughout the organization. There is little trust for lower level management, which leads to slow decision making, poor culture, and no desire to excel in a position
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intensive and challenging project work
Project Assistant (Intern) (Former Employee), ShanghaiApril 14, 2013
• Determined advertisement groups for 4A companies and grouped 2000 groups of data
• Supported colleagues to training clients how to use the data tool.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More of a lifestyle than a job, but well worth it.
Technical Field Representative (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOApril 14, 2013
Pros: compensation, company vehicle, opportunity for travel.
Cons: management was a revolving door and mishandled.
Lots of regional travel. Home office. Very autonomous position. It is very rewarding. Although having a home office means your always at work. Management was tolerable but constantly changing. The good managers out-shined the bad ones though. Best part of the job was the pay, good salary with potential for huge bonuses. Hardest part was passing the – more... intensive training school. Didn't see co-workers too much, no problems there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all rating 4
Data Architect (Current Employee), Syosset, NYApril 14, 2013
I work with a bunch of dedicated, talented people. The management is good and cooperative. It's a nice work place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
GBS-ELP Operations Intern (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILApril 9, 2013
Is very fun to work at the Nielsen Company. Has a very young and friendly environment. Most of the offices will have a break room and own rules. Is a very fun company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Membership Rep
Membership Representatove (Current Employee), PortlandApril 9, 2013
Pros: benefits good
Cons: expected to be always be available, no work/life balance, hard to make bonus, management never happy with performance. very litte support. company does not follow own values.
Have to account for every minute of work-electronically tracked. Do have a company car if full-time but can not really use it for personal even though you pay for it. Have to meet set targets or you will be harrassed daily. Only can make bonus if exceed quota which is hard as you have to rely on installers. Not much management support, upper management – more... has no clue about the rep's job. Company constatntly trying to cut costs and lays off are the norm. Rarely see co-workers not much of a team even though management acts like there is. It is cold calling a lot of nights and weekends. A lot of driving. Best part of job is being able to work own schedule even though you have to work all the time. Are expected to answer phone and emails 24/7. If you take time off you still need to meet your regular numbers so you are always worried about your job. – less

– June 1, 2013

Nielsen is interviewing for the Portland membership sales position. Are they adding another rep or are they replacing the current Portland, Oregon membership rep?

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Marketing Analyst (Former Employee), Dunedin, FLApril 8, 2013
This job equipped me with many valuable skills. I started in their call center and moved up to the marketing department. There is plenty of space to grow within the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start, flexible but not good work/life balance. (Particular Team)
Statistical Analyst (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OhioApril 3, 2013
Pros: high profile clients(exposure)
Cons: high profile clients(interaction)
Nielsen is a great company that suffers from being decentralized in its services. If there could be a true one voice atmosphere in my particular office, it would be great. That said, I know other offices that are very "one voice" oriented. All and all, it depends on what client and vertical you are assigned to. Due to attrition causing extra work in – more... my particular team, my experiences my be biased. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Analyst Intern
Analyst Intern, Marketing Mix Modeling Department (Former Employee), ShanghaiApril 1, 2013
• Efficiently helped summarize and process data with SPSS and constructed regression models; estimated parameters by employing marketing research tools (e.g. Correlation Adjustment, Decomp)
• Took leading role among interns and new employees during training sessions; regularly ranked as the top 5 out of 35 interns in modeling and received a full-time – more... offer
• First and only intern to participate in P&G US project; outputted the presentation documents for the clients; communicated with P&G US team via conference calls – less

About The Nielsen Company

Do you know what consumers buy? What consumers watch? Nielsen Knows! Nielsen is the world’s leading marketing and media – Read more

The Nielsen Company Photos