The Nielsen Company

566 reviews

The Nielsen Company Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunistic company for individuals who are willing to make the commitment, take risk and failure to excel and succeed.
Vice President - National Field Operations (Former Employee), Markham, ONJune 8, 2015
Pros: Technology, Opportunity, Company
Cons: Technology
. There has never been a typical day at Nielsen, as VP of Operations which was the later part of my career I would review the status of the overnight ratings provide to the TV Networks, Agencies and Advertisers to ensure that the quality of the data met their standards. All anomalies where investigated. Managed staff, budgets, client and internal operational meetings.

. Given empowerment and the willingness to fail your way to success you can grow the business, but more importantly yourself.

. Management has been great and was always there to help those that wanted to help themselves.

. Over the years I have bonded with several co-workers and still remain in contact with them. The way I look at things is that I can always get along with anyone whether we agree to agree or disagree.

. The evolution in technology was for every changing and as part of my responsibility we had to monitor the viewing habits of all people and the technology they use to view television on.

. What I enjoyed was knowing that you were given a sample of the population the opportunity to provide them with the empowerment to tell the industry what was important and relevant to the TV viewing of Canadians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter Company
Business Manager (Former Employee), Markham, ONMay 7, 2015
Great people, but poor management. Ability to work from home at times. Great way to learn about various companies.
Good place to learn if coming out of school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, would like to go back again
Manager (Former Employee), Markham, ONApril 20, 2015
Good company to work for, would like to go back again
- great learning
- great people
- most clients are CPG & retail
- good contacts
- great exposure
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low paying, low motivation, little advancement opportuinites
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Montréal, QCApril 13, 2015
Pros: set own schedule
Cons: company is very un-willing to pay you for a job well done.
If you only speak English in Montréal or you need a job fast this is for you. Don't stay too long though, you will never earn a lot of money and they really don't care about you as an employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top notch engineering company
Consultant (Current Employee), CalgaryApril 1, 2015
Pros: Excellent knowledgeable management, great location
Cons: parking is expensive
Good place to work, fun crew. Great variety of work. Got paid promptly. Competitive wages. Good clients. Good management. Everything that you need to do the job is available. Had a great Christmas party!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very pleasant place of work
Market Research Interviewer (Current Employee), MontrealOctober 21, 2014
the hours are flexible, the staff understanding and helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Client information support specialist (Current Employee), Montréal, QCSeptember 17, 2014
There is a good balance between working hard, learning and having fun while you are working. As we work in the CPG industry it is very interesting to learn about the different categories in the Market. Hair care, deli-meat, Yogurt, Beer. There is always something to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Markham, ONJune 28, 2014
Pros: tech savvy
Cons: no opportunity for growth
Great company to work for, minimal opportunity for growth and advance in the career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging and learning new thing everyday
Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 1, 2014
Pros: apply new technology in the market
Cons: short contract
Staff are great, learn to build computer and test new software. Management are very friendly. Have a good lunch cafeteria.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Part time Interviewer (Current Employee), BahrainJune 17, 2013
Opportunity to meet people with different experience and skills.
Daily we will get a chance to enhance our knowledge.
Friendly atmosphere and good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Analyst (Former Employee), MarkhamMay 11, 2013
Pros
- Great place to learn
- Room for advancement

Cons
- Bureaucracy
- Pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and Relaxing..no pressure
Client Information Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 22, 2013
It was great, but things changed once the company decided to re-structure and off-shore work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!! Easy to balance life and work.
Client Information Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: fun enviroment
Cons: no training provided to move on to the next steps
It was great to work in a team of 9 people. We helped each other out and asked for help if any issues or questions.

It was easy to balance both life and work.

See more The Nielsen Company reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile
Employees
10,000+
Industry
Links
The Nielsen Company website
Nielsen Careers website

Twitter

Facebook