The MathWorks

The MathWorks Employee Reviews

Showing all 35 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Math Tutor
Summer Camp Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 25, 2016
Assisted with the creation of lesson plans
Learned how to teach teenagers math and make it as enjoyable as possible.
The coworkers were really involved into teaching others and helping me learn the process of teaching kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a fun internship
MATLAB Web Applications Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAFebruary 9, 2016
I interned in Mathworks in Fall 2015. I learned about the MATLAB editor and compiler. Mathworks is a very cool place to work with.Even as a new intern, I was given a lot of responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 18, 2015
People first culture. Great orientation meetings to learn about the company. Collaborative environment. A lot of great talent.
Pros
5 year anniversary trip, annual Mt Washington weekend, free drinks, Wednesday breakfast, Friday cookies
Cons
Work from home policy, vacation days
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAAugust 13, 2015
Great people, great work. Lots of interesting projects going on. I enjoyed interning here. The main focus is on quality.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies to work for
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAJuly 1, 2015
Awesome place, awesome almost everything about it. Interesting work, great people to work with, and great benefits. Pay is more than industry average, but slightly less than inner-city Boston or Cambridge (like 10% less, since they are almost an hour outside of the city).
Pros
People, Work, Environment
Cons
... none, really
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place that cares for its people
Social Mission Intern (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 30, 2015
MathWorks does everything it can to listen to the staff and make their lives easier. Happy people make for a collaborative culture and you feel like you make a difference.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient, productive and friendly working environment
Test and Measurement Quality Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAMay 17, 2015
Awesome to be worked there.

Working there gave me an immense pleasure in exploring my ideas and applying them in practical.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice culture
Web Application Intern (Former Employee) –  NatickMay 8, 2015
The work culture is very serious and focused. The food is amazing. The benefits are good. Manager was a very co-operative and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work
Software Maintenance Representative (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAApril 2, 2015
Worked as a sales support intern, treated me extremely well.Great co-workers, friendly atmosphere, solid amount of work and opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Customer Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Natick, MAFebruary 27, 2015
Atmosphere is fantastic. However, not a lot of room for career growth. Great way to gain experience. Most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that you helped make a difference for your customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and collaborative workplace
Software Development Intern (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAFebruary 11, 2015
- Typical days at work involved team meetings, one-on-one meetings with team manager and reporting the progress every alternate day.
- Hardest part involved researching to develop the prototype for my project and debugging to get the desired result.
- Overall, An awesome place to work with a fun-loving and high-energy team where co-workers are very supportive.
Pros
complimentary breakfast, cookies, nice teamwork
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture Promoted Does Not Permeate all Departments
Staff (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAJanuary 8, 2015
Weak Middle Management
The hardest part of the job is managing the expectations of each level from management to end-users and coworkers. Management micro-manages under the guise of collaboration. Had to play arbitrator between upper and middle management. Huge discrepancy between the role that was sold to me and the role that others expected. My manager explained role one way and my coworkers had completely different expectations of my role which caused enormous problems, then my manager was frequently absent and when present was largely unavailable to deal with infighting.

HR is like a high school clique - unapproachable and doesn't have the time for anyone not in their crew.

Recruiters will give you the rainbows and unicorns version of the company culture, but it only applies to one or two departments. Any other department is hit or miss.
Pros
free breakfast
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great cultural fit will make for a perfect job
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAOctober 28, 2014
MathWorks has a strong corporate culture with variations for the team. One can tell that the executives have thought through the mission/values and they actually follow that. Most employees are very intelligent and motivated. You need to find the group that you fit in because each one is different. This also makes working across teams in a large projects difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing learning experience
Web Integration Engineer (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAMarch 23, 2014
I learned a lot of team working skills, improved communication skills and had an hands on experience in working with cutting edge technologies.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive experience
Massachusetts, USA, Fixed Point Simulink Intern (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAMarch 19, 2014
As a Master's student, Mathworks gave me a wonderful opportunity to learn and shape my career.
Pros
work life balance, good management
Cons
-
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Business Applications Manager (Current Employee) –  Natick maMarch 18, 2014
Looking for a larger company that is a little less process oriented and more focused on gettingt the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Culture, Great learning opportunity
Application Support Engineer (Current Employee) –  Natick, MAFebruary 22, 2014
The MathWorks has a good work culture and offers a lot of opportunities to demonstrate and develop your skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place and great people to work for!
Intern (Current Employee) –  Natick, MAFebruary 10, 2014
As an Intern I learn a lot.
Great work environment! No pressure and healthy competition.
Fruit bowl everyday!! Wednesday free breakfast. Free beer for special events.
Pros
no pressure
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and challenging
Technical Support Group Leader/Specialist (Former Employee) –  Natick, MANovember 26, 2013
Excellent place to start a career, gr8 perks and company lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommended for Everyone
Global Public Relations (Former Employee) –  Natick, MAJune 30, 2013
Very considerate of employee's personal needs, great working environment, great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0