Find companies:
The Keg Steakhouse and Bar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

The Keg Steakhouse and Bar Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Hostess\ Bar server (Current Employee), Windsor, ONOctober 24, 2014
I typically set up the dinning room, set up big parties coming in for dinner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fine dining experience in a casual atmosphere
Bartender and Bar Server (Current Employee), Waterloo, ONOctober 23, 2014
The Keg Steakhouse and Grill in Waterloo, Ontario is an amazing place to work. The other employees and the management themselves make this restaurant a fun and productive environment. I am a bartender most of the time with a bar serving position once a week. I learn so much everyday about liquor and wine everyday from this job. Also I find that the – more... experience I have obtained at the Keg is a great foundation for a lucrative and successful restaurant career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced environment
Salader and Busser (Current Employee), Brandon, MBSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: fun people to work with and good management
Cons: long hours
Works well under pressure and has fun with co-workers
Management is well organized
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you like the late shifts
Dishwasher (Current Employee), Burnaby, BCJuly 1, 2014
Pros: free bread, fries and drinks
Cons: late hours, extremely busy on weekends, unreliable scheduling
As a dishwasher you're at the bottom of the food chain but you wouldn't tell here as you make more money than bussers and also get better tips than them. The late nights can be draining and they're so unreliable with their scheduling that its hard not to consider quitting or finding another part time job. You may ask for shifts one week and get none – more... and then when you're busy they will give you shifts when you asked for those days off. Overall its an okay place to work but I would consider a place with better hours and more reliable scheduling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, good food, but has all the problems associated with a resturaunt
Line cook (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 20, 2014
Pros: good hours, discounted meals, close to home
Cons: unstable hours, despite being a fulltime position 40 hours never achieved
all in all the staff i work with are good people but they don't have a lot of goals set for themselves I.E. they think they can work in a kitchen for the rest of their lives... my main problem was that i had been working in kitchens for a long time and was seeking another field. however it being a restaurant the managers always send you home early to – more... save on "labour" so they get their bonus at the end of the year its crooked but you cant really do anything about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fast paced environment to work in
Server and Bartender (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 9, 2014
Pros: discount, great group of people, fun
Cons: stressful, tiring
Great job. Fun and fast paced environment, always meeting new people, however it can be stressful with long hours and if management is poor (depending who is managing that day).
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong quality franchise, quality products, excellent staff
Server (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 22, 2014
Working as a server at The Keg Steakhouse and Bar was an excellent experience that provided me an opportunity to strengthen my serving skills, and gain a heightened ability to multi-task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, no breaks
hostess (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONMarch 4, 2014
Pros: received tips
Cons: long hours
The Keg Steakhouse and Bar was a great experience for me as I gained knowledge about the restaurant business. I worked at The Keg in Niagara Falls and I gained experience about the tourism industry as well.
However, the restaurant business was not for me. Very long hours and employers didn't receive any breaks during their shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Line Cook / Prep cook (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: set schedules, well paid, works around your schedule
Cons: some long hours may lead to little social life
start at 8am count all remaining product lef from the night before
match the counts with the projected business outlook for the day ahead, and prepare my set list
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor managment
Dining Room Manager (Former Employee), Windsor, ONAugust 15, 2013
Pros: busy great location.
Cons: management unprofessional
Made great money working there but unfortunately there are a lot of politics involved between the owner and the general manager. lack of communication through the entire restaurant. Meetings are not implemented when there are changes happening with management and company products. Owner is unaware of the major problem that causes the restaurants unmotivated – more... staff and communication issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fun, productive and busy workplace.
Server (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABMay 13, 2013
Pros: good money, great people, flexible hours
Cons: long hours, short break, low wage
Everyday I communicate with guests and co-workers around me. I've learned the value of communication and teamwork. Everyone who works in the restaurant works together in order to achieve a common goal, which is to serve the public and keep them and ourselves happy. Even though it does get stressful when we become busy, and many guests can be difficult. – more... At the end of the day the pros weigh out the cons. I enjoy socializing with my coworkers and I enjoy the fast pace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very excellent job
Line Cook (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONMay 8, 2013
Pros: free lunches, free night stay, gift certificates
I have learned alot at the keg they teach you a variety of things. The working atmosphere is amazing it feels like your at a new job everyday. The staff was amazing so was the management and how they dealt with the problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working place with tips
Bus Boy (Former Employee), Etobicoke, ONApril 2, 2013
Pros: free drinks and discounts
Cons: standing long hours
*walking around long hours cleaning and setting tables
*hard work pays off
*fun and hard working co-workers
*washing glass by hand when the bar glass washer broke
*meeting new people while working
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team bonding and endless networking opportunities
Dining Room Server (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONMarch 19, 2013
Pros: work life balance
Cons: hard on the feet
A typical day at work begins with ensuring my uniform is neat and tidy, checking the message board for recent news, updates and our specials for the evening. Also, each server is responsible for checking our designated table sections to ensure they are ready for guests.
Weekends are our busiest days of the week, so servers are constantly on the go; – more... greeting tables, ensuring effective communication at all times with the guest, meeting our guest experience times, demonstrating team work to support co-workers and illustrating best practice to ensure all needs of guests are met.
The most difficult part of the job is maintaining stress level when guests have numerous needs that demand more attention than most. However, these situations become opportunities to problem solve and time manage effectively.
The most enjoyable part of working at The Keg is the staff. I am a people person, and The Keg provides opportunities for team bonding. It is important to know who you are working with to better work as a team. I also enjoy working at The Keg because of all the people I meet. I am enahncing my customer service skills daily.
Overall, The Keg has an amazing team atmosphere, strong managment and has taught me what to look for in a company as I search for a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
BUSSER, SALAD TENDER, HOSTESS, COCKTAIL SERVER (Former Employee), southside, st. jamesMarch 12, 2013
-very well organized
-great management
-late hours
-good money
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
Waiter, Bartender, and Shift Manager (Former Employee), London, ONFebruary 23, 2013
Pros: expert and professional management, clear objectives and the proper training and tools to perform your role.
Cons: none. not one.
This is by far the best chain restaurant experience you could have.

When you're employed by the Keg, you enjoy going to work, and you feel more like a part of a family than a member of staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Keg Family
Floor Manager/ Server (Former Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 5, 2012
Pros: free food
Cons: late hours
Anyone who had the priviledge of working at a Keg knows that organization is the key to any successful restaurant. Not only that, great incentives, benefits and very professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work with great co-oworkers and exceptional management
Bartender & Supervisor (Current Employee), St. Catharines, ONJune 12, 2012
The Keg Steakhouse and Bar is a great company to work for. Each restaurant is very consistent, and the team at head office is very knowledgable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential to make money,but inconsistent and lacking in opportunity
Dining Room Server (Current Employee), Waterdown, ONJune 1, 2012
-average serving job
-expected to have extensive knowledge of steak, wine, etc.
-managers were average at times quite disconnected
-co-workers: the keg fuels a selfishness among servers, if you are not watching out for yourself you don't make any money, a large cut of your tips is given to the other hourly staff in place of the keg paying them a fair – more... wage...it is somewhat ridiculous
-they do not offer full-time status for servers, even for individuals working 30-40 hours a week consistently – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Host/Busser life
Host/Busser (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMay 1, 2012
Pros: free bread and pop
Cons: rude/aggresive guests
I would have to greet and guide guest to their seats, and constantly observing the dinning room activity so I could seat more quests who were given quoted times. I also had to help clear,clean and set tables once quest left, and help out the servers with bringing food to tables on a busy day. I also had to periodically check and clean the men/ womens – more... bathrooms, wipe down the hub bar, refill the candy baskets, wipe down menus, and prepare kids menus/utensils for the next day.

What I loved about this job is the friendly atomosphere, and the hard working team. There was never a dull moment working at the Keg! The most difficult part of the job was dealing with aggresive guests who had to wait for dinning room tables to be cleared.

The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people of different backgrounds and cultures. I felt at home.

What I've learned from working at the Keg is being able to multi-task, and even when I'm tired or stressed , I never let it show on my face-I was good at that! An upbeat personality and "always -ready- to- go" attitude, was benificial. – less