Find companies:
The Nielsen Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
367 reviews

The Nielsen Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Client information support specialist (Current Employee), Montréal, QCSeptember 17, 2014
There is a good balance between working hard, learning and having fun while you are working. As we work in the CPG industry it is very interesting to learn about the different categories in the Market. Hair care, deli-meat, Yogurt, Beer. There is always something to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work/life balance
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Markham, ONJune 28, 2014
Pros: tech savvy
Cons: no opportunity for growth
Great company to work for, minimal opportunity for growth and advance in the career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, challenging and learning new thing everyday
Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 1, 2014
Pros: apply new technology in the market
Cons: short contract
Staff are great, learn to build computer and test new software. Management are very friendly. Have a good lunch cafeteria.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Part time Interviewer (Current Employee), BahrainJune 17, 2013
Opportunity to meet people with different experience and skills.
Daily we will get a chance to enhance our knowledge.
Friendly atmosphere and good management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Analyst (Former Employee), MarkhamMay 11, 2013
Pros
- Great place to learn
- Room for advancement

Cons
- Bureaucracy
- Pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and Relaxing..no pressure
Client Information Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 22, 2013
It was great, but things changed once the company decided to re-structure and off-shore work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!! Easy to balance life and work.
Client Information Specialist (Former Employee), Markham, ONFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: fun enviroment
Cons: no training provided to move on to the next steps
It was great to work in a team of 9 people. We helped each other out and asked for help if any issues or questions.

It was easy to balance both life and work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool and Fun
National Host and Ambassador (Current Employee), Hollywood, CAOctober 19, 2014
Pros: good people, good times
Cons: sometimes can be a little "tight"
Nielsen was/is one of my favorite experiences. The staff and VPs were very engaging and cared about the results they sought. Never did I feel like another wheel on the train.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible but unconventional work hours
Field Representative (Current Employee), United StatesOctober 6, 2014
Pros: set your own schedule, company vehicle, bonus for high performance
Cons: unconventional work schedule, unpredictable level of work day to day
The hardest part about this job is not having a conventional work schedule, it is not a 9-5 job. Not knowing when on a daily basis the work day will end depending on a variety of factors, equipment break downs, persons availability. I don't think you can maintain a level balance between work/life and also have a high level of performance. There is a – more... lot of work that needs to be attended to at home and thus it feels like the job never ends. It also offers a flexibility at the same time, with certain exceptions you are able to set your own schedule. There is a lot of the time you will be working alone in the field travelling and maintaining homes and on a limited basis you will meet up with coworkers. It is also a close group of teammates because we all will help each other out knowing that if we need help it will be there. There is no typical day of work, it is about equal parts paperwork, phone calls, drive time and in field maintenance work. Requires strong customer service skills, need to be self motivated to maintain a high level of performance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having fun with people
Global Client Manager (Unilever) (Current Employee), Oxford, UKOctober 6, 2014
A client facing role. Full of meetings and emails and coordination
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Leadership & Organization
HR (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 3, 2014
Cons: horrible company
This is not a good company to work for. Its extremely unorganized and lacks the required leadership. It seems management is only out to save their own tails. They do not work as team and 500 people have quit within the past 10 months. 20 wildfires are burning at one time and it seems like no one knows how to put them out. It's a stressful environment, – more... and again management has very little knowledge of how to run things. I believe their practices are unethical and am very surprised no one has went to the labor board being that over 100 employees went a whole month without receiving a paycheck. My opinion, don't work here unless you're really desperate for a job, other than that I highly recommend that your stay far away, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun Workplace
Research Interviewer (Former Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 1, 2014
Deliver great customer service and abide by strict guidelines to attend to every customers. Very Easy,Fun, and Enjoyable job if you make it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agile Environment, allows telecommuting, nice place to work
Senior Software Developer / Sencha Architect (Current Employee), Oldsmar, FLOctober 1, 2014
Encourages self-improvement by offering a large assortment of technology classes onsite and/or web based. Currently moving most apps to mobile platforms. Onsite cafe and snack machines. Managers have an open door policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with friendly, focused people that are highly analytical.
Support EVP of Data Fusion & Social TV Analytics (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 25, 2014
I enjoyed my time working here and people are very open to networking and being as helpful as they can despite their very busy schedules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine place to work
Client Solutions Executive, Business Development (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: brand name, opportunity to move around
Cons: management, mundane work
Nielsen has strong brand recognition and dependable client base. Culture is fine but I don't believe it's really become a merit based work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place as you are given space to grow
Manager- Consumer Insights and Innovation (Current Employee), KarachiSeptember 15, 2014
Nielsen encourages integrating and bonding with each other and we call ourselves The Nielsen Family.
A typical day starts with bonding over morning tea/ coffee, followed by serious work till lunch time. One hour of lunch/prayer time is encouraged to relax and de-stress with colleagues.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the people and the friendly – more... culture, its not authoritative in fact its very open and boundary less. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nielsen is a good place to work/I am now a temporary employee
verifier (Current Employee), Nokomis, FLSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: employee friendly
I work 7.45 hours a day and usually 6 days a week.
We learn new guidelines several times a week .
there are 350 employees and 12 are management and work full time. the 350 are temps, but get called back after 6 weeks off. we work in cycles of 6 weeks working and 6 weeks off.
my co-workers are generally very pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nielsen Raatings
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 9, 2014
• Updated various reports for the Vice President
• Gathered competitor’s product and pricing information
• Gathered information on TV Ratings to send out for Marketing Surveys
• Researched competitors by phone and Internet on equipment used to monitor TV Ratings
• Created spreadsheets with findings and information from the Marketing Survey for Management – more... review
• Assisted Sales Representatives with follow-up calls to ensure a satisfied customer after installation of TV equipment
• Coordinated forms for Promotions
• Processed information into SAP for new hire and terminated employees
• Assisted with payroll processing weekly for non-exempt employees
• Coordinated salary distribution report and separations reports
• Updated and approved Regional Manager’s expense books
• Ordered, managed and maintained inventory of office supplies
• Coordinated hotel and travel arrangements
• Maintained and coordinated the VP’s calendar
• Scheduled and set-up conferences
• Coordinated awards for Managers and update them on the website
• Coordinated the quarterly reviews for the field representatives
• Tracked and maintained records of transfers and relocations of the management team and field representatives
• Updated the website with announcements, awards and performances
• Accounts Payable/Accounts Receivable – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic
Panel Relations Specialist (Current Employee), Oldsmar, FLSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: good coworkers, innovative company, friendly environment, beautiful location, great benefits
Cons: too much sitting down
Nielsen is a wonderful company to work for. They have great benefits. I call Nielsen homes and get them to comply to our data standards. My coworkers are wonderful people who love their jobs and enjoy working for Nielsen for 3+ years.
The hardest part of the job is convincing homes to comply with our data standards. It becomes a tedious task and somewhat – more... difficult when the households become irate.
The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with every one of the Nielsen homes, or the Nielsen employees who embrace the Nielsen ideals of Open, Simple, and Integrated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spear heading marketing efforts
Vice President (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 1, 2014
Good company; good benefits...Great staff and creativity...

1 2 3 4 5

About The Nielsen Company

Do you know what consumers buy? What consumers watch? Nielsen Knows! Nielsen is the world’s leading marketing and media – Read more

The Nielsen Company Photos