Find companies:
The Nielsen Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
358 reviews

The Nielsen Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Client information support specialist (Current Employee), Montréal, QCSeptember 17, 2014
There is a good balance between working hard, learning and having fun while you are working. As we work in the CPG industry it is very interesting to learn about the different categories in the Market. Hair care, deli-meat, Yogurt, Beer. There is always something to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Markham, ONJune 28, 2014
Pros: tech savvy
Cons: no opportunity for growth
Great company to work for, minimal opportunity for growth and advance in the career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging and learning new thing everyday
Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 1, 2014
Pros: apply new technology in the market
Cons: short contract
Staff are great, learn to build computer and test new software. Management are very friendly. Have a good lunch cafeteria.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Part time Interviewer (Current Employee), BahrainJune 17, 2013
Opportunity to meet people with different experience and skills.
Daily we will get a chance to enhance our knowledge.
Friendly atmosphere and good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Analyst (Former Employee), MarkhamMay 11, 2013
Pros
- Great place to learn
- Room for advancement

Cons
- Bureaucracy
- Pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and Relaxing..no pressure
Client Information Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 22, 2013
It was great, but things changed once the company decided to re-structure and off-shore work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!! Easy to balance life and work.
Client Information Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: fun enviroment
Cons: no training provided to move on to the next steps
It was great to work in a team of 9 people. We helped each other out and asked for help if any issues or questions.

It was easy to balance both life and work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with friendly, focused people that are highly analytical.
Support EVP of Data Fusion & Social TV Analytics (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 25, 2014
I enjoyed my time working here and people are very open to networking and being as helpful as they can despite their very busy schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine place to work
Client Solutions Executive, Business Development (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: brand name, opportunity to move around
Cons: management, mundane work
Nielsen has strong brand recognition and dependable client base. Culture is fine but I don't believe it's really become a merit based work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place as you are given space to grow
Manager- Consumer Insights and Innovation (Current Employee), KarachiSeptember 15, 2014
Nielsen encourages integrating and bonding with each other and we call ourselves The Nielsen Family.
A typical day starts with bonding over morning tea/ coffee, followed by serious work till lunch time. One hour of lunch/prayer time is encouraged to relax and de-stress with colleagues.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people and the friendly – more... culture, its not authoritative in fact its very open and boundary less. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nielsen is a good place to work/I am now a temporary employee
verifier (Current Employee), Nokomis, FLSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: employee friendly
I work 7.45 hours a day and usually 6 days a week.
We learn new guidelines several times a week .
there are 350 employees and 12 are management and work full time. the 350 are temps, but get called back after 6 weeks off. we work in cycles of 6 weeks working and 6 weeks off.
my co-workers are generally very pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nielsen Raatings
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 9, 2014
• Updated various reports for the Vice President
• Gathered competitor’s product and pricing information
• Gathered information on TV Ratings to send out for Marketing Surveys
• Researched competitors by phone and Internet on equipment used to monitor TV Ratings
• Created spreadsheets with findings and information from the Marketing Survey for Management – more... review
• Assisted Sales Representatives with follow-up calls to ensure a satisfied customer after installation of TV equipment
• Coordinated forms for Promotions
• Processed information into SAP for new hire and terminated employees
• Assisted with payroll processing weekly for non-exempt employees
• Coordinated salary distribution report and separations reports
• Updated and approved Regional Manager’s expense books
• Ordered, managed and maintained inventory of office supplies
• Coordinated hotel and travel arrangements
• Maintained and coordinated the VP’s calendar
• Scheduled and set-up conferences
• Coordinated awards for Managers and update them on the website
• Coordinated the quarterly reviews for the field representatives
• Tracked and maintained records of transfers and relocations of the management team and field representatives
• Updated the website with announcements, awards and performances
• Accounts Payable/Accounts Receivable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Panel Relations Specialist (Current Employee), Oldsmar, FLSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: good coworkers, innovative company, friendly environment, beautiful location, great benefits
Cons: too much sitting down
Nielsen is a wonderful company to work for. They have great benefits. I call Nielsen homes and get them to comply to our data standards. My coworkers are wonderful people who love their jobs and enjoy working for Nielsen for 3+ years.
The hardest part of the job is convincing homes to comply with our data standards. It becomes a tedious task and somewhat – more... difficult when the households become irate.
The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with every one of the Nielsen homes, or the Nielsen employees who embrace the Nielsen ideals of Open, Simple, and Integrated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spear heading marketing efforts
Vice President (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 1, 2014
Good company; good benefits...Great staff and creativity...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Messy work place ,people are always discussing other employees business with other even the floor leads Horrible place to work
research interviewer (Former Employee), Dallas TxAugust 31, 2014
Pros: good pay for cold calling
Cons: no benefits, short 25min break disrespectful leads
Favortism , illegal activities such as shift leads allowing their friends to steal time/hrs. If you report this to a supervisor your more than likely to be fired. They lie to you about bonuses but let people lie about agrees and win bonuses while others work hard to get them truthfully.If you get survey diaries back in but your rate isn't over 32.8 – more... percent you won't be paid. You get hung up on cursed out talked about and go through the most for the agree you won't be paid for unless your rating is high.....a bunch of cold calling mess while offering ppl a dollar and some five anddl very few ten dollars to receive up to 25 calls with in the month maybe more almost like bullying ppl to participate for them to stop calling. I'm surprised ppl haven't voted to shut this company down in all states cities worldwide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company to Work for.
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Nashville-Davidson, TNAugust 28, 2014
Pros: freedom, work from home, incentives and compensation.
Cons: big corporation
I work as a home recruiter in the Nashville, TN market. I worked under a new project when I was hired and it was at a part-time capacity. I worked from home and drove my own automobile (which they well compensate for the use). Full-time employees have a company car. I enjoyed the freedom of the job, meeting new people, and the self-management atmosphere. – more... I did have a good manager, but with a new start-up he was stretched thin and was sometime non-responsive. In all, I enjoyed my time with the company for the short-period I worked with Nielsen before I was laid-off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule but is a stressfull job.
Field Representative - Louisville (Current Employee), Oldsmar, FLAugust 26, 2014
I like the aspect of not being stuck behind a desk but it is very hard to seperate home and work life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company and productive environment
Senior Software Engineer (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 26, 2014
A busy day/ typical day at work consisted of developing and designing devices.
Hardware knowledge and use in biomedical engineering.
Co workers were very inspiring, intelligent, hard working, helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company to work for. Good benefits and time off.
Operations Lead & Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 25, 2014
Pros: time off, benefits, great people, lots to learn.
Cons: reorganizing too much, offshored too many jobs.
Good company overall to work for. Many talented people who were always willing to listen and open to new ideas that might help the business. Good work life balance for the most part. Great Benefits. I learned a lot there in the areas of Operations, offshore resource management, finance, and how to function well working in a large corporation that was – more... also in many countries.

Reorganized several times, and offshoring jobs made it challenging at times.

The people were great. I made many great connections that will stay with me. If you came up with a better way to do something, it would be received well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nielsen is a best Employer in the world working in more than 100 countries.
Field Supervisor (Market Research) (Current Employee), Indore, MPAugust 24, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: low growth prospects
Nielsen is big Brand name in Market Research Group, but the growth prospects are very low in this company.

1 2 3 4 5

About The Nielsen Company

Do you know what consumers buy? What consumers watch? Nielsen Knows! Nielsen is the world’s leading marketing and media – Read more

The Nielsen Company Photos