Find companies:
The Nielsen Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
341 reviews

The Nielsen Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Markham, ONJune 28, 2014
Pros: tech savvy
Cons: no opportunity for growth
Great company to work for, minimal opportunity for growth and advance in the career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging and learning new thing everyday
Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 1, 2014
Pros: apply new technology in the market
Cons: short contract
Staff are great, learn to build computer and test new software. Management are very friendly. Have a good lunch cafeteria.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Analyst (Former Employee), MarkhamMay 11, 2013
Pros
- Great place to learn
- Room for advancement

Cons
- Bureaucracy
- Pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and Relaxing..no pressure
Client Information Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 22, 2013
It was great, but things changed once the company decided to re-structure and off-shore work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!! Easy to balance life and work.
Client Information Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: fun enviroment
Cons: no training provided to move on to the next steps
It was great to work in a team of 9 people. We helped each other out and asked for help if any issues or questions.

It was easy to balance both life and work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun and challenging work place.
Online Executive (Current Employee), Johannesburg South, GPAugust 18, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and free lunches.
Cons: when the system is down.
I normally do reports for different clients on the companies software, which is Adex. So far I have managed to do different reports as clients have different requests and I managed to do different creative reports.

I have managed to join the social side of the company whereby I led a house for CANSA. We were impacting on community as a company whereby – more... we were giving support to cancer survivors.

We get along with my co-workers and it's an environment where we help and support each other.
The hardest part of the job is when we don't get quick response from the production team because our clients become irritable.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when I get a challenging request from a client because I managed to learn more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with colleagues
data surveyer (Current Employee), Dhanbad, JHAugust 16, 2014
Pros: importance given for employee safety, healty & security
Cons: employees look at nielsen as short term organisation & step out for wider opportunities.
it has lot of pressure from your boss. but the other colleagues are good to working with.
they have a very good environment to work and balance your work versus life.
the salary was a big concern for atleast.other things are ok.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Oracle PL/SQL Application Developer (Former Employee), chennaiAugust 15, 2014
learnt to handle work under pressure and had a very big team.And work culture was very good
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with one of nation's finest communications teams
Vice President, Government Relations (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 15, 2014
Pros: compensation package
In depth leadership experience working with diverse senior management teams, research training, budget management, working with cross-functional teams, and grassroots mobilization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team work
SOFTWARE ENGINEER (Current Employee), Oldsmar, FLAugust 12, 2014
Always working with new challenges with great team effort and cooperation
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Test Lead (Current Employee), Tampa,FLAugust 8, 2014
Nice to work @ NIELSEN. Which is great place to work independent and Global envt
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a nice, clean place, co-workers are extremely nice
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 31, 2014
Cons: short breaks, no benefits, and out of cicle system you wont work the complete year months without work
you always look at your assigned booth and assigned study, clock in, get your headphones on and start calling. I learn how to persuade and to deal with really angry people, stay calm and nice to stressful situations. sometimes they do not let you know that you do not have to go to work because sometimes they are out of numbers. co-workers are the must – more... fun part because almost everybody is really nice and easy to talk to even team leaders are really nice. the hardest part is that it gets repetitive and also try to persuade really angry people gets really complicated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn, but slow to grow
Client Manager (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 30, 2014
Pros: market knowledge
Cons: underpaid, undervalued
Nielsen has the information needed to be the only Marketing Consulting company out there, but structural processes at times makes that possibility hard to achieve. Great talent is often underpaid and not encouraged and people often make more money at similar companies that are not that challenging or with more experience. You have to be really quick – more... on your feet to be a successful client consultant at Nielsen and that's why many other firms LOVE to steal from Nielsen their own talent that they don't appreciate. But in terms of what you can learn, the sky is the limit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting fast paced encounters
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYJuly 29, 2014
Pros: pay; location
Cons: clients
If you can deal with being yelled at by the people that you are calling then you can easily do this job. It was hard to get people to stay on the line and not hang up on you. it was also hard to get people to comprehend that I was not selling anything. I just needed opinions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All About Transparency!
Senior Executive Administrator (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 28, 2014
Pros: salary is great
Cons: everything excluding salary!
I thought this role working for The Nielsen Company was my ticket to longevity and stability in corp america, but this is not a company I can see myself being in long term. They sold me ALOT of hopes and dreams and even though I'm stellar at the role, they have yet to meet their end of the bargain. I'm actively seeking and for all of my fellow Support – more... Professionals here int he tri-state: STAY AWAY FROM THE NIELSEN COMPANY!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Exposure with International Firm
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Vadodara, GJJuly 27, 2014
I had lot of fun working with great team @ Nielsen. Nice Clients and flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Research Interviewer/ Team Ambassador (Former Employee), Radcliff, KYJuly 26, 2014
Pros: free lunch, flexible schedules
Cons: not enough hours
love this job as a research interviewer. everyday at work it was something different they made you feel the need and want to actually work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inconsistant contract work
desktop support engineer (Former Employee), oldsmar floridaJuly 25, 2014
Pros: they have a clean facility, which has a relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: most of their workers are contractors, work can be rather inconsistant with their needs.
Nice people overall, sadly working within their desktop support division it was plain to see the severe lack of oversight. Nielsen as a whole would rather pay extreme amounts of money on substandard hardware solutions than hire an permanent staff with talent to create proper hardware solutions. Furthermore the company lacks any real asset tracking solution. – more... They really have no idea what they have or how much money it costs them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place (South region) to work
Manager, Client Service (Former Employee), Bangalore, KAJuly 25, 2014
Pros: gid
Cons: long hours, no process documents, barriers to raise concerns, people running the show from past several years who are not ready for new ideas
Long days, manual works, typical government office environment, cannot check status quo, no support from management. Unsafe office
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Panel Relations Specialist (Former Employee), Columbia, MDJuly 15, 2014
Loved it. Was welcomed even as a new employee. Met a alot of people and great to see people wanting you to suceed

1 2 3 4 5

About The Nielsen Company

Do you know what consumers buy? What consumers watch? Nielsen Knows! Nielsen is the world’s leading marketing and media – Read more

The Nielsen Company Photos