Find companies:
The Nielsen Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
340 reviews

The Nielsen Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Nielsen Company is a marketing research company which handle research work particularly retail audit, customized research and media research.
Executive - Data Acquisition (Former Employee), Mandaluyong CityJuly 8, 2014
During my stint at Nielsen, I work as an Executive for retail audit. I supervise a team which conduct retail audit in various retail outlets in Greater Manila Area. I also, submits report on a monthly basis updates on retail trade such as sales status, promotions in trade and trade deals. Evaluates the team's performance on a monthly basis and do the – more... training and coaching on people if the need arises. My learning include; how to handle and manage people. report writing, to be patient on all types of people, to communicate with various people's classes. The management is fair as we have a documented process of employees' evaluation with corresponding salary increases base on performance. We are a happy company especially in our department as we always open to help. As a field people, the hardest part is when we are at the office doing paperwork, and the most enjoyable part is when we are on field doing our work and mingling with different types of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outbound Call Center
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYJuly 8, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Nielsen while I was there. It was a seasonal/temp job with many months off work. It did not suite my financial needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great part time job. i loved being on the road and going house to house interviewing families
recruiter (Former Employee), Miami, FLJuly 8, 2014
Pros: traveling, new people and cultures
Cons: once in a while there was a shortage of work
when my assignment was given to me, I reviewed the requirements set by Nielsen. A great deal of the time it would be out of state. I really enjoyed navigating into an unknown area. Sometimes it required a lot of walking but then the exercise was great as too with Tri-Rail. Once I found the Nielsen family my report would be written and sent in to my – more... supervisor in Kansas.

There wasn't anything I didn't enjoy about Nielsen – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full of experiences and fun
Data supplier & Data verifier (Former Employee), Allahabad(U.P.)July 6, 2014
Pros: ocassionally
Cons: ocassionally
a typical day at work => My First Day on Field With My SOE
what you learned => How to work with a team
management => Very Good
your co-workers => Always react in a good manner
the hardest part of the job => Nothing
the most enjoyable part of the job => Communication with public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work at while it lasted
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYJuly 3, 2014
typical day required us to be on time and start dialing asap. Learned that not all people are into taking surveys, but some were. The co-workers were great to be around. The hardest part of the job was trying to maintain a high performance rating.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really loved it while I was there...
Sr. Systems Engineer (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FLJuly 3, 2014
Nielsen was a fantastic organization. The work was monumental in terms of the projects I was a part of, the people I worked with, and the overall culture that management perpetuated. Sadly, though, most of the positions at Nielsen have been exported to India via a contracting group called TCS. I got out about 6 months before that happened so it's sad – more... to see such a great company move in that direction. (Most of which has to do with a private equity firm purchasing Nielsen back in 2005-ish...) But it was great when I was there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All-in-all, an awful place to work
UK Editor and Survey Writer (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FLJune 30, 2014
Here's what you'll find at the department I worked for:

-Favoritism
-Bullying
-Narrow means of evaluating work
-The Peter Principle
-Incompetent and malicious management
-Veneer of objectivity over true fairness
-Bottom-line emphasized that was a gross oversimplification
-Sexism
-Discrimination ("meritocracy" idea used to justify it)

I don't know – more... if the entire company is like this, but the department I worked for had a culture that was cruel, indecent and counterproductive. The Human Resources Department did little to help those of us who had legitimate claims against the abuses of management. Those who did were fired or left out of frustration. Unless the culture changes, I recommend that people avoid working there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hectic but with fun
Senior Translator (Current Employee), Mumbai, MHJune 29, 2014
Pros: lunch, bus services by the compay
Cons: stretched working hours
Starts sharp at 9.30 am. and ends at 5.30 pm., the official working hours of our company. The day at office involves doing translations and checking and editing Hindi translations done by other translators.Translations are done by using company owned translation software-Wordfast Classic.

Professionally, I have learned, during these years, doing translations, – more... specialising in translations of market research nature and providing quality translations to our clients.

Management of Hindi translated files and coordinating with vendors.

My co-workers are friendly, cooperating and gentle, but firm on target.

The hardest part of the job is to ensure error free and top quality translations, and not let any wrong word, spelling go unnoticed while being firm on the deadline.

Playing with words. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The sweetest pain
Executive, Client Service (Customized Research) (Former Employee), Colombo, Sri LankaJune 26, 2014
Pros: experince, field visits, compliments
Cons: late night work
Basically a typical day at Nielsen is all about work. However I managed to work with lot of passion and enthusiasm. I used to work at customized research division and our team was very talented also funny. So we used to make few jokes and made the working hours interesting and enjoyable and we actually did not feel the time passing. With all that I – more... always made sure to execute my work to the perfection and meet all the required standards. My manager was such a lovely character who helped me to move up on the ladder with ease. I did not only enhanced my research skills but also I was able to improve my team work abilities, to keep clam and work under immense pressure, to bond with the staff, work to the deadlines, and manage field staff and lot of people skills which were priceless. The hardest part of my job was, most of the time me and my team had to work very late (even pass the midnight) and again come back to work in early morning to complete some projects which had strict deadlines and demanding clients. However the most enjoyable part was the time we receive compliments from a very hard to please, highly demanding client. When that happens I feel all the pain we went through was worth every minute we put on to that project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company maintained a high level of customer satisfaction
Senior Manager of Solutions and Consulting (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 21, 2014
Pros: position was based upon client/association working as a team.
Cons: i was forced to handle up to 20 accounts at one time - support was very thin
Nielsen was a topline information supplier.
A typical day was working with customer satisfaction
I was a partner with the clients growth and satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Anonymous (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 18, 2014
Lots of opportunity to grow, great project management culture. Co-workers are typical corporate types, but extremely intelligent workforce.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with Fun
Market Research Executive (Current Employee), Mumbai, IndiaJune 14, 2014
Pros: good infrastructure, flexible timings
Cons: nothing to specify
Great atmosphere and friendly environment. The scope to learn is always provided and the interested can grab it easily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Membership Representative (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FlJune 9, 2014
Pros: great support
Cons: position discontinued
Great team culture, fun getting homes to participate in the TV Ratings
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tremedous Growth Opportunity
Sales Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 5, 2014
Remote work environment that you can literally work around the clock if you do not balance your work/personal life. Be open, simple and integrated. Upper management rewards hard work. Peers will assistance as their time allows. The hardest part of the job is fitting in. The most enjoyable part of the job was giving people an opportunity to make a career – more... change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employee resource group
Client Service Account Executive (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 2, 2014
Pros: fun, diversity
Cons: a lot of complicated processes
Great work-life balance
Exposure to a lot of cross functional teams
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided broadcast stations with their rating.
SR. Data and Quality Control Analyst (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FLMay 24, 2014
Called cable companies to verify their cable lineups that is provided to their customers and making use our records matched theirs which was crucial to the ratings for major cable companies, advertising agencies and major cable networks. The best part of this job was the interaction with major cable company technical engineers and learning their lingo. – more... The hardest part was getting all data gathered during cycle which was a critical part of our job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no room for advancement past 5 yrs
Membership Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 20, 2014
nice benefits, fun job, but no true advancement opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work
Team Member (Current Employee), Chennai, TNMay 19, 2014
Need to create more opportunities within the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Oldsmar, FLMay 16, 2014
Pros: get to meet many people
Cons: short breaks, part time/seasonal job
It was a good experience working with so many people from different cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payroll
Payroll Representative (Current Employee), Radcliff, KYMay 15, 2014
Great place to work. Dealing with diversity with in the Company is great!

About The Nielsen Company

Do you know what consumers buy? What consumers watch? Nielsen Knows! Nielsen is the world’s leading marketing and media – Read more

The Nielsen Company Photos