Find companies:
The Keg Steakhouse & Bar
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

The Keg Steakhouse & Bar Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Dining Room Server (Current Employee), Peterborough, ONOctober 2, 2014
Pros: positive atmosphere
Cons: lots of products to no
great people
fast money
amazing mgmt
4 tbl sections
large cheques
very accommodating with second jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great company to work for with an amazing staff!
Server (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 8, 2014
Pros: staff discount, fun staff, amazing managers
Cons: long hours, weekend work, unstable income
Customer Service
Product Knowledge
Organization
Multi-tasking
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Server/Bar Mgr (Former Employee), Prince George, BCJune 5, 2014
I had started at The Keg as a young girl. I started at the bottom as a busgirl, and moved up in my years there to Head Cocktail waitress & bar mgr before I left. The management were like family they would bent over backwards to help you out.
The co workers were the best, we had a great team.
The hardest part was leaving after 10 years it was like losing – more... an arm.
The best part were the Appy Hours in the lounge, the fast pace, that kept you going all night long & the great customers we had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast workplace always dealing with customer service
Server (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 5, 2014
High volume rushes with constant regulars. Management changes often but employees have a very rare turnover
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate it
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Red Deer, ABMarch 12, 2014
Pros: at 7:00 pm only
Cons: 4:30-11:30 pm
nice employees but please review the place before where you want to work at. I did it once i didn't like it there was just too much for me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment
Busser (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: discount benefits
Cons: long nights
A busser at the Keg. Typical day at work would involve bussing tables, doing laundry, sometimes carrying over to help out on the appetizer side of line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly organized, professional, with supportive co-workers
Server & Hostess (Former Employee), Victoria, BCJanuary 27, 2014
Duties were always clearly outlined from start to end of shift. All employees were required to be professionally presented, with a comfortable and reasonable dress code for males and females. Employment at The Keg Steakhouse & Bar taught me effective time management and appropriate intermingling of professional and personal life. The hardest part was – more... learning to be a server, as it requires a completely different mindset and higher level of responsibility than a hostess. However, once I learned, I enjoyed it, my favourite part being developing positive rapport with guests in the establishment. Management was overall very well organized, but more feedback on my development as a server would have been helpful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere with Great Staff
Hostess (Current Employee), London, ONMay 26, 2013
Pros: great discount
Cons: long time on ones feet and lots of running
Fast-paced and exciting, downfall is low hours during slow season and when it is not busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Pantry Chef (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, ONFebruary 13, 2013
Pros: free food, great people
Cons: no cons
great place great enviorment awesome food!
i definatly learned to cook
and at a young age then how to work fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, high tempo, fun place to work with great food!
Kitchen food preparer (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 21, 2012
A typical day for me would be arriving for 7am, organizing what is needed for the day, checking what pars are for days. I switch from preparing meats and seafood to preparing sauces, appetizers and vegetables to The Keg standards. Our 2 man team works together to accomplish everything that is needed for dinner service, typicaly in a 8 hour plus shift. – more... Before working at The Keg I didnt have any real resuraunt/kitchen experience. I have about food and kitchen safety, most importantly ive learned how important time management and pacing myself is to finsh the required amounts on time. The hardest part about the job is how unpredictable my day can be due to previous night service. One of the most enjoyable parts of my job is knowing that the food I prepare everyday meets The Keg quality standards and is enjoyed by all guests. Another one of the most enjoyable parts is learning new skills and experiencing new things outside my own element. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and Busy
Busser (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 7, 2012
Pros: cheap dinners
Cons: long hours, little pay
Working at the keg was definitely a learning experience. It taught me many things like how to work fast, deal with customers, and how hard it can be to run a place like that . A typical day at the Keg is always busy during the dinner rush, but very slow after and before that. Dinner rush starts at 5 30 and ends at 9 30 . The managers always did a good – more... job, and were able to handle the restaurant. The hardest part of the job was keeping up with the restaurant, and getting things done in time. And the most enjoyable part would be the people that you meet at the restaurant, and some of the people that you get a chance to talk to. Working here opened up my world to a whole new group of people that were so different than what i was used to- it was like a breath of fresh air. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Everett, WADecember 18, 2014
A typical day would include overseeing of the wait staff and kitchen. Making sure everything was running smoothly. All the co-workers were like a big family. The hardest part was dealing with a difficult customer. The best was the fun we all got to have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest restaurant anyone can work for
Lead Server (Current Employee), Arlington, TXOctober 20, 2014
This restaurant has a culture unlike any other. It really is a family atmosphere. If you can't get a job a The Keg, just don't work at a restaurant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast paced environment
Dining Staff Team Member (Former Employee), Irving, TXApril 30, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, friendly atmosphere, great tips
Cons: management not on same page
I learned a lot about being able to handle many tasks at once. The environment is fun and fast paced. There is always something to do and you are able to meet interesting people that come into the restaurant every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great cluture and work environment
Dining Room Manager; Bar Manager; Head Trainer (Current Employee), Las Colinas, TxFebruary 24, 2014
I've enjoyed all the time I've spent with The Keg. Typical day would be to come in set up for your shift by doing a line check or quizzing your wait staff and making sure you identify possible hot spots for the given night. 100 percent table touches within reason, but always involved and on the floor at all times for staff and guest interaction. Learned – more... a lot about managing people and guest interaction through multiple training programs as well as dealing with all issues on a day in and day out basis. Management teams are great, however they have become a bit stagnant and there is not much room for advancement at the current time. Hardest part of the job is managing 30-40 different people and their individual personalities and making them all mesh together to build a great team. Most enjoyable part of the job is developing staff and watching them grow into great employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendliest staff members I've ever met
Server (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: 40% staff discount on food and wine, evenings only, friendly staff
Cons: worked longer hours before holidays, hard to have time off in fall/winter
I've loved my time at the keg! I made a few new friends,and had a lot of happy memories within the company. People who apply themselves get promoted and trained in other departments pretty quickly. I feel that this company honors hard work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Office Assistant and FOH Manager (Former Employee), Bellevue, WashingtonDecember 9, 2013
The Keg is a great organiation to work for. They are great for promoting from within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server
Server/Trainer (Former Employee), Las Colinas, TXMarch 12, 2013
great culture, teamwork, sales contests, outside of work activities, great company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start To My Restaurant Career
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Kent, WAFebruary 24, 2013
Pros: opportunity for advancement
Cons: not flexible with weekends and long late nights
Excellent atmosphere, quality product, great people and where I met my lovely wife.