Find companies:
The Nielsen Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
392 reviews

The Nielsen Company Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All About Transparency!
Senior Executive Administrator (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 28, 2014
Pros: salary is great
Cons: everything excluding salary!
I thought this role working for The Nielsen Company was my ticket to longevity and stability in corp america, but this is not a company I can see myself being in long term. They sold me ALOT of hopes and dreams and even though I'm stellar at the role, they have yet to meet their end of the bargain. I'm actively seeking and for all of my fellow Support – more... Professionals here int he tri-state: STAY AWAY FROM THE NIELSEN COMPANY!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Exposure with International Firm
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Vadodara, GJJuly 27, 2014
I had lot of fun working with great team @ Nielsen. Nice Clients and flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Research Interviewer/ Team Ambassador (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYJuly 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch, flexible schedules
Cons: not enough hours
love this job as a research interviewer. everyday at work it was something different they made you feel the need and want to actually work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inconsistant contract work
desktop support engineer (Former Employee), oldsmar floridaJuly 25, 2014
Pros: they have a clean facility, which has a relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: most of their workers are contractors, work can be rather inconsistant with their needs.
Nice people overall, sadly working within their desktop support division it was plain to see the severe lack of oversight. Nielsen as a whole would rather pay extreme amounts of money on substandard hardware solutions than hire an permanent staff with talent to create proper hardware solutions. Furthermore the company lacks any real asset tracking solution. – more... They really have no idea what they have or how much money it costs them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place (South region) to work
Manager, Client Service (Former Employee), Bangalore, KAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: gid
Cons: long hours, no process documents, barriers to raise concerns, people running the show from past several years who are not ready for new ideas
Long days, manual works, typical government office environment, cannot check status quo, no support from management. Unsafe office
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Panel Relations Specialist (Former Employee), Columbia, MDJuly 15, 2014
Loved it. Was welcomed even as a new employee. Met a alot of people and great to see people wanting you to suceed
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall nice place to work
Senior Visual Marketing Designer (Former Employee), Columbia, MDJuly 9, 2014
Worked in a busy marketing department. Typical day involved juggling multiple projects and team meetings. Was able to develop my skills in Adobe Creative Suite, MS Office and art direction. Co-workers were all very talented. Great team to work with. Hardest part of the job was managing the expectations of our internal clients when being part of a cross-functional – more... team. Most enjoyable was that we had a relaxed work environment and a variety of projects to keep the work interesting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Nielsen Company is a marketing research company which handle research work particularly retail audit, customized research and media research.
Executive - Data Acquisition (Former Employee), Mandaluyong CityJuly 8, 2014
During my stint at Nielsen, I work as an Executive for retail audit. I supervise a team which conduct retail audit in various retail outlets in Greater Manila Area. I also, submits report on a monthly basis updates on retail trade such as sales status, promotions in trade and trade deals. Evaluates the team's performance on a monthly basis and do the – more... training and coaching on people if the need arises. My learning include; how to handle and manage people. report writing, to be patient on all types of people, to communicate with various people's classes. The management is fair as we have a documented process of employees' evaluation with corresponding salary increases base on performance. We are a happy company especially in our department as we always open to help. As a field people, the hardest part is when we are at the office doing paperwork, and the most enjoyable part is when we are on field doing our work and mingling with different types of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outbound Call Center
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYJuly 8, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Nielsen while I was there. It was a seasonal/temp job with many months off work. It did not suite my financial needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great part time job. i loved being on the road and going house to house interviewing families
recruiter (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 8, 2014
Pros: traveling, new people and cultures
Cons: once in a while there was a shortage of work
when my assignment was given to me, I reviewed the requirements set by Nielsen. A great deal of the time it would be out of state. I really enjoyed navigating into an unknown area. Sometimes it required a lot of walking but then the exercise was great as too with Tri-Rail. Once I found the Nielsen family my report would be written and sent in to my – more... supervisor in Kansas.

There wasn't anything I didn't enjoy about Nielsen – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of experiences and fun
Data supplier & Data verifier (Former Employee), Allahabad(U.P.)July 6, 2014
Pros: ocassionally
Cons: ocassionally
a typical day at work => My First Day on Field With My SOE
what you learned => How to work with a team
management => Very Good
your co-workers => Always react in a good manner
the hardest part of the job => Nothing
the most enjoyable part of the job => Communication with public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work at while it lasted
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYJuly 3, 2014
typical day required us to be on time and start dialing asap. Learned that not all people are into taking surveys, but some were. The co-workers were great to be around. The hardest part of the job was trying to maintain a high performance rating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really loved it while I was there...
Sr. Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FLJuly 3, 2014
Nielsen was a fantastic organization. The work was monumental in terms of the projects I was a part of, the people I worked with, and the overall culture that management perpetuated. Sadly, though, most of the positions at Nielsen have been exported to India via a contracting group called TCS. I got out about 6 months before that happened so it's sad – more... to see such a great company move in that direction. (Most of which has to do with a private equity firm purchasing Nielsen back in 2005-ish...) But it was great when I was there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All-in-all, an awful place to work
UK Editor and Survey Writer (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FLJune 30, 2014
Here's what you'll find at the department I worked for:

-Favoritism
-Bullying
-Narrow means of evaluating work
-The Peter Principle
-Incompetent and malicious management
-Veneer of objectivity over true fairness
-Bottom-line emphasized that was a gross oversimplification
-Sexism
-Discrimination ("meritocracy" idea used to justify it)

I don't know – more... if the entire company is like this, but the department I worked for had a culture that was cruel, indecent and counterproductive. The Human Resources Department did little to help those of us who had legitimate claims against the abuses of management. Those who did were fired or left out of frustration. Unless the culture changes, I recommend that people avoid working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hectic but with fun
Senior Translator (Current Employee), Mumbai, MHJune 29, 2014
Pros: lunch, bus services by the compay
Cons: stretched working hours
Starts sharp at 9.30 am. and ends at 5.30 pm., the official working hours of our company. The day at office involves doing translations and checking and editing Hindi translations done by other translators.Translations are done by using company owned translation software-Wordfast Classic.

Professionally, I have learned, during these years, doing translations, – more... specialising in translations of market research nature and providing quality translations to our clients.

Management of Hindi translated files and coordinating with vendors.

My co-workers are friendly, cooperating and gentle, but firm on target.

The hardest part of the job is to ensure error free and top quality translations, and not let any wrong word, spelling go unnoticed while being firm on the deadline.

Playing with words. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The sweetest pain
Executive, Client Service (Customized Research) (Former Employee), Colombo, Sri LankaJune 26, 2014
Pros: experince, field visits, compliments
Cons: late night work
Basically a typical day at Nielsen is all about work. However I managed to work with lot of passion and enthusiasm. I used to work at customized research division and our team was very talented also funny. So we used to make few jokes and made the working hours interesting and enjoyable and we actually did not feel the time passing. With all that I – more... always made sure to execute my work to the perfection and meet all the required standards. My manager was such a lovely character who helped me to move up on the ladder with ease. I did not only enhanced my research skills but also I was able to improve my team work abilities, to keep clam and work under immense pressure, to bond with the staff, work to the deadlines, and manage field staff and lot of people skills which were priceless. The hardest part of my job was, most of the time me and my team had to work very late (even pass the midnight) and again come back to work in early morning to complete some projects which had strict deadlines and demanding clients. However the most enjoyable part was the time we receive compliments from a very hard to please, highly demanding client. When that happens I feel all the pain we went through was worth every minute we put on to that project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company maintained a high level of customer satisfaction
Senior Manager of Solutions and Consulting (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 21, 2014
Pros: position was based upon client/association working as a team.
Cons: i was forced to handle up to 20 accounts at one time - support was very thin
Nielsen was a topline information supplier.
A typical day was working with customer satisfaction
I was a partner with the clients growth and satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Anonymous (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 18, 2014
Lots of opportunity to grow, great project management culture. Co-workers are typical corporate types, but extremely intelligent workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with Fun
Market Research Executive (Current Employee), Mumbai, IndiaJune 14, 2014
Pros: good infrastructure, flexible timings
Cons: nothing to specify
Great atmosphere and friendly environment. The scope to learn is always provided and the interested can grab it easily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Membership Representative (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FlJune 9, 2014
Pros: great support
Cons: position discontinued
Great team culture, fun getting homes to participate in the TV Ratings

About The Nielsen Company

Do you know what consumers buy? What consumers watch? Nielsen Knows! Nielsen is the world’s leading marketing and media – Read more

The Nielsen Company Photos