Find companies:
The Nielsen Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
368 reviews

The Nielsen Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spear heading marketing efforts
Vice President (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 1, 2014
Good company; good benefits...Great staff and creativity...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Messy work place ,people are always discussing other employees business with other even the floor leads Horrible place to work
research interviewer (Former Employee), Dallas TxAugust 31, 2014
Pros: good pay for cold calling
Cons: no benefits, short 25min break disrespectful leads
Favortism , illegal activities such as shift leads allowing their friends to steal time/hrs. If you report this to a supervisor your more than likely to be fired. They lie to you about bonuses but let people lie about agrees and win bonuses while others work hard to get them truthfully.If you get survey diaries back in but your rate isn't over 32.8 – more... percent you won't be paid. You get hung up on cursed out talked about and go through the most for the agree you won't be paid for unless your rating is high.....a bunch of cold calling mess while offering ppl a dollar and some five anddl very few ten dollars to receive up to 25 calls with in the month maybe more almost like bullying ppl to participate for them to stop calling. I'm surprised ppl haven't voted to shut this company down in all states cities worldwide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company to Work for.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Nashville-Davidson, TNAugust 28, 2014
Pros: freedom, work from home, incentives and compensation.
Cons: big corporation
I work as a home recruiter in the Nashville, TN market. I worked under a new project when I was hired and it was at a part-time capacity. I worked from home and drove my own automobile (which they well compensate for the use). Full-time employees have a company car. I enjoyed the freedom of the job, meeting new people, and the self-management atmosphere. – more... I did have a good manager, but with a new start-up he was stretched thin and was sometime non-responsive. In all, I enjoyed my time with the company for the short-period I worked with Nielsen before I was laid-off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule but is a stressfull job.
Field Representative - Louisville (Current Employee), Oldsmar, FLAugust 26, 2014
I like the aspect of not being stuck behind a desk but it is very hard to seperate home and work life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and productive environment
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 26, 2014
A busy day/ typical day at work consisted of developing and designing devices.
Hardware knowledge and use in biomedical engineering.
Co workers were very inspiring, intelligent, hard working, helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for. Good benefits and time off.
Operations Lead & Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: time off, benefits, great people, lots to learn.
Cons: reorganizing too much, offshored too many jobs.
Good company overall to work for. Many talented people who were always willing to listen and open to new ideas that might help the business. Good work life balance for the most part. Great Benefits. I learned a lot there in the areas of Operations, offshore resource management, finance, and how to function well working in a large corporation that was – more... also in many countries.

Reorganized several times, and offshoring jobs made it challenging at times.

The people were great. I made many great connections that will stay with me. If you came up with a better way to do something, it would be received well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nielsen is a best Employer in the world working in more than 100 countries.
Field Supervisor (Market Research) (Current Employee), Indore, MPAugust 24, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: low growth prospects
Nielsen is big Brand name in Market Research Group, but the growth prospects are very low in this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work with Nielsen Company for a Project Related to Government Sector
Data entry (Former Employee), SharjahAugust 24, 2014
I learned how to be more responsible for finish the project on time and to be more faster to enter the information which was the hardest part in may job because the project related to government sector and also the most important without any mistakes on enter the information and when ever you finish part of the job from the project you can leave ether – more... you finish in five hours or 10 hours because the project include more than Parts which it take one month from hard work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well structured team and co operative colleagues and management
ETL Developer (Current Employee), 150 n martingale road,schaumburg,ilAugust 23, 2014
Pros: continual learning
Cons: extended work hours
well structured team and co operative colleagues and management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for with many offices around the world
Int'l Delivery Center Design and Delivery Manager (Current Employee), Schaumburg, ILAugust 22, 2014
A company with a lot of smart, hard-working people. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know colleagues around the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun and challenging work place.
Online Executive (Current Employee), Johannesburg South, GPAugust 18, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and free lunches.
Cons: when the system is down.
I normally do reports for different clients on the companies software, which is Adex. So far I have managed to do different reports as clients have different requests and I managed to do different creative reports.

I have managed to join the social side of the company whereby I led a house for CANSA. We were impacting on community as a company whereby – more... we were giving support to cancer survivors.

We get along with my co-workers and it's an environment where we help and support each other.
The hardest part of the job is when we don't get quick response from the production team because our clients become irritable.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when I get a challenging request from a client because I managed to learn more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with colleagues
data surveyer (Current Employee), Dhanbad, JHAugust 16, 2014
Pros: importance given for employee safety, healty & security
Cons: employees look at nielsen as short term organisation & step out for wider opportunities.
it has lot of pressure from your boss. but the other colleagues are good to working with.
they have a very good environment to work and balance your work versus life.
the salary was a big concern for atleast.other things are ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Oracle PL/SQL Application Developer (Former Employee), chennaiAugust 15, 2014
learnt to handle work under pressure and had a very big team.And work culture was very good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with one of nation's finest communications teams
Vice President, Government Relations (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 15, 2014
Pros: compensation package
In depth leadership experience working with diverse senior management teams, research training, budget management, working with cross-functional teams, and grassroots mobilization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team work
SOFTWARE ENGINEER (Current Employee), Oldsmar, FLAugust 12, 2014
Always working with new challenges with great team effort and cooperation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Test Lead (Current Employee), Tampa,FLAugust 8, 2014
Nice to work @ NIELSEN. Which is great place to work independent and Global envt
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a nice, clean place, co-workers are extremely nice
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 31, 2014
Cons: short breaks, no benefits, and out of cicle system you wont work the complete year months without work
you always look at your assigned booth and assigned study, clock in, get your headphones on and start calling. I learn how to persuade and to deal with really angry people, stay calm and nice to stressful situations. sometimes they do not let you know that you do not have to go to work because sometimes they are out of numbers. co-workers are the must – more... fun part because almost everybody is really nice and easy to talk to even team leaders are really nice. the hardest part is that it gets repetitive and also try to persuade really angry people gets really complicated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn, but slow to grow
Client Manager (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 30, 2014
Pros: market knowledge
Cons: underpaid, undervalued
Nielsen has the information needed to be the only Marketing Consulting company out there, but structural processes at times makes that possibility hard to achieve. Great talent is often underpaid and not encouraged and people often make more money at similar companies that are not that challenging or with more experience. You have to be really quick – more... on your feet to be a successful client consultant at Nielsen and that's why many other firms LOVE to steal from Nielsen their own talent that they don't appreciate. But in terms of what you can learn, the sky is the limit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting fast paced encounters
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYJuly 29, 2014
Pros: pay; location
Cons: clients
If you can deal with being yelled at by the people that you are calling then you can easily do this job. It was hard to get people to stay on the line and not hang up on you. it was also hard to get people to comprehend that I was not selling anything. I just needed opinions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All About Transparency!
Senior Executive Administrator (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 28, 2014
Pros: salary is great
Cons: everything excluding salary!
I thought this role working for The Nielsen Company was my ticket to longevity and stability in corp america, but this is not a company I can see myself being in long term. They sold me ALOT of hopes and dreams and even though I'm stellar at the role, they have yet to meet their end of the bargain. I'm actively seeking and for all of my fellow Support – more... Professionals here int he tri-state: STAY AWAY FROM THE NIELSEN COMPANY!!! – less

About The Nielsen Company

Do you know what consumers buy? What consumers watch? Nielsen Knows! Nielsen is the world’s leading marketing and media – Read more

The Nielsen Company Photos